Best place to live in the UK/USA ..

I am too researching moving, and I have been to houston quite a few times for business and family stuff. You are absolutely dead wrong on Houston being conservative redneck town made up of christian neocons! It's mayor is a lesbian and the third highest ranking official in the city for the past decade was Pakistani! Texas might be conservative in general, but Houston and Austin are as liberal cities as you can get in the US...which is why I really really like it.

You are right about needing a car there. Very spacious town indeed. But the halaal restaurants, muslim community, the cost of living comfortably, quite level, privacy, THE JOB MARKET!!!! and schools for kids are superb. I like the warm beach, personally.

I think I'll likely be moving there three years from now.

what do you except anyone to say if you say things like "food - hmm foods okay , a lot of chicken and chips shops".

there is opinion and then there is fact. fact is london has LOTS of restaurants for all budgets and cuisine from all over the world.

how long you lived in london has nothing to do with it. some people see more of it in one year than others who have lived here their entire lives.

if you are saying that you haven't been around enough.. that's nothing to apologise about - but then you are hardly in a place to give an informative opinion about the shopping or the food.

Cali-for-ni-yay :lifey:

nomi is correct, California has more educated/settled desi per square mile than any other place in US

Re: Best place to live in the UK/USA ..

Birmingham UK, the city has great areas to live different types of areas in the city of Birmingham, it's a very cool city!!

ohmigosh

I think the only place people go to is star city.

never would I live in Birmingham ever again!

I hope to move to india in the future.

hummmmmmmm.. kun g

u.k. the best.

ku ke waha pe large asian population hai aur pakistan ke kareeb + high standard of living (in the major cities).

you get to live in tiny boxes in europe. why would anyone want to live there? :P

Ewww **NONE! **Have you seen the smelly dirty streets of UK?! Forget it.
I would say go to the states. Orrrrr DUBAI! i was watching dubai night life on tv yday, I wanted to go into the tv and be there. Its heaven on earth!

LOL@ living in bham. LOOOOOLLL nice place, BHAM??

Chips and graaaaaaaaaaaaaavey please!!!

please note i used to live in bham so yes i can mock it if i like! :snooty:

Irvine - Orange County - CA

God knows I want to go back there! Reasons?

• Mosques/Muslim organizations withing 15/20 min drive
  • Halal food is not a problem at all
  • Wonderful beaches are 30 min drive
  • Snow (mountains) 2 hours drive
  • If family has kids Disney, Hollywood, Sandiago Zoo and what not all accessible by car
  • Natural beauty and metropolitan city (LA) all within 30/40 hours drive
  • Its soo peaceful, you can leave the car door open at night and find every single pin on its place next morning....
  • People are polite - so polite they insist of giving away their right of way at intersection :)

cons ?

It all comes with a top price tag!

^ and Orange county is as cheap as Dallas or Houston? :chai:

ahahah ... Dubai is really great ... but i have to say ... i think i'd rather go holidaying there instead of living there. :D

for once i agree with you :D

Even though i was broughtup there, my dad still lives there and i worked there for a year I still dont like living there. But thats me ;)

i agree with this too :hinna:
it feels claustrophobic .. i need a bigger place …

NO

I WANT A BIG PLACE! :cryb:

I dont have an idea about Dallas or Houston but I paid around $1500 for 2 bed apt in 1999-2002 and currently a decent 2 bed apartment rent ranges b/w $1900-$3500 add other expenses (like gas etc) and you are in for a “treat” but then peace of mind you get with it sort of justifies it. My wife could go out on a walk alone at 1am without any fear…

Just to put in prospective, in 2005 total number of murders in OC was 1. I am sure it has its own problem areas but most of the areas were so peaceful. :slight_smile:

:jhanda:

$1900-$3500 minus utilities :hmm: … what’s an average monthly income of one person in america? if i convert that exact figure into euros .. then that’s just impossible (the upper figre. the lower figure is ok though if both partners are working).