I rate “Main Nai Tujh Ko Kabhi Dekha Bhi Nahin” as Junoon’s Best, What Is You people’s choice ???
My all time favourite is "Sajna" (but its very hard to choose just one)
jazbaa junoon tu himmat na haar… ![]()
btw.. this Main Nai Tujh Ko Kabhi Dekha Bhi Nahin" wala song.. is this from his new album ?
Even though every single Junoon song rocks!
Lal Meri Pat (Best sufi rock piece) &
Zamaney Ke Andaz or Saqinama(Most inspirational Song)
Neend ati nahi saari saari raat :( Super song!@
too hard to decide...my vote goes to....chalay thay saath saath
Very hard question.
Lal Meri Pat has to right be up there.
Mein Kaun Houn.
Sayonee is another good 1.
ghoom
abb to jaag
tara jala
saeen
mahiwal or lal meri pat
Ghoom tana is excellent.
Khawab is still their best composition till today.
Besides I like
khoi khoi aankhein
meine tujhe kabhi dekha
talaash
neend aati nahi
ghoom tana
^ Wadda Buzurg tey takko. So if one likes Bulleh Shah and Iqbal's poetry, they are kids? And I dont find anything funny about that?
Khawab is a good song, but doesnt even come close to being their best composition though.
jigar.....sufi stuff is different. It does not suit the rock genre at all. Ali (eventhough he is my fav rock singer) singing laal meri pat or other crap with table is like a bhaand or qawwal trying hard on some very meaningful and deep lyrics. Their compositions on sufi lyrics are not less than an insult. If you look out of those bunch of teeange junoonis, you will find nobody appreciating or atleast crazy about those stuff. I have been to Junoon's concert since their very first appearance in Marina Club some 13 years ago. And am a die hard fan of their music, when less 0.0001% of pakistan population knew about this type of music, we used to bang our heads in school/college and our VS/Ali Haider (soppy song lovers) fans friends would look at us in disbelieve, as they couldn't understand the rock at all :D I have been to Junoon's forums since 98 and quit visiting it in 2000 as I found most of the posters crazy in their teenage. I stick to Junoon's or anybody's good compositions, not a biased blind folded fan. Thats why I like all the new bands as well, who are coming up with fresh air, AS JUNOON DID IN 1990. They sure are pioneers of rock in Pak.
In short, the sufi stuff led them to stardome but its not their best. Massive might have welcomed Junoon due to their swing in mid-90s towards spritual poetry, but its still not their best. The compositions are very lame and ordinary (from rock's standard), a pure paan chabane wala qawwal type stuff.
Yar, I have been to more concerts than you can imagine, this year I was part of the management on their deewar US tour, please dont tell me fans dont go wild on lal meri pat, thats the VERY FIRST song on their concert lineup, and after khuddi, its the most receptive song, in terms of crowd participation. Go look at the central park ‘lal meri pat’ video, and just look at the crowd, you’l eat your words. Rock isnt Junoons invention, like youre saying it is, but Sufi Rock is.
Why was Azadi such a BIG success? If it was crap like you say, people would not have listened to it, or made it the big success it is. Also, please do not give me the ‘I have been going to their forums since 98’ crap, I was the 3rd registered user on it, and later part of the web team, so Im not impressed. Fans on the forums have a right to show interest in whatever they want.
Their first few albums werent the best of the lot, it was just experimentation, Junoon-1, Talaash had only three to four songs that became famous, and fans know that. Most of the fans now are awaiting a ‘sufi rock’ album, after the ishq-deewar transition.
Also, have you listened to Parvaaz? Its by far the best album ever, even outclasses Azadi, thanks to the brilliant sound engineering, and that too was inspired by the works of Bulleh Shah, so there you have it. Hopefully, the next Junoon album would be Sufi Rock, since we havent seen it for a while.
We arent discussing other bands, youve, Im still waiting why you think that ‘lal meri pat’ and ‘Saqinama’ listeners are ‘kids’.
Well, thats what just you think, and you alone (since you also beleive Khawab is the best Junoon song)
Hopefully, the next album should be Sufi-Rock, we havent seen that for a while!
Pappu Yaar Tung naa ker
yaar binna dil mera nayee lugda
sayonee
many more...
Buddy your ‘wish’ of having another Sufi rock album explains the real picture.
**Why in the world Junoon (‘the sufi rock band’ as their some fans claim) did not have a single sufi song in their Biggest hit ‘Deewar’ ??? **
Why they felt that there is a need to come back to rock/metal ?
Or is that that ppl (not just junoonis but everyone) have more variety these days and the newage rock bands are getting so popular. So the pioneer decided to bang the market once again with some geniune hard stuff. And I must say, they are pretty much successful in it. This was a good come back for Junoon. But why not a single sufi song???
???
???
Besides, I didn’t write this concert thing to see who attended more concert, but to show you that I have been Junoon’s fan since their day 1 when I first heard Neend Aati Nahi and Chori Chori Aaja back in 1990, when ppl used to give crap to rock music. They were not ready for it back then. And yes, its Junoon which penetrated into the market with rock and made it popular that every dick and harry these days is picking up the guitar and coming up with band/album.
I feel like Im wasting time, Jhooley Lal ring any bells? And Deewar wasnt their biggest hit, it was Azadi, even though Parvaz was my favourite. As for Sufi Rock, I loved Deewar, but I feel the band has accomplished what they started with Ishq.
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
Buddy your 'wish' of having another Sufi rock album explains the real picture.
*Why in the world Junoon ('the sufi rock band' as their some fans claim) did not have a single sufi song in their Biggest hit 'Deewar' ???? * :D Why they felt that there is a need to come back to rock/metal ?
Or is that that ppl (not just junoonis but everyone) have more variety these days and the newage rock bands are getting so popular. So the pioneer decided to bang the market once again with some geniune hard stuff. And I must say, they are pretty much successful in it. This was a good come back for Junoon. But why not a single sufi song?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Besides, I didn't write this concert thing to see who attended more concert, but to show you that I have been Junoon's fan since their day 1 when I first heard Neend Aati Nahi and Chori Chori Aaja back in 1990, when ppl used to give crap to rock music. They were not ready for it back then. And yes, its Junoon which penetrated into the market with rock and made it popular that every dick and harry these days is picking up the guitar and coming up with band/album.
hahahaha...i ask u did u really hear parvaaz????..parvaaz was most amazing and international standards album in the history of pakistan....tht album even contained harminoum and tanpura too....tht was junoon signature album..and u r saying dewarr is the biggest hit and it does not contain any sufi element..i here ask u wht is really SUFI POETRY..did u eva read sufi poetry???....hungama and jhoolay lal contain sufi element...it is not necesaary sufi poetry will only come from sufis....yaar grow up..sayonne is the perfect example of old typical sufi lyrics and it is the biggest junoon hit..
and reason for junoon to come back to sufi element is very simple...junoon has given two non sufi albums....so junoon needs change and tht must be like parvaaz
hahahhaha listen to Jhoolay laal again
I thought it was a joke on sufiz…not appreciation. What kind of spiritual heights you touch when you listen to Jhoolay laal or laal meri pat or khoodi ko kar buland itna. You guys are seriously something else.
Yes I know sufi music and I have read and listen to it in Persian, Urdu and Punjabi, that is why I am saying this. Inspiration is good, but ruining the source of inspiration is a crime. I know that new generation doesn’t know our sufi treasure at all and Junoon prolly intent to wide spread the sufi message in new generation. But without knowing the basis and message of the sufi theme and poetry, this generation is not getting the message except simply banging the heads on Ali’s screams. I bet you 90% of the young fans do not know a single bit of ‘khoodi ko kar buland itna’ because its simple words but it touches the heights of tasswuff. Maulana Rome said once:
Oh! the crow give this (form of) life, be eagle
Surrender your soul, before the alteration of God
That is the surrender of khoodi which escalates you to the heights.
How I can escape while I have been captured,
When I become your checkmate, what else I can lose?
and then surrender becomes a bond b/w God and His creature which leads to a point where He fullfills what his friend says. ‘ke bata teri raza kiya hai’ bell rings???
khair, I won’t go in details, but I know that the message is repeated on with lead guitars and drums, but not conveyed to the kidz. Thats my own opinion. Thats why I don’t like it, besides the compositions are of C grade qawwal type.
Parvaz might be the best album technically, but I was talking about interms of sale. I am not a big fan of Deewar either. I still like the first 6 year of Junoon’s work better. It was raw and wild.