Big Brothers Problem

Re: Big Brothers Problem

not all desi brothers are like that. I have some friends and their brothers are really cool…i also know some guys who are not like that. for example, the guy I will be marrying, he aint like that at all. but if someone did try and mess around with his sister, he’d beat the guy up…not tell his sister to hide :rolleyes:

all the desi brothrs are like that…so freakin protective…:rolleyes:

Goosh! good i never had a sister.

Let me be the devil's advocate.

Impulse, one thing is for sure, your family and ur brother are in different worlds and think entirely in different ways. I feel that its perhaps ur brother who will be most annoyed in this situation as he will be feeling the alone and cornered in this matter, with rest of the family against him.

Now regarding bumping into ur brothers friends, most desi families fall into the same practice, that is the women do not come when other people are around. In our family the norm is that visiting males do not even hear the sound of females of the house.

Its good that u r marrying a guy that thinks like u, this sort out the things for u, but donot be too surprised if he turns out the other way after marriage. May be talking to him bout the issue will be a good thing to do, if u feel so string bout it.

(Hiding from esily offended girlz of life1 wala icon)

firstly, I think those guys who dont have sisters…their views arent counted here :snooty: from what ive learnt from my observations is that guys who dont have any sisters, dont know how to respect women (generally i have seen this alot).

as for your question about the guy im marrying, if hes going to be like this. Ive already talked to him about this and he says he has never been like this with his sisters. hes not the type to force his opinions on anyone. when I asked him whether he would want his wife to wear hijab or not. he said its totally up to her…he doenst mind either way…but he said hes not a person who forces his opinions on anyone.

and lastly, my other brother isnt like that. and if you ask me, I have alot more respect for my other brother…cuz hes always been really good and if he tells me to hide from guys, it would be understandable cuz hes very decent himself. the one who tells me to hide hasnt exactly been an angel himself in the past :halo:

There you go! You just answered your own question over here. Problem solved!

how? :halo:

Lets gather the puzzle pieces shall we?

You mentioned how he is too careful and "pinadoo" about you not to come infront of his pals or other males. Then you said that he himself was not a decent person in past...from that a lot fo things can be assumed. But Ill take it as oogglin' on girls or involve with someone kind a thing. IF he was like that then he knows himself that how usually guys think and that makes him over-protective for his lil sis. :-)

very true.
impulse u shouldnt be taking orders from him if he isnt an angel.

he wasnt an angel....but is ok now.....is becoming abit of a holy macoroni now.....but even in the past when he used to not be so good, he still used to act the same.....didnt want me to come in sight of my other bros friends :D

No my brother's not like that.

Yes, this is really annoying. You should tell your brother to shut the f*ck up when he is telling you to stay/move cz of his friends inside or outside home. He needs to grow up.

One day I came home late at night. I found the main door was locked from inside so I wasnt able to open the lock with my keys. I had to wake my brother up by calling on his mobile. When he opened the door, I noticed that he wasnt 'happy' to see me (Later on it turned out that his mrs. had complained to him that I should not be out till so late). So he acted stupid for a while. I mean it was none of anybody's fking business.

Later I came to know from my sister that he tried to complain about the same to my dad. My dad didnt give a damn either. He never tried again.

It's a common phenomena in Pakistan, but fortunately much rare in the West as most of us are more independent than most girls in Pakistan. From my own experiences, there's been very few cases where I've personally not gone to the main area of the house when some men were visiting, be it someone my father knew, or my brother/cousins friends (mostly they hangout elsewhere). Again, I wasn't told to not be around, but I just felt more comfortable not being there.

In Pakistan however, it's a different situation. My family is very conservative, both mom's & dad's side. First of all, all non-family people are usually entertained in the outaq, but if for some reason they must come into the house, then it's understood that women stay inside or away. Once I was visiting Pak, and the main house was being renovated so there were mistris working everyday, we were strictly told to stay inside. It was so annoying, but I remember once I did have to get out for something, and many of them started gawking (I was properly covered) - it was rather embarassing and I knew it was better to stay put. It's a conditioning of sort, you just know when to not be there. I don't mind it, as long as it doesn't become a frequent thing where I'm not able to do my everyday things.

my bro always asks mum who is at home and he dusnt like me being at home if his friends r there, or if i come in to serve them, personally i think it is cus he is a jerk, but he ses sumthing else like oh my frineds are scared of u blah blah blah, i mean get of it i am ur OLDER sister thora sah to roub hona chaiya hai nah :cb: it’s so stupid but i ginore it cos they dont cum tht often, and if he tried to do to me wht ur bro is doing to u, i’d giv him a good telling off. most likely leading to an argument lol.

and if ur own DAD is not saying th same to u then he has no right to say n e thing like tht, my bro wil pass comments on clothing or try to order me, or be all controllinfg and ask where i am going etc, sorry lil bro, u r not prepared to tel me, when i ask u u just fob me off, so i am not telling u.

I agree with what others have said. If he has problems with you appearing before his friends he needs to stop bringing the friends home.

OMG I hate that !!!

The way i c it.. noone has a right to tell me where to go in my own home. I stay mostly in my own room anyway, here and in pak, i stayed in my room.. dad barely brought strangers home, and servants lived outside.. But i still hate hate hate hate the idea of someoen telling me where I can and cnanot go in my own home :aj:

Btw my bro did the same thing, it was 8 AM i was fast asleep and my brother was pounding on teh door like a freakin maniac and i screamed “WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTTT” and he said “dont come downstairs, moving ppl are here” :mad:

Grrrrrrrrrrrr

is mein ghussay honay ki kiya baat hai… bhai behan ka khiyaal nahi rakhay ga to koi aur karega:naraz: .don,t get mad ,i don,t have a sister but if i had and there were strangers in our home she would have been told by me the same coz only a guys know men pyscology,believe me men are dogs not all but most and i wouldn,t want that dog to see lovely, nazuk se sister as meat or anything in that way :grumpy: ofcourse in first place i as a good brother would never ever bring someone with those thoughts in our home but sometimes you need to take drastic actions and lock your churail sister in her room,not nice but nesscery:bummer: .

Count your blessings, some of us have neither. :teary2:

Its hte idea/theory that really bugs me.. I mean i’m pretty good with staying out of site, I dont like to go in front of ppl anyway, esp mehmaan in pak (has to do with aunties though, not pervy unkils.. if he was a “perv” dad wud never bring em home :)) but the idea that someone will tell me what to do in my own home just infuriates me :stuck_out_tongue:

too bad..women need to be told what to do cuz they dont know whats best for them..lol

^ oh shut up...... u brothers r jus too much....

Oh smoeoens getting cranky! time for your feeding :LB: