Bibi Sakina (a.s.)

Name : Sakina ( also known in Arab world as Rukkaya)

**Father :**  Imam Hussain (a.s.)

**Mother :**  Bibi Umm-e-Rubab (a.s.)

**Birth :**  20th of Rajab

**Death :**  5th Rabi-ul-Awwal, at Damascus, Syria

In the Arab world, the youngest daughter of Imam Hussain (a.s.) is know as Bibi Rukkaya (a.s.) whereas she is know as Bibi Sakina (a.s.) in rest of the Islamic World. We will refer to her as Bibi Sakina (a.s.).

Bibi Sakina (a.s.) was the youngest daughter of Imam Hussain (a.s.). She was a vivacious child, full of love and happiness. Everyone loved Bibi Sakina (a.s.). She was also a very religious girl. She enjoyed reading the Holy Quran and never missed her prayers. From the age of two she took great care to make sure that her head and face were properly covered when in public.

Bibi Sakina (a.s.) was Imam Hussain’s (a.s.) most beloved child. Our Imam (a.s.) used to pray for a daughter in his night prayers and the birth of Bibi Sakina (a.s.) was a result of those prayers. Imam (a.s.) was often heard to say, “A house without Sakina (a.s.) would not be worth living in!” She always had a sweet and cheerful smile and a very friendly nature. Other children sought her company as much as the grown ups did. She was very generous and always shared whatever she had with others.

There was a special bond between Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) and Bibi Sakina (a.s.). He loved her more than he did his own children. If Bibi Sakina (a.s.) requested for anything, Abbas (a.s.) would not rest until he satisfied her request. There was nothing that Abbas (a.s.) would not do to make Bibi Sakina (a.s.) happy.

During the journey from Madina to Mecca and then Mecca to Kerbala, Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) was often seen riding up to the mehmil in which Bibi Sakina (a.s.) sat to make sure that she had everything she wanted. Bibi Sakina (a.s.) loved her uncle just as much. While in Madina she would, several times a day, visit the house in which Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) lived with his family and his mother, Bibi Ummul Baneen (a.s.).

Like any other four-five year old when Bibi Sakina (a.s.) went to bed at night she wanted to spend some time with her father. Imam Hussain (a.s.) would tell her stories of the Prophets (as) and of the battles fought by her grand-father Imam Ali (a.s.). She would rest her head on her father’s chest and Imam Hussain (a.s.) would not move from her until she fell asleep. When from the second of Muharram the armies of Yazid began to gather at Kerbala, Imam Hussain (a.s.) said to his sister Bibi Zainab (s.a.), “The time has come for you to get Sakina (a.s.) used to going to sleep without my being there !”. Bibi Sakina (a.s.) would follow her father at night and Imam Hussain (a.s.) had to gently take her to Bibi Zainab (s.a.) or Bibi Rubaab (a.s.) - her mother.

At Kerbala when from the seventh Muharram, access to water was blocked by the army of Yazid and water became scarce Bibi Sakina (a.s.) shared whatever little water she had with other children. When soon there was no water at all, the thirsty children would look at Bibi Sakina (a.s.) hopefully, and because she could not help them she would have tears in her eyes. Bibi Sakina (a.s.)'s lips were parched with thirst.

On the day of Ashura - the 10th of Muharram, she gave her mashk to Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) to get some water for her and the children. When Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) went to fetch water, the children gathered round Bibi Sakina (a.s.) with their little cups, knowing that as soon as Hazrat Abbas (a.s.) brought any water, Bibi Sakina (a.s.) would first make sure that they had some before taking any herself. When Bibi Sakina (a.s.) saw Imam Hussain (a.s.) bringing the blood drenched 'alam she knew that her uncle Abbas (a.s.) had been martyred. From that day on Bibi Sakina (a.s.) never complained of thirst. Bibi Sakina (a.s.) never again asked anyone for water. Bibi Zainab (s.a.) would persuade her to take a few sips, but she herself would never ask for water or complain of thirst.

Then came the time when the earth shook and Bibi Sakina (a.s.) became an orphan! But even then she always thought of the others first. She would console her mother on the death of Ali Asghar (a.s.) - her 6-month old brother - and when she saw any other lady or child weeping Bibi Sakina (a.s.) would put her little arms around her.

From the time when Imam Hussain (a.s.) was martyred in the battle field, Bibi Sakina (a.s.) forgot to smile! Kufa saw her as a little girl lost in thought. Quite often she would sit up at night. When asked if she wanted anything, she would say, “I just heard a baby cry? Is it Asghar? He must be calling out for me!”

Knowing that her weeping upset her mother, Bibi Sakina (a.s.) would cry silently and quickly wipe away her tears! In the prison in Damascus she would stare at the flock of birds flying to their nests at sunset and innocently ask Bibi Zainab (s.a.), “Will Sakina ever be going home like those birds flying to their homes?”

Then one dreadful night Bibi Sakina (a.s.) went to bed on the cold floor of the prison. For a long time she stared into the darkness! The time for the morning prayers came. Bibi Sakina (a.s.) was still lying with her eyes wide open. Her mother called out: “Wake up, Sakina! Wake up, it is time for prayers, my child!” There was only the painful silence! Our fourth Imam Zain-ul-Abideen (a.s.) walked up to where Bibi Sakina (a.s.) lay. He put his hand on her forehead. It was cold! He put his hand near the mouth and the nose. Bibi Sakina (a.s.) had stopped breathing. In between sobs Imam Zain-ul-Abideen (a.s.) said: “INNA LILLAHI WA INNA ILAYHI RAAJI’OON!”

How was Bibi Sakina (a.s.) buried ? Bibi Zainab (s.a.) held the still child as Imam Zain-ul-Abideen (a.s.) dug a grave in the cell. As the grave was being filled up after the burial the mother let out a scream! How could anyone console Bibi Rubaab (a.s.)? What could they say? They huddled around her, and the prison walls began to shake with the cry: “Ya Bibi Sakina (a.s.), YA MAZLOOMAH!!” Bibi Rubaab (a.s.) put her cheek on Bibi Sakina’s (a.s.) grave and cried out: “Speak to me, Sakina! Only a word, my child! Speak to me!!”

Re: Bibi Sakina (a.s.)

Dousree rewayat yeh hai kay.....

The days were so hot that it was difficult to breath in the prison. And the nights were so cold that Sakina's toes would turn blue. They had nothing to sleep on but the bare floor.

One night Sakina suddenly started to cry in her sleep. When her mother asked her what the matter was she said that she saw her father in her dreams telling her that he could not bear to see her in this state any more. Everybody started to cry so much that the noise reached Yazid at the palace. He asked the guards what all the noise was about. When they told him what it was, he ordered that Imam Hussain's (a.s.) head be taken to Sakina in order to keep her quiet. The guards brought the head, and put on the ground. When Sakina saw her father's head, she ran to it and hugged it. All the ladies were stricken with grief. Sakina complained to her father about how the evil men snatched her earings that he had given to her, how they took away their vieils, and burnt their tents. Suddenly Sakina stopped complaining and was completely quiet. INNA LILLAH WA INNA ILAYHI RAJI'OON. Sakina, the loving daughter of Imam Hussain (a.s.) passed away. Imam Zainul Abideen (a.s.) buried her in a small grave in one corner of the prison. All the ladies sat by Sakina's mother Rubab and cried. Sakina will finally be able to sleep on her fathers' chest once again.

When they were released from the prison, Rubab would cry "Where am I suppose to go, my Ali Asgher is in Karbala and my Sakina in the prison in Sham".

Karbala kee maoN par salaam.

Mashallah little human, please also post something on the shahdatt of Ma'soom Ali Asghar (as)

Jazakallah!

lh: are you writing these out yourself? if so great job.

Kiya dhoond rahi hai jungle main Sakeena (a.s.)
Abbas (a.s.) kay bazoo ya baba (a.s.) ka seena

nice. reminds me of some bands related to Bibi Sakina (as);

Imam Hussain (as):

Dhul raat gayee, hunR sam poh BachRa
Mendi dhee masoom sakina,
hik lahzeh da mehmaan khaRa,
Hewi haazir peyoh da seena.

