bhens in jahez, punjabi weddings.

i just heard that it is very much common in punjabi weddings in lahore, islamabad etc that the girl brings a car and a BHENS in the jahez with her. is it true? i am pretty sure the aunty was just exaggerating. but why would someone give bhens in jahez?!! isnt it messy n stinky! ?

so i ask all the punjabi guppies/guppans here, is it true? or how common is it? i’ve never seen that happening in karachi (atleast not that i know of, but i wonder though, if it does happen, what animal do they give? hmm). how many of u got the bhens in jahez? what did u do with it? how did u keep it and where?!

Re: bhens in jahez, punjabi weddings.

Oooo bheeeeeeeeeeenssssssssssssssssssss :hehe:

Now i haven’t even heard this bheeeeeenssssssss thing in biharis or gujratis let alone in my family so dunno where you getting this bheenssssss fetish from about karachi? :smiley:

suroor common sense should be able to get u answers, honestly.

*funny if its a fact
funny if its not

Commenter: Raima Noveen Date Posted: Feb 9th, 2006 at 01:44 PM
my inlaws are punjabi and they gave bhens to their daughter in her jahaiz like twenty five years ago, no one does it any more. Now they give a car.

there u go. perhaps it still happens in villages then? this aunty is from some village in punjab starts with p, sounds lika pathokee. she says her sister gave her daughter 2 bhens in jahiz, n was really proud of it (apparently bhens are very expensive so it comes under status symbol thing).

Are you people ignorant or what?!!

The majority of Pakistan’s population is rural and are farmers of one kind or another, not everyone in Pakistan is stuck in a smelly little house/flat in some dirty over cramped shantytown in Karachi or some stress infested posh arse locality where even next-door neighbours don’t know each other.

In villages we have big houses with big courtyards, stables and barns, acres and acres of land stretching as far as the eye can see, farm ranches and farmhands.

These things are an everyday necessity and are utilised not there just to show to the nosey aunty, parents know that these things will come in handy to their daughter and son-in-law with plenty of dairy products and meat.

I’m not a Punjabi but my maternal grandparents gave my mother a few cows and buffaloes too as part of her wedding gift besides TV, VCR, HiFi and the usual stuff.

ps. buffaloes/cows are not smelly, they smell kind of sweet actually and there’s nothing nicer than when you feed a baby calf by hand and it licks your hand :hug: or going for a piggy back ride on the back of a buffalo in the river. and not to mention having fresh and pure butter, milk, yoghurt and buttermilk for breaky everyday instead of the 75% pissy watery stuff shantytown city people have to make do with and the 75% chemical crap posh city people have to drink.

perhaps she means maarsaydees bhains.

...what's a bhens?
do you mean mercedes benz - as in the car?

oh gosh, i thought you were talking about sisters, like behens.

^ lol..i thought so too when i first read it! :D

:biggthumb

if a girl get bhens and stuff in jahez it is she must feel lucky and privileged

*Ajkal ke dour main khalis doodh ghar se mil jaye tu bari baat hai *:k:

somewhere above

^^
not every farmer from the rural side is subscribed to gupshup
someone shud get the blood pressure checked.
i really like our bhenses,very black n shiny.my lala had one which cudnt walk,but she was very friendly, and once u get used to the bara-cow garage smell,u kinda miss it.

..it’s BENZ people…not bhens or bhenses! :smash:

I am a punjabi. No we dun give behns anymore. Punjabi's liek gora'z , so we give pi-s in jahez.

Lolz…yaar it is not BENZ or BHENS (sister), but bheansh; a cousin of cow :smiley:

^ heheh..
i think we need suroor to clear up what she was actually talking about...

Yep they have mercedes benz in paki villages! :mudhosh:

ufhoo, faruk ji, i wasnt trying to make fun of punjabi culture or villages, i was just asking if this custom exist or not.
n i was refering to bhainsssssss as in those black khofnak wali bhains in pakistan with coiled horns.

they r cute.

hmm is this a joke?