whats the verdict, are we better parents than our parents?
yes?
no?
why?
Re: better parents? us or our parents?
Don't have kids. But as a teacher......I see many parents expecting the schools to raise their kids. I noticed this more in public school. Less involvement or apathy regarding their children's education. This could be due to both parents working.......or a single parent trying to make ends meet....and doesn't have the time to check up on kids. Parents easily believing the child (my child can do no wrong....what homework?....oh, but it's not her fault that she forgot her assignment and it shouldn't be counted as late.....you said my baby is being "irresponsible".....bad teacher).
I couldn't get away with the things some of the kids today get away with....I had greater accountability growing up.
Definitely my parents. Again not married and no kids that I know off..... Anyway the trouble me and my sister are...I doubt I have the patience.
I watched “Grown Ups” today and in one scene this kid tells off his dad… and the dad mutters “My dad would’ve thrown me down the stairs for saying that”
So yeah, my guess is that everyone agrees our parents had us more disciplined, more under control and gave us more attention than we give our kids.
Edit: Wait… why am I talking in the past tense?
They STILL have me under control!
our parents
um, one can only conjecture this when he/she reaches their parents age. It is too soon to say.
ps. today i was sharing one of the miserable anecdote of my life with my sister and its conclusion was sometimes we do good and we conclude that we are very nice, and we also do good with others, but sometimes the very next minute we do something that brings us back to who exactly we are. We humans are not perfect. we do good things, bad things, and sometimes ugly ones. If we ask for constant forgiveness then miraculously ALLAH SWT helps us, otherwise we are doomed. so basically no one can conclude who is better than who, only ALLAH SWT has this knowledge.
:no: not a parent yet…
Looking forward to be a parent after shadi ( InshAllah This year ) :P
Abhi to ma Jawannn hoon ,....
whats the verdict, are we better parents than our parents? yes? no? why?
In the old country children are raised/influenced by their Grand Parents a lot, and they learn some very good lessons from them.
We may be better parents since most are raising their children without the benefit of having Grand Parents help............
but in some ways our children lack the understanding that the older generation has to provide!
Obama yaar, tuunay sayapa daala hua hai dunya mein
kitnay documents pending haen signature ko aur tusi janaab yahan chehal kadmi ker rahay ho…
^apni awam ke beech mai angey tub hi pata chaleyga abt their concerns :@:
haan na, yahi to mein bhi keh rahi houn ![]()
Not a parent, but I doubt if I ever will be even close to being as patient, organized, tactful and wise as my parents.
I'm not a parent yet but I hope I can be as amazing as my parents are with my siblings and I. I really can't see myself being as patient as mine are though. That being said people change once they become parents, they take on more responsibilities as they have to look after someone who is entirely dependable on them. The dynamics change...and your main priority becomes your child. I know so many people who undergo personality transplants after they have children.
not a parent but from what i observe in real world and (read on this forum) how parents rant about petty issues.... our parents are far better in every sense!
a mother of 2 today thinks she needs to be given the world.... looking back, mothers with 5kids on average didn't want anything more than 2 waqt ki roti!
Not a parent yet, but I know that i would never ever be as patient, wise and generous as my parents are.
i am not a parent..
i dunno what is the definition of a "better parent" but i'll try to bring up my children in a different way than my parents brought me up..
Reason being, my parents had been extraordinarily sweet,caring,kind, and over-protective for me. they gave me all the freedom in all the aspects.. the result is i am an over-sensitive person now and i know i will have to face troubles adjusting with the new family after i get married..
so i always think that i'l be a strict parent towards my kids, especially my daughters, won't give them much liberty,much money in their hands and won't be over-protective for them so that they dun have trouble facing the world...esp after they get married..i know they could develop hostility towards me but still at the end of the day they would realize it was for their own good...:)
Confusing question... please clarify...
its a broad open ended question on purpose.
our parents. and even then, those parents in pakistan are better. here, all the kid gets whatever they want, are spoilt rotten, and because our parents maybe were not so well off as they are today, lavish their kids with gifts, even us as parents, ive seen my cousins give her 2 yr old pepsi, sweets, crisps, junk, which kids in pak dont get, my relatives there wouldnt think twice about saying no,and the kid doesnt even cry, they just understand.
here, kids cry their heads off over small things, and then parents give in.
my husband tells me he used to get a slap for everytime he did anything wrong, even if he was slow in his response, and he appreciates it. he understands it, his parents are loving parents, but disipline was strong in their household.
here, if my mum slaps my lil bro, he would sulk for a week. or if my cousin slaps her 5 yr old( which she doesnt, but she did once, lightly on the bottom) he cried like anything, for hours, he kicked her, he pushed the chairs onto the floor, and scribbled all over the walls......