Bilawal warns of disintegration of Pakistan

I guess he trying to fit int his mom’s shoes…

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2008/01/08/wbhutto108.xml

Bhutto son warns of disintegration of Pakistan

By Isambard Wilkinson, Pakistan Correspondent
Last Updated: 6:53pm GMT 08/01/2008

The son of Pakistan’s assassinated opposition leader, Benazir Bhutto, warned today that the country may collapse unless upcoming elections are “free and fair”.

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, 19, who was appointed chairman of the Pakistan’s People’s Party after his mother’s murder on Dec 27, said: “I fear for my country. I fear that if free and fair elections are not held it may disintegrate.”

He was speaking at his first appearance in London since returning to the UK from Pakistan to resume his studies at Oxford University.

Elections in Pakistan were postponed until Feb 18 following the national outrage over his mother’s murder.

Mr Bhutto Zardari reiterated his party’s demands for a United Nations investigation into her death and cast doubt on the Islamabad government’s inquiry into the killing.

“The family’s and party’s request is for a UN-sponsored investigation, because we do not believe that an investigation under the authority of the Pakistan government has the necessary transparency,” he said.

“It is our belief that had she been given adequate protection she would be alive today.”
advertisement

On the risk to his own safety, he cited his party’s slogan: “How many Bhuttos can you kill? From every house a Bhutto will come.”

In a robust performance he also defended his appointment as his mother’s successor.

He said he was doing his duty and rejected suggestions that his succession was undemocratic.

“I do not claim to have any aspiration. I was called and I stepped up to do what I was asked to do,” he said.

“It wasn’t handed on like some piece of family furniture. They asked me to do it and I did,” he said, speaking in English and looking relaxed after a tense start before the cameras.

“At present my role as chairman is one into which I shall step gradually and carefully.”

Re: Bilawal warns of disintegration of Pakistan

someone tell Bilawal bhutto zardari (btw did he legally changed his name? whats on his Passport?) to go do his homework for tomorrow's class and not to get into this dirty politics of Pakistan before he is 25 :)

kia pidi aur kia pidi a shorba

What he is saying is evident in Pakistan these days

The truth hurts some people

only if its a “truth”.

Pakistan is not going to dis-integrate … no way. Bilawal Zardari is only trying to play “pressure” game and nothing else. Pakistan is there to stay and thats it ! :jhanda:

I.e. if PPP does not get PMship, they will call for Sindhudesh. Here's your democracy people.

And you think he really understand issues facing the country at age 19?

If you have read GM Syed's works, you will understand. Only then can you begin to understand Sindhis.

exactly what i thought.

Make your own bones

An open letter to Bhutto's son about Pakistan's future, and his own.
January 2, 2008

Dear Bilawal Bhutto Zardari,

Please accept our heartfelt condolences on the tragic murder of your mother. At a time such as this, it's not easy to make good decisions. But as much as we sympathize with you and your family, we think that you have been pushed into a bad one by agreeing to head your mother's party. With all due respect, at 19, you are not qualified to lead the party or Pakistan. If you act honorably now, however, you may one day earn the right to do so.

As a student at Oxford University, we hope that you have learned of the failures of monarchies and dynastic traditions, and of the successes, however flawed, of democratic self-government. Your family has played a vital role in Pakistani politics, and your mother gave her life campaigning for democracy. If you allow yourself to be anointed, instead of elected, you will become an accessory to the perversion of those democratic aspirations. (Yes, we recognize that we write to you from a country headed by the son of a former president and considering whether to elect the wife of another former president. We suffer from dynastic impulses too, but they are best resisted.) We urge you to resign.

If you truly wish to struggle for the restoration of democracy in Pakistan, you need to make your own way. Identify worthy candidates with the values, skills and experience you believe are needed to run Pakistan, and work for their election. Or start your own NGO. Or go to graduate school and decide for yourself which policies will help your country. Or run for parliament. In 2008, legitimacy cannot be inherited. It must be won with ballots.

Please learn to be the democratic and wise leader your country yearns for. Pakistan will need you -- just not now, not in this role. We wish you luck.

The editors

IF Musharaf saheb keep dictating the tune we will see Pak destruction soon. Maybe Bilawal missed his home work, but It seems you missed a lot headlines lately. Especially news on that soon CIA personally will enter Pak to have a full focus on our nukes and drunk Army Chiefs.

At the title …

:), he need your help in finishing his home work

main tu khud apna homework India outsource kertahoon (odesk). Get it done for cheap ;)

^^ :shoaby:

Bilawal may be only 19 and he may need to "do his homework", but he is right about the disintegration of pakistan. Bangladesh was created cause the Punjabi/west Pakistan dominated military didn't wanted to give up power to Benagli lead Awami league, who won the 1970 election

The military dictatorship is leading pakistan to division. Smaller provinces see pakistan military as a punjabi institution. If we don't get rid of the military dictatorship and their PML-Q lotas then we may see further separatist movements in sindh and balochistan.

the PPP leadership has been trying to calm down sindhi separatism and PPP leadership has always worked for a united Pakistan. But if the election is rigged by the ISI, then PPP might finally give up and the separatist tendencies may fire up in sindh and Balochistan.

ONLY democracy and equal rights for all Pakistanis can save Pakistan in the long term.

Brother ... How would you know that election is rigged or not?

I would know that election is rigged if PML(N) gets more than 3 MNAs and/or PPP gets more than 20 National Assembly seats. I would also consider that election is rigged if MMA gets more than 2 seats and PML(Q) do not get more than 250 National Assembly seats. Now, you tell me how would you know? :)

Well, my friend beleive that election would be rigged if MMA would not win more than 250 seats. He also believes that MQM should not win sinlgle seats in Karachi and if they would than election is rigged. He thinks that PPP has no chance of winning any seat in Sindh but would sweep the poll in Peshawar and if that would not happen than election is rigged. He believes that if MMA would not sweep Karachi and Punjab ... and that if PPP would not win all the seats in Peshawar and Quetta, than there would be revolution and disintegration in Pakistan. What do you think?

and I think that If ** Kafeel Bhai’s Party** end up winning less than 250 seats, elections are rigged :shoaby: