Birth Stories

Omg so lovely to read this!

Re: Birth Stories

heres my birth story. pardon the bad grammar and spelling mistakes, i don't have much time to do this since my baby's awake :O

exactly 2 weeks before my due date (at 38 weeks). i started feeling different than usual. although i had experienced contractions since 16 weeks (braxton hicks), they were usually painless and just uncomfortable. these contractions were different though. they hurt and i was getting this constant urge "to go" and never having experienced labor before i wasn't 100% sure if it was the real deal or not. i spent 2 nights and days with on and off pain but i didn't want to go to the hospital since i was worried they would send me back . the third night when i was 38 weeks and 2 days my water broke suddenly. it wasn't a gush but it was enough for me to know what had happened. i called the hospital and the nurse said i should come in for a check up but she may send me back if she thought i wasn't ready. i wanted to wait since it was late night (Around 12 am) but then my mother said that we should go just in case labour progressed fast. so we went to the hospital and i was put on a monitor but i had little or no contractions. the nurse then "checked me" to see if i was dilated at all and reported that i was only 2 cms. it hurt a lot when she checked and i started bleeding. oh and she also did some check to see if the membranes had ruptured and it came back positive so she said they would admit me. as soon as she checked me i started contracting and the pain escalated suddenly. the contractions were about 4 mins apart and i kept getting the urge to push, but the nurse kept telling me not to. in about 2 hours the contractions were literally 30 seconds apart and i was panicking because the nurse said there were still a good 10 hours before i would deliver since i hadn't dilated enough. when the urge to push got real bad and i couldn't control it anymore, i called the nurse to check if i had dilated any further since i had decided to get the epidural by then. i figured if i had 10 hours to go and the contractions were this close, i would be exhausted the following morning when it actually came to push. my mother was disappointed initially since she wanted me to do it without meds, but she was worried i might get a c- section if i couldn't push later on . so the nurse checked me and told me i was 4-5 cms and paged the anesthesiologist . initially i was told he was going into surgery and that i would have to wait, but then miraculously he came into my room and said the surgery had been delayed and he could do it. i was so relieved. the contractions were coming non stop at that point and he kept telling me not to move but i found it impossible , so it took him a while to get the needle in. the effect wasn't immediate and it took a good hour before the pain became less pronounced. they dimmed the lights and let me rest and when the epidural started working properly i actually rested and fell asleep for a bit. a few hours later the nurse checked me and said i was 8 cms and almost ready. i was happy things were progressing well and without issues. in another hour i was checked and was told i was 10 cms and that i could start pushing if i wanted. i was almost pain free by that time and excited that i would be done soon. i started pushing and the nurse encouraged me with every push. i expected to see my baby any minute, but that didn't happen. i think what happened is that for some reason , the epidural killed the contractions , since the monitor wasn't picking up many , so we had to wait about 5 mins before every push. after 2 hours of pushing the nurse gave me some medicine in my IV (oxytocin?) to speed up the contractions. i didn't mind since the pain was under control. it didn't help much though. the contractions were sluggish and i kept pushing but the baby wasn't coming. i wasn't worried though since i could hear the baby's heartbeat on the monitor and the nurse didn't seem upset. after almost 2 more hours of pushing, suddenly the nurse paged someone else, the head nurse i think, and she came in and started encouraging me to push as hard as i possibly could. i did and she kept telling me to keep going. a minute after, the doctor finally walked in, (after 10 hours of me being in labour) and told me to push just one last time. i looked at my mother and literally rolled my eyes because both of us were sure that this baby wasn't coming any time soon :P. anyway, i did push one last time and the baby came out with a whoosh! i was so surprised , that i actually said " hain??? ammi, ye to aa gaya!" . he was tiny and purple and looked extremely pissed (lol) . he peed on me as soon as i held him. it was a happy moment. i was discharged the next day. i would say my labour and delivery went well mashallah without any major issues and i am thankful to god for that. the aftermath of the pregnancy wasn't as smooth though. but i will save my TMI details of recovery for some other thread :)

^congratulations tranquil!
Alhumdulillah all went well for you!:flower1:

oh i think there should be a thread for how we spent our post-partum days,what problems n pains we went through,babyblues,healing time etc:)
it would be very helpful for newmoms…

So heres my birth story....

