Big issue about little bindiya

So I wore bindiya to my in-laws house and my MIL told me that it is a sin to do so because that is where our akal(brain? i think) is. I tried searching for a hadith or Koranic verse that says so but did not find one. Can someone here tell me if it is wrong, and if so, why?

Re: Big issue about little bindiya

Yes that part of your forehead will be thrown into hell fire where you put bindya.

If you are making effort to lead your life as prescribed in the Islamic code of conduct you do not have to worry about that small bindya . Allah (SWT) 's mercy is way bigger than that tiny bindya.

^well said Mirch bhai.

A bindyah is more of a cultural thing... Besides if such small things were to stop men and women becoming Muslim my pagan ancestors would still be out there chewing peoples hearts and maruading the lands wearing blood spatters across thier faces.

In fact i've often wondered what drove my ancestors to accept Islam in the first place... but I guess I know the reason by now. :p

By that logic one should not wear duppatas or hats, etc either because the aqal may feel the pressure and burst (or whatever her reason was).

I'm no scholar but you sound safe to me.

Peace mizsani

You should tell your MIL that she is absolutely right. The Hindu’s also say that this location is where “aqal” is found. In fact that is the reason why they apply the bindi there in the first place.

Here read this:

The area between the eyebrows (where the bindi is placed) is said to be the sixth chakra, ajna, the seat of “concealed wisdom”. According to followers of Hinduism, this chakra is the exit point for kundalini energy. The bindi is said to retain energy and strengthen concentration.[4] It is also said to protect against demons or bad luck.

The reason for applying the bindi given by the Hindu’s is the same reason that your MIL is telling you to take it off. So make sense of that if you can. Although now it is becoming a non-religious decorative item, it would naturally make people confused about what your religion is.

Just a quick clarification about the forelock in the Qur’an. This region is said to be the lying forelock. The forelock is the tuft of hair above the forehead. The part of the brain directly behind this part is the location where lying takes place. This was proven by science recently.

http://scienceblogs.com/cortex/2008/03/the_lying_brain.php

compare with Verses 15 and 16 of Surah 96

http://www.muslimaccess.com/quraan/arabic/096.asp

But even so, what exactly is so wrong about it?

and why do men not have bindis

meh, always knew...they have no akal...so no need for any retention! :-)

When it comes to it ... it is a matter of taste and not a matter of permissibility. Somehow people want to influence others to following their tastes by using language which borders permissibility. Seeing that we are talking about wisdom ... it would be wise for her not to wear the bindi at her MIL's house, anywhere else why not, but you will find some scholarly opinions perhaps that will prohibit the use of the Bindi on the grounds of its religious origin. Allahu 'alim.

The tikka lies between the eyebrows too (kinda)…so, Muslim ladies shouldn’t be wearing them either!!! :nahi:

You asked a question and then answered it yourself … you have undoubtedly given us no choice …http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/83547177.jpg%3Fv%3D1%26c%3DIWSAsset%26k%3D2%26d%3D5047FA587DE1CADEB8AA2FE9C7E45CB2D9639D3F84CE2EB2D9CCA6ECCAFC46B8&imgrefurl=http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/83547177/The-Image-Bank&usg=__TAhNiUop4bEeIwQnD6sk5ppDGOM=&h=506&w=337&sz=36&hl=en&start=61&zoom=1&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=zmYH-2vkW034NM:&tbnh=131&tbnw=87&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dbindi%2Bman%26start%3D54%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dopera-portal%26sa%3DN%26channel%3Dportal%26ndsp%3D18%26tbs%3Disch:1

that's a teeka!

Well I don't wear a bindi now do I ... How would I know? ... LOL

i would say if you pierced your ears, you have already imitated the hindus.

Bindis is a decorative thing derived from hindus religious practice.

Hindu, Buddhist, Jain Men and Women both wear Tilak or Tikaa between their eye brows. Not sure about Sikhs?

Wearing Tilak and Tikaa is not gender specific. But wearing bindi is specific to women.

hahahah.. tht was scary! lol

hahahahhaha... yaaa idk y she said that.. it really scared me... well I didnt really believe it but idk how to tell her that it is not a big deal. hmmm idk

The only time I dress in desi clothing is at her house and masjid... At masjid I do not wear it cuz it comes off in waddu... that leaves only her house. I just find bindis to be so beautiful and girly.
I do not want my MIL to control everything I do... she sort of has an opinion about everything.
She told me that straigthening my hair will effect my brain too. or wearing extensions, or curling my hair.... Seems like no matter what I do my MIL thinks that I am ruining my Akal/ brain.

I have pierced my ears three times...!