better parents? us or our parents?

Re: better parents? us or our parents?

so how do we determine good parenting? actions, or results?

I would say results…

But then again i aint a parent… yet anyway :cb:

but u said u r married :open_mouth:

so do u think the bride drops a child a nano second after she says I do? :)

Indeed i did… :rotfl:

You assume too much of me just becuase i have been married since May doesn’t mean i’m a Pappa yet… although gimme sometime and i’m sure i’ll be mollycoddling a nest of fine future Warriors :jhanda:

Until that happy day i will make the neccassary preparations…

since may faris bhai :naraz: u told us itna lateeeeeeeeeeeee :naraz:

InshAllah :smiley:

I didn’t tell many folk at all… even my parents heard about it late… for details ask Sannan bhai :hehe:

Thankyou and bless you too.

My parents were better than their parents.

I hope i am as good of a parent as my parents.

InshaAllah my children will be better parents than us.

Etc and so forth....

You learn from your own parents. You take on what they have taught you and you strive to become better, wiser and more knowledgeable. There are many things that i can only hope to be half as good at, but then there are some things i have done differently.

Ditto. Maroush said it better than i could have. Somethings my parents did wonderfully and some i hope to do better. Its not a competetion, rather a learning opportunity, hopefully.

Our parents were best and they did in their time what was right for us.And we are best parents too because we will do what is right for our children.Its just the generation gap that is huge and with changing times and requirements we have to do what is best for us.Our children are definitely clever and smarter then us and we have to deal with them differently we cannot just follow the “Chappal” rules for our children.:hehe:

I think it's hilarious that all of us who are "not a parent yet" are responding, but I'll carry on the trend since I'm a vicarious mommy (I spent this afternoon babysitting 5 kids under 9 years of age and I'm exhausted!)

My parents worked fulltime, parented fulltime, and kept up the house and socializing. They knew how to discipline and how to coddle and they raised decent well-adjusted children to be decent hardworking adults.

I see my nieces and nephews and they're great kids - but I can only hope that they grow up with the same values we had and with the same work ethic and sense of social accountability. My parents made look easy what I've experienced first-hand to be a difficult and emotionally exhausting responsibility.

My parents weren't perfect and I'd do some things differently, but 99 times oout of 100 - my parents got parenting right.

And oh you warrior you talked like some buddha uncle :chai:

Oh how i miss the flying chappal :naak:

good points

so lets spin this a diff way..

what do you think your parents did that you feel you dont do as well, and vice versa :)

I remember that flying chappal…hurled with precision-vision. :smack:

I'm not a parent yet but I've seen some poor examples of parenting...that I would never do....both in extended relatives and just outside.... And no dont give me the "ull understand when u have kids" argument b/c some things are just considered bad parenting...full stop.

While I don't advocate spoiling a child, I am seeing alot of extreme examples being cited here. I don't find the chappal throwing thing funny (If you can look back on it and laugh, good for you) nor would I dream of slapping a child just b/c they're being "slow."

I would really hope to achieve that balance between raising strong, confident adults but without being mean or resorting to physical/emotional abuse.

yeah…as i say, i see ladies buying shoes and sandals based on fashion or comfort..wait, who am I kidding..based on fashion only. This was new to me growing up i thought ladies bought shoes and sandals based on flight patterns and impact ratings etc

forget chappal throwing, which actually never happened I just josh around with that, what did happen were the trips to Pakistan and staying at my nana's house as a kid with young mamoo and khala group there, it was a sinking feeling, as i have stated earlier, in prison break when scofield and company get tossed in that prison 'sona'....thats the same feeling i had entering my nana's house for summer vacations.

All the advices I used to receive before going to Pakistan :naak: At that time I was really upset on them.But now I think some of them not all of them I should give to my children.