When a woman not related to you says this, what’s the general reaction? Negative Positive, could care less?
Some desi women are so protective of their husbands that I just have the strong urge to start the convo with bhai regardless of if I know the man well or not, just so i’m not seen as a threat.
Re: "Bhai"
I'm pretty sure most Desi wives consider me too young to be a threat. But I find it amusing when I'm talking to a boy and his girl friend keeps giving me dirty looks dispite the fact that most of the time we're talking about University work haha.
Re: “Bhai”
in India, they take one more step…they have to not only call men ‘Bhai’ but also tie a ‘Raakhi’ on their so-called bhai’s wrist. ![]()
I thought Bhai meant a person from the underworld.
you mean Altaf Bhai? ;)
Hey I'll have a bag full of bhai rakhis in my purse if that's what it takes. I just want to be social and be outgoing and not feel so uncomfortable around attached men or single men that are in no way potential rishtas.
So what's the reaction if you're single, married, taken(bf, engaged, attached in some other way)?
you mean Altaf Bhai? ;)
Don't know him. I meant bhai.
Don't know for sure if Rakhi is anyone's sister. Great actress.
If someone other than a relative or close friend called my husband bhai I'd find it quite odd. Unless there was a 10 year age gap or something and they were doing it as a sign of respect.
I think being called bhai by a woman not related is generally a very big hint that one is of little interest to a lady in terms of a prospective suitor. After u get called bhai, it just isnt gonna happen. Bhaizone = desi friendzone.
As far as calling someone bhai because of his spouse goes, its probably a good idea.
Some of my friends call my husband "bhai" and some don't, it doesn't bother me either way if they do.
I don't call anyone bhai except my brothers in law, I have a brother and that's enough. Male friends are male friends, cousins are cousins.....my brother is my brother.
Some people like to have their relations clearly defined
Or you could always call them Uncle ;)
One of my friends did this with a guy at a fast food joint. He was probably younger than us. I think he nearly had a heart attack.
I have never used bhai anywhere, not even for cousins but will use it for guys who're universally known as bhai in uni by both girls and guys because they're seniors and then TAs and suddenly calling them sir would be just awkward. Oh and sometimes when I'm shopping which is as rare as the blue moon because really what else do you call your haggling type shopkeepers.
When a woman not related to you says this, what's the general reaction? Negative Positive, could care less? Some desi women are so protective of their husbands that I just have the strong urge to start the convo with bhai regardless of if I know the man well or not, just so i'm not seen as a threat.
I couldn't care less.
Bhai=Friendzoned Forever
Might just be me but I feel it has different connotations in different circumstances. If an acquaintance of mine that didn't know my husband very well decided to refer to him as 'bhai', it suggests an attempt at being respectful. If however, an acquaintance of my husband that didn't know me very well, used 'bhai' when talking to me it suggests over-familiarity.
Also, dunno about being friendzoned. When my husband was in college in Pakistan female classfellows would call him bhai and make attempts to talk to him under that guise... just creepy. I feel it's a lot more straightforward here - there's less saying one thing and meaning another in English.
Men call women as aunty and bhabi and behan all the time . I think not a big deal if you call us bhai .
In Pakistani culture they do it as a sign of respect and to appear decent.
I am everyone's Khalazaad bhai