bhens in jahez, punjabi weddings.

Re: bhens in jahez, punjabi weddings.

you meant cows?! sheesh...

This is hilarious but its true.
This is a true story but about 30yrs ago. Sadly this woman is not alive any more.

My mom's chacha ji use to be one of the most richest people of lahore during his time too bad i wasnt in his will]. When his daughter got married she was given a Behens. It was published in newspaper at that time as well.

yes i remember that.it was amazing how the richest man gave only one bhainssss.

Lahore and Islamabad main bhain?!?!?!
car to theek hai magar bhains :rotfl:

^ :hoonh:

Ma’am Not only bhens (buffallo) was part of Jahez, rich people also used to give a personlaized ‘Noukar’ to their daughter as part of Jahez

I thought it was Mercedz Benz. Nothing strange about that. In an aggrarian society, Bhens can jehz items.

I think people probably still give bhenses but with a maid to look after it as it sort of means there daughter won't be away from pure milk makhan n desi ghee..............

but what is shocking is taht bhenses don't be cheap they are up 2 1 LAKH RUPEES.......... but it is a good investment as they save on all the products above n in many cases sell 2 neighbours......

i live in rawalpindi and we have seriously contemplated buying our maid a bhens which she maintains and then provides us the products,,,,,,,so hence i know a bit about bhenses

Sir ji, yeh puranay waqton ki baatain hai, it still happens I know, but only in villages or rural areas.
not in developed cities like Islamabad or Lahore.
I am from Lahore and my inlaws are in Islamabad. Na hi, my parents thought of giving me bhains for my jahaiz, and na hi my inlaws demanded it :slight_smile:

LOL…:omg:

It does not happen in the cities. May be people of villages do this.

karakush! it seems as if you are dying to find more details.

I still think in gao people do give maaj....its consider a big thing back home...

that's unconditional love and a very exotic jahaiz. comprising of creatures like bhens, maanj and the like. :(where's my punjabi

Oye khocha, yeh tum kiya bolti hai?

Tum bachchaa giri ke baare me baat karo! ;)

Actually I wouldn't mind getting a Bhens in Jahez, do you guys know how expensive the organic milk is these days?

Dont know about the car but giving Bhains or (majj ;) ) is still done. I think they go for Rs.25-30000 each. In fact last year my cousin got married and my chachoo gave 2 buffaloes as part of the dowry. Keep in mind he lives in a pinD in rural punjab.