I gave birth to a baby boy in august '12 ...the circumstances i gave birth in are unimaginable, not medically but mentally. I was battling a divorce at that time... i actually still am.

August 10th '12 -
woke up at 9ish.... felt pains in the abdomen area every hour.. i thought it must have been a kick...since my baby wouldnt stop kicking the last few week.. and i was exactly 40 weeks when he was born . Around 11 i told my mum and we packed up the essentials and drove to the hospital . The doc checked and told me iwas 3 cm dilated. The contractions started to get closer and my screaming wouldnt stop... oh how i screamed my lungs out... thats when i started to read this dua ...this particular dua you read during delivery ... for making things easier.. and i read that out LOUD... and goodness we had our own room. I was blank most of the time.. i would cry not out of the pain but because i never imagined this particular day like this.. this is my first born .i had all these little fantasies of how my husband would be next to me.. and when i was finally given an epidural at around 7 cm i felt nothing Alhumdolilah 15 mins later my baby boy was out ... to be honest it felt like water gushing out .. i actually had to ask the nurse if something just came out.. i guess the epidural worked big time.. alhumdolilah..

Throughout my delivery i wud cry and ask Allah to give me happiness ... and Indeed He did.. :)

The labor lasted for 9 hrs. :) i did get 3 stitches and didnt feel a thing.. :)

Life23 I can feel exactly what your going through. Stay strong!! I am exactly going through the same. Always wanted to write my story but never get the time. Inshallah some day. I too just like you wanted my husband to be there during pregnancy, delivery n all. The rest of the girls here are so lucky mashallah.

congrats all the new mums :)

Ladies please if you manage to get time out write also about your first week of birth as well. The recovery and routein and getting to know your baby better. Would love to read it as well

waiting for your birth story demesne

I know your pain and I went through some thing similar. My ordeal didn’t end after the c-section as my daughter was born prematurely she need extra extra care & attention. The only support I had was from my parents but still I was so alone , it was so difficult I do not have words to express what I went through.

But 3 years has passed , my daughter is masha allah a happy & active 3 year old girl. I can not Thanks Allah enough for giving me such a wonderful gift in her form. Your rough days shall pass too in sha allah and your son will bring unimaginable joy & happiness :hugz:

Here's my story:

Date: 13/4/13

My due date was 19 bt 13 morning 5.30am I wokeup to go to the toilet. After I came out I felt slight pain bt it increased with every contraction. After 15min I woke hubby. I told him to clean and packup things around the house. He gave me hot water bottle and put tea on stove and started sorting washed clothes. Cleaned bins. After 20min pain was so bad. I called hospital and they said to wait till baby starts to move with contractions and if nt contact within 2 hours.

Pain was so bad I couldnt control. Called hospital and they said to come.

Called mum to come over as my daughter was sleeping. About 8.30 we went to hospital. I was screaming by nw with pain.

I did nt had any pain relief in my first labour a nd I always thought I can go through with pain killrrs or morphine. Nurse checked snd said I was already 7cm diulated. I asked for morphine and she ssid ok bt I have to b in labour room as due to my previous c section I have to be monitored closley. In labour room I was given morphine bt it didnt seem to work. I was screaming. I asked for epidural bt was told no first. Than midwife came and said ok. I was given epidural bt pain to me it didnt realky work. Pain from 10/10 reduce d to 7/10. I was told head must be down as to y its nt really working. I was checked and was fully diulated bt head wasnt dwn yet. They broke my water. It

Baby was towards my back as was my daughter previously. I started to push myself and kept pushing with every contraction. After 20 min of pushing dr came and I asked her as to wats happening if head nt cming dwn even though im pushing. I was told Its normal to push upto 2 hours.
After dr left I kept pushing. 20 min later dr came and said baby is in distress I need to b assissted.

After few tries with vaccum I was told they need to do some cuts. After three cuts and vaccum assistance more than 1 hour of pushing my son was born at 11.58am.

Dr spent more than 20min to stitch. Stitching was bad as well as I could feel needle going through even though I was given 3 injections of local anesthetic.

My sons weight was 3.45kg whereas previously my daughter was 3.54kg.

With vbac I was walking straight away even though so many stitches. Bt its hard to sit down and have to be very careful about keeping them clean .

:hugz: Congrats Roshni

Congrats Roshni! It looks like you had a hard time but that's all behind you now.

congrats

Congratulations :flower1:

Thank you ever one.

Hello brave creature of the world, here I am with stories of my babies births (pardon me; m not good at writing)
Both are c-sec... i have two kidos (they are two in million u see)
My girl is 15 months now mashaALLAH and boy will turn 4 months in some days INSHAALLAH.
*I[SUP]st[/SUP] *
first one was born in Lahore (Fatima memorial hosp) it was 11 days b4 my due date I visited my doc for checkup n she told that baby is good sized so it will be difficult to deliver on full term , induction is the possibility of natural/ vaginal birth,, so I talked to my mom, hubby and sm reliable khalas etc about it n thy were agreed wid doc that option mst b taken,, so me wid sis toward hosp in 8’0 clock in the morning where I was gt admitted after routine b/p, temp tests were made.. Doc herself was nt there her assistant docs were attending me in the labor room.. They induced me in afternoon but js sm slight pains n nothing much was there so doc gv me sm pain relief medicine n I was able to sleep. whole the night I slept mazey se, my sis n mom were there, we talked so many things, discussed cloths, shopping.. thy were eating everything bt I was nt allowed to have anything (I cravd for fillet o fish at tht time ) khair again in morning 5 am I was given tab for induction n pains were started it was so uncomfortable that I was crying out loud, we sent mom home as she has a very little heart .. sis was reciting quran-e-pak near me n I was abusing docs as I asked for pain killers bt thy were making excuse that ok dr is coming, anesthesiast is near he is coming shortly bt he never reached . I was asked to use oxygen mask for pain relief but tht did not work for me,, I really felt so helpless at that time , still when I recall those moments it makes me shiver,, anyhow pains were constantly coming but no sign of baby(doc checked inside) after 7hours of pains she broke my water n told tht m near n ready so v rushed to labor room 1pm, I was fail to deliver after an hour of pushing, I was almost faint coz of pains, doc asked my sis tht emergency c-sec is required as baby is in distress..my sis agreed after tele-talk to my hubby (he was cming frm outstation) thn doc told me that we are goin to do c sec n I was so much frustrated of all that i uttered ok do it hurry , I want to get rid of this discomfort, taken to operation theater , I can remember a crowd of doc around including my doc , anesthesia given n I was in heaven(get rid of pain) 4:30 I gt conscious saw nurses around the beds in post operation room, called one of them n asked to call my mom , I have nt saw her from 24 hours, mum came wid sis n anti , showed me pic of my angel giirli she was soooo cute, healthy, mashaALLAH… shifted to recovery room where I stayed for a night n then next afternoon shifted to room, while I was goin to room I asked the staff that I want to c my girl , I was told tht she is in nursry , she gt sm prob coz of pushing or for sm reason she had some breathing issue.. She was there in icu for 2 days n thn given to us n next day I was home Alhamdulillah. I recovered in 10days almost Alhamdulillah.. Everyone was so happy for me n all loved fairy v much.

2[SUP]nd[/SUP]
It was an unplanned preg though but alhamdulillah journey ended up v well … my previous doc was on foreign tour so I chose another one after consulting so many, anyhow due date passed and no sign of pains , having a history of c-sec so doc was not in favor of taking any induction again, I was asked to cm to hosp for c sec , I was abit shaky but then I recalled the pains n was ready for c sec (coward me), gt admitted to hosp at night 10pm , stayed night in hosp wid the advice of not to take any food n water after 12 am, slept js for 3 hours, in morning 7am brought to labor room . was told that op theater is occupied for 2, 3 hours thn it will b ur turn ,by 12 was taken to op theater , saw my doc there , met the assistant, anesthiologist junior doc n staff there.. doc injected me in spinal cord I was numb in lower parts , operation started after js 20 mins doc showed me the boy dykho kaisa hai n I replied iska color itna fair nahi hai :P she smiled n said phir kya karo gi n I said fair n lovely will do the miracle :P we all (doc n team) were talking n laughing there, at sm point I felt heart sunk I told doc bt he said u r alrite, v r monitoring u, all the time I was just thinking of my 2 years old girl, thnx to ALMIGHTY tht it all went very smooth n well Alhamdulillah.. I was there in icu for 2 hours n thn shifted to room wid my cub, he was a manly, healthy child Alhamdulillah. This time my hubby was wid me so I was more confident n satisfied as he is a big help in all matters.

N yes I managed to nurse the boy unlike to my elder one (one of my doc friend helped me in bf) , I was so compact this time that after 6hours of operation I managed to walk in the room as I had gas issue , n thn after a day I was discharged..

You girls (women) are shernis. In total awe

Been trying to write my birth story a couple of times but it's hard with a newborn!

My baby was born a little over two weeks ago on August 1 2013

He was supposed to come on August 13 but came 2 weeks early....here's what happened:

I had a routine OB appointment the morning of August 1 - I remember feeling weird, dizzy and just out of the ordinary. I had been diagnosed with gestational diabetes and was considered "high risk" but I immediately controlled my sugar levels and started eating properly. Anyway, I asked my mom if she wanted to come with me before leaving for the appointment and we decided I would just go alone since it would be a quick appointment. I remember sitting waiting for my OB to come and check me and do another membrane sweep - btw, membrane sweeps are incredibly painful but at 37 weeks, I was willing to do anything to help the labor process along lol.

My OB came and her first reaction after looking at me was "I think you might have preeclampsia"... I was extremely swollen head to toe. she also reviewed my baby's last ultrasound that showed less movement than normal and thought it was best to send me to the hospital for additional ultrasounds to double check if the baby was under stress or not. She also noticed my blood pressure was higher so she told me to be prepared to possibly deliver that same day which scared the crap out of me.

I left the OB's office at 11:30 am...got to the hospital at 12 noon went to the hospital and my baby failed the ultrasound test - he just was not moving enough. they also did bloodwork and monitored my heartbeat. at 3 pm it was decided that I would be induced and try for a vaginal birth since that is what I really wanted. The nurses started me on Pitocin as I called my husband and parents to get there asap. They started me at a low dosage of Pitocin which did nothing for the next several hours. At 10 pm they upped my dosage and thats where the trouble started - I started feeling the contractions and I quickly asked for the epidural. My OB broke my water right after the epidural to try to speed things up.

Soon, I started shaking all over - a normal reaction to the epidural...what wasnt normal was my baby's heart beat dipping with every strong contraction. The OB rushed into my room once she saw the baby's heartbeat and it was decided in 20 seconds or maybe less that I needed to get a c section.

At 11:20, I was wheeled into the surgery room and at 11:47, I gave birth to a baby boy. C section recovery has been a bit difficult even with the pain meds but thats my birth story - walking into my OB's office in the morning and delivery about 12 hours later :)

you guyz are brave masha ALLAH :) and congrats

congratzzzz.... good to know tht u r recovering,, it will defi take time but it will b over soon inshaALLAH.. ur story somehow reminds me of mine , anyhow we have our babies wid us now thts enough,, stay blessed..