Best places to meet prospective desis

This question was brought up in another thread and I think it deserves a thread of it’s own.

So, what are some of the places for single desis (girls and boys) to meet up other desis. Americans usually meet them in churches, social parties, work, etc. Where do we meet desis? There is virtually zilch mingling in masaajid and most parties are segregated.

So, what are some realistic options to meet new desis on a regular interval while keeping the ‘shareef tag’ intact.

Re: Best places to meet prospective desis

Gupsshup…:rotfl:

weddings are a great place........the best pace infact because its on every ones mind and everyone is all dolled up.

But the only ppl who get to approach others are the mummmmies and the daddddies mainly cos of the shareef tag.

edited - off-topic and inflamatory.

Exactly! I am talking about Singles meeting singles, no mummy daddy involved.

How about at university or school or work? But then some stuck up morons think the guy is flirting. Desis have no trust on each other when it comes to guy-girl thing. We are all so fk'ed up.

Well the trick in that is you go and say salaam to the uncles and aunties making you look shareef and then start talking yo either their daughters or sons whichever takes ur prefence. If you do it right infront of them parents will never say anything

ISNA.

No, I have never been BUT ( there is always a but) I have heard that it's the year's biggest party for muslims -- Mardi Gras, Spring break, & La Tomatina all rolled in one.

cambo gumbo, it might work for good looking guys but parents don't let ugly guys near their daughters.

hahahahahahah...well thats the reason why ive never had a problem then....only joking...all the weddings ive been too the females are lacking in the talent department...so I will just chill and eat the good food and then take the p*** out of the groom...

Right on!

i dont go clubbing or to bars....I think thats where a large part of prospective desis go.

I've seen some cute guys@ cafes and stuff ...ooo cant wait for winter!

Dude, going to a club or bar for a perspective "mate" is kinda retarded.. at best i believe u can get a good fling going but not something real or meaningful..

I knew of this girl in my city who everyone said was not "attractive". She wasn't getting any rishtas, but met a guy in university, and they got married. Pretty cool.

University is the place where you will be exposed to the most people, from all backgrounds, professions. It's great. Just take a computer science class and you're bound to meet many desis. MSA, PSA, ISA.

University is the most safest place. Plus, you can also find out a lot about a person's character. For example, if they smoke, alcohol etc. His/her friends etc..

yeah but cute guys go there:( and then complain about not finding a “nice” girl who doesnt drink,party, sleep around, smoke etc etc. hadd hoti hai retardness kii!

oh i have another one! Barnes and Noble…:slight_smile:

Ditto college/university.

I know of a few couples who met in my undergrad and got married without fuss.

so theres no hope for ppl who never hooked up in uni :D

Yes, they are doomed! :devil:

On a serious note, as Rumi said, your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.

Well said Rumi bhai jaan.
I think desi girls have it really bad. The culture and traditions don't help much either.