Re: Bilqees Kaur
I am feeling so bad for saadia imam's character :( the casting for her is so perfect!!! her becharee type acting, paindoo style bolna kamaal hai!!
lol @bushra ansari and her beeree
I am feeling so bad for saadia imam's character :( the casting for her is so perfect!!! her becharee type acting, paindoo style bolna kamaal hai!!
lol @bushra ansari and her beeree
I think Sadia Imam is doing a brilliant job portraying emotions through her facial expressions. This might be one of her best works imo.
About the punjabi being spoken, thanks to having a sikh neighbor aunty back in the day who spoke nothing but punjabi, I am thoroughly enjoying Bushra's character.
Punjabi in this drama is very urdufied and i can’t believe you guys are having trouble with it. Only Bushra Ansari is speaking any punjabi and rest of the characters are all speaking urdu with a word of punjabi here and there.
I don’t understand why they put Farhan Agha as the brother. He is speaking urdu that also with a patahan accent. Ridiculous!!
Only watching the drama for the Bulqees Kur's character.
Loving Bushra Ansari…:k:
why the hell shhe is talking in punjabi. its so freaking annoying. why cant she speake simple urdu. remember the drama dastaan casting was sikh but they all speak urdu. WTF
Well if she is doing the role of a Sikhni, it is more natural that she speaks punjabi.
The drama would not have been the same if she spoke urdu. That would sound fake.
Baaqi it is not as if every other pakistani drama has punjabi elements in it, so I am liking this one.
Punjabi in this drama is very urdufied and i can’t believe you guys are having trouble with it. Only Bushra Ansari is speaking any punjabi and rest of the characters are all speaking urdu with a word of punjabi here and there. I don’t understand why they put Farhan Agha as the brother. He is speaking urdu that also with a patahan accent. Ridiculous!! Only watching the drama for the Bulqees Kur's character.
I agree with bebo here.
The only person who is speaking punjabi is Kaur herself. The rest either talk urdu, or urdu with a punjabi accent.
And lmao, I agree with you on that Farhan Agha XD
When I heard him speaking, I thought that aswell, that he sounds like a pathan :D
so far good i think main story will start when sultan will get married n then balquees n new bahu n their problems ![]()
yea u liking cuz u understand punjabi.
and drama would have been same if she spk urdu and with punjabi accent.
Could somebody explain a few things to me.
1). For someone who lived in US for so long bilquees kaur seems like
She has no American elements in her. She seems Like she is fresh off the boat.
2) farhan agha is not well suited for this role. Couldn't they cast somebody who didn't look so fake.
3) who is the friend that is pmaying sultan's best friend Hassan . Is he the same guy who made a parody of Humsafar and played Fareeda - asher's mother?
4) why doesnt speak proper English after living in the USA for so long? Why does Bilqees kaur marry all the girls off in Pakistan?
I can’t stand Sultan
!! Feel like slapping him every time he opens his mouth. He is so flippin lame!!! living under his parents roof, eating their food, using their money for college but feels like he is better than everyone else to work at the “Dhaba”. His siblings are clearly lazier and beyond help but at least they aren’t pretentious and don’t have any airs about them like he does.
^^ Because he is different from them.. he is educated so he feels like he doesn't fit in this family and of course being educated in all them uneducated people he feels a bit superior i think.
One thing I don't understand is how the elder son so paindu when he is born and brought up in America!
Same question I had. There are holes in the story. It would have made sense if they moved here 10 to 15 years ago. But if the kids were born here it doesn't make sense. It is a very good drama but a little more care into these problems would have made it superior.
^ purlease! I've see such second generation immigrant paindoos ALL over NJ/NYC (and personally know some thru family/friends). Their verbal english is usually okay but the urdu/ punjabi is SUPER paindoo like the elder sons. and not just the language but their attitiude is PAINDOO- these are kids born in repressed conditions and who only interact with second generation paindoos like themselves (or complete white trash ). On several occasions, I've been HARASSED till no end by PAINDOO, JAAHIL and DESPERTE ABCDs in the NJ indian markets (** shudder**). It all boils down to the kind of environment you've seen growing up particularly your immediate family and not your country of origin.
^ But it feels like the dude has never gone to any school in the US - not even elementary/middle or high school!! He seems more like he just migrated from a small gaoon in Pakistan. If he was a bit more ABCD with the whole ghetto/white trash thing going on, it would make more sense - you know the ones who listen to hard core rap but when they "sing" it they got a whole desi accent to it LOL
Anyways overall I think Faiza has done a better job this time than before as far showing some pertinent issues.
Ok I live in NY... and this whole family is very very common type here. There is nothing wrong with what they are showing. I know so many like these people. No holes in story nothing.. I did like Farhan Ali Agha for the first time in yesterday's episode in this drama. I actually felt bad for him. His punjabi accent is also explained well by Bushra Ansari and how he is nothing like Punjabis. I just don't think Sadia Imam fits too well. She can't act that masoom girl. Her acting overall is very weak.
The third episode felt dragging to me.I actually fast forwarded most of it,especially scenes with 'Kuljeeta'.As much as Sadia Imam & her husband's characters annoy me,I actually found their scenes funny,especially here he asks her what was for dinner and she had been wanting to discuss something with him.
It is hard to believe that someone who has lived their entire lives in USA will behave the way Inayat does.I hope it gets interesting once Sultan gets married,because I am kind of getting bored of it now.
Ok I live in NY... and this whole family is very very common type here. There is nothing wrong with what they are showing. I know so many like these people. No holes in story nothing.. I did like Farhan Ali Agha for the first time in yesterday's episode in this drama. I actually felt bad for him. His punjabi accent is also explained well by Bushra Ansari and how he is nothing like Punjabis. I just don't think Sadia Imam fits too well. She can't act that masoom girl. Her acting overall is very weak.
Interesting.I do not live in NY so have no idea,but maybe you are right and such people do exist.And I agree with Sadia Imam bit.She looks and acts weird...!
Btw was she picking out lice of her hair in one of the scenes...?!?!?...where Inayat throws the napkin at her to bring roti.That scene just disgusted me...:(
^ But it feels like the dude has never gone to any school in the US - not even elementary/middle or high school!! He seems more like he just migrated from a small gaoon in Pakistan. If he was a bit more ABCD with the whole ghetto/white trash thing going on, it would make more sense - you know the ones who listen to hard core rap but when they "sing" it they got a whole desi accent to it LOL
Anyways overall I think Faiza has done a better job this time than before as far showing some pertinent issues.
Yeah i agree that the accent is very heavy paindoo type, but regardless of what you study in school, eventually the accent of ppl around you rubs off. I know this guy who was born and raised in Miami and he attended an IV league univ BUT his family was always friends with pakistani community in miami, he always had pakistani (second generation immigrants) friends (who in turn only hung out with other similar desis) and when you hear him speak with friends he won't even be able to say Miami. Instead he'll say "MAY-YAAMEEE" and talk in a full time paindoo accent. it's kind of like a switch goes off inside him. but when he interacts with goras, he is fine. I guess if he hadn't attended a good university and wasn't employed by a great firm and instead lived in a joint family set up, drove a cab and hung out at dhabas, that language switch would have been turned to the paindoo-side permanently. plus i think it's implied that the older son didn't really attend school. maybe the parents got away with "home schooling" or smth? smth to that affect i guess
but mannn the namoonaaz you meet on grove street and white castle in NJ or around the desi dhabas around NY.. uffff dimagh khul jaata hai.
People, what exactly is a paindu accent?
That is not a paindu accent. That is just (pure) punjabi and this is what it sounds like.
Yes punjabi people have differences in accent/words depending of which area they are from, but this accent that you are talking about has nothing to do with being born in USA or a pind or with being highly educated or not.