Boh Umr Ameeri hunR sum poh BachRa
te thiya qaim which Madina
kal zohr deh weleh, tendeh dor laasunR,
Desi JhiRkah Shimr Kameena.

Bibi sakina (AS) to shimr;

Oh teh jurrat kiti gustakhi di,
Masoom khaRi farmaa eh
Mereh saareh haashmi mar nahi gaye
mojood sajjad bhiraa eh.

great job little human :flower1:
thanks for sharing

No I did not write up all myself. Been browsing around for a good article for Bibi and found this. No2 post I typed up from my book. I don't like typing up myself coz I might not be accurate.

Pls add anything else relevant to her.

Here I will type up some more. (After Imam Hussain a.s. is beheaded.)

Bibi Zainab ran to Imam Zainul Abideen a.s. and told him what had just happened. They stood silently, tears rolling down their cheeks. A strong gust of wind blew on the desert. They felt as if nature itself was crying with them. The silence was only broken by the beating of drums from the enemy camp. They were celebrating their victory. It was indeed a hollow victory, won by a well fed huge army fighting against an army of 72 brave warriors, who died hungry and thirsty.

That evening the enemy soldiers rushed into Imam Hussains a.s. camp and looted everything in sight. One of the men pulled Sakina's earings off, ripping her ear lobes. Sakina ran out of the tent crying, her ears bleeding. Outside she met a kind old man. He wiped the blood from her ears. When Sakina saw how kind he was she asked him if he would show her the way to Najaf where her grandfather was buried, She told him that she was going to complain to him about how they killed her father and didn't let her uncle Abbas bring any water for her. When the old man saw how upset Bibi Sakina was, he comforted her and then took her back to her aunty Bibi Zainab.

[Another thing I heard is that Bibi Sakina's front was on fire when she ran out of the tents, the old man attempted to put out the fire on her. But Sakina said,

"Thank you for being so kind, but I am syeda. We don't let na-mehrams touch us. If you'd like to help, tell me the way to Najaf"]

The troops snatched the veils off the ladies heads, and then set fire to their tents. Bibi Zainab was very distressed. She turned to Imam Zainul Abideen a.s. and said

** "You are our Imam now. Tell us what we should do now, should we stay in our tents and burn, or go out without our veils?"**

Imam Zainul Abideen a.s. told her that it was their religious duty to try and save their lives. Bibi Zainab gathered everyone and waited outside, while their homes burnt down. When the fire was out, they took shelter under one of the tents which had not been completely destroyed.

That night Umar Saad sent some bread and water to Imam Hussain's a.s. camp. When Bibi Zainab saw the bread and water she cried,
"Imam Hussain a.s. and his brave soldiers had died hungry and thirsty, and now the same people who killed them were bringing bread and water to their widows and orphans!!"

She looked at the sky and prayed to Allah to give her courage. Bibi Zainab remembered the words of her brother to give water first to Sakina. When Sakina heard that there was some water, she said

"Has my uncle Abbas come back? Dear aunt, please give some water to my brother Ali Asgher first, he is the youngest. "

Sakina then started to cry, She remembered what had happened that day. There was no uncle Abbas to bring her water and there was no little Ali Asgher to play with. There was only sadness.

The rest I'll type up from my memory from the lectures I heard.

On Sham-e-ghariban, Bibi Sakina was missing. Bibi Zainab when into the dark dark night and started searching for her. She went to Ali Akhbar's miyat and cried

"Ali Akbar, did Sakina come here to you?!!"

She went on, near the river...

"Abbas! did Sakina come to you?!!"

She went on and on searching for her.

Finally she came to a headless body, a little girl was sleeping over it. Bibi Zainab attempted to touch Sakina. A voice came from the dark.

"Don't!! With great difficulty did I put my little girl to sleep!"

There was no head, no clothes, how did Bibi Sakina tell that's her father?

bump

:teary1:..

I got this story in email few years back so just wanna share:flower2:.

Once upon a time, there was a cloth trader in Damascus, Syria. One
night he saw a weird but painful dream.

A very young little girl with the most innocent face came in his dream
and said: -

" I’m in pain. Water is flowing into my grave. Please help me and take
me some where else. "

" But where are you?" He asked, astonished.

" Near your house, very near to… "

She told him about a particular spot in his own house.

The trader awakened instantly, rubbing his eyes with frustration if it
actually was a dream or what.

He willingly ignored the dream, trying to forget it.

But again, the same thing happened.

He tried to forget it, wondering what it could really mean?

But when she came for the third time in his sleep, it became enough
for the aged man.

Immediately, without caring of the mid nighttime of dark, black night,
he rose and called his wife who was sleeping adjacent to him.

" What happened?" His wife asked worryingly

" I can’t sleep since last three nights. She is coming continuously…"

And then he told his wife about the dream in detail.

"We should explore the spot, if something is really there, we will
find out the reality. "

" Alright, let’s try, atleast I would be able to get a peaceful sleep then."

He took a spade and a pickaxe, and with his wife, reached at the spot,
which the ‘dream girl’ had mentioned.

After hard labor, he was finally able to look inside the deep hole in
the ground.

" Oh " He exclaimed.

Water from the nearby pond had found its way, filling the space
beneath the ground.

" Oh My God. WAIT!" His wife’s voice was so loud that he couldn’t
maintain his balance.

" I have seen something. Just a moment! " His wife screamed again with fear.

" And what is that?" He asked curiously.

“A child’s face. A girl’s face.” She yelled.

And then he saw it too.

It was the body of a young girl, lying straight in the hole, submerged
in the flowing water.

" Yes, it…. It is the same face…. Same girl, who has been coming in my
dreams." He shouted with the sign of recognition.

" Wait, as it seems like a dead body of some Muslim girl, I will go
inside the grave and will take her out." His wife went forward. “You
put the shield in between. Don’t look at her!”

" Alright, wife! " He placed a long veil in between him and the grave,
without looking at the dead body again.

After few moments, his wife took the body out and together they
carried it carefully to the other spot, which was dry and located far
away from the flowing water.

Once again, he burrowed a deep hole in the ground there, making a
broad, dry grave for the little girl.

Again, his wife placed the dead body of the little girl with all due
respect in the grave and together they put the soil in the hole.

When finished, he turned towards his wife and was shocked to see that
she was crying.

“What’s the matter?” He asked.

" I… I never ever saw such a beautiful, graceful and innocent face. "
She said, sobbing.

" She was so young, hardly more than four years." She added, tears
flowing freely on her face.

" But many children die at the same age. She was not the only one." He
tried his best to decrease the pain of this emotional woman who
happened to be his wife.

" YES!" Suddenly, she cried. " But she was the only one who had marks
of forceful slaps on her soft, warm, tear-stained cheeks. Blood was
coming profusely out of her small ears, like someone has pulled her
earrings. Her whole body was wounded, wrapped in an old, broken robe
like she has been a prisoner for long time. " She cried with sheer
pain. " And yes, she was the only child with 'white hair" at such a
young age!"

" Oh " The aged trader knelt down on the floor, crying violently now.
" I know her."

" What? Who was she?"

" Sukaina " He told her with tear-clotted throat. " Daughter of
Hussain ibne Ali"*

:teary3:

Some nohas on Bibi Sakina

Baad e Hussain Kisne Kaha

http://imambargah.net/realaudio/a/n/mwr00004.rm

Achi nahi ye baat

http://imambargah.net/realaudio/a/n/nds00011.rm

Utho Sakina Chalo Watan ko

http://www.nohay.com/nadeem/nadeem1980/1980nad-3.rm

Masoom Sakina Piasi Hai

http://www.nohay.com/ali-zia/0001/1zia7.rm

Ya Bunayya Ilayya Ilayya

http://imambargah.net/realaudio/a/n/azr00057.rm

Haan Tha mera Baba

http://imambargah.net/realaudio/a/n/nds00129.rm

some of the saddest incidents are associated with this beloved daughter of Imam Hussain. Thank you for the thread little-human

thanks for the post LH

thanks again LH. Any one intereted in the event of kerbala: click below.

http://www.coej.org/islamic_resources/wxtear2.htm

:'(

sad :(

WHat is the source of these stories?

And about the bringing of the head of imam hussain in jail to satisfy the child, is that even true?

How did they preserve the head (if they cut it as a trophy in the first place).