Best Make-up Brand

Thank you for pointing this out. MAC used to be WONDERFUL. However they were purchased by Estee Lauder a few years back and they've slowly been removing pigment from the products and adding more titanium dioxide. If MAC were still the way it initially was (and old school MAC artists who've gone through the transition can attest to this), I would have nothing to say about it. But it's parent company (Estee Lauder), has been raising prices and swindling people out of their money.

The point I was making (before), is that you can find better quality makeup than MAC, from better businesses, and often better prices! It's just the name brand that people are so attracted to. There's a reason so many people know this company and use so much of it-- it's now meant for mainstream use.

That's only part of why I don't use it on brides. I've done my research and there are far better products out there now!

Re: Best Make-up Brand

How come mac isn't available at Sephora? i mean they have every other brand under the sun why not this brand?

Any other Brand recommendations for good foundations in Heat, Light?

i bought Body shop's foundation.. i tested it first.. wese bhi u know khi mai kitne garmi hai.. it was very good with my skin.. n im loving it..

n for my makeup my beautician is gonna use MAC..

^ Go for it, it turns-out nice in pictures and real life!

and ur pictures were all stunning...may I add:)

im contemplating on which make up artist to use as well......if I decide on MAC, would need someone to do my hair and pin the dupatta up (a very crucial job).....

I have one issue with MAC though....for some odd reason they're lipsticks never suit--ive tried nd tries and nothing works....whereas Chanel, Estee do the trick.....Ive never seen those brands used in wedding pixx...anyone know how they look????? I understand its the application process, but sometimes certain brands (shade, textures of foundations etc) suit a person better than others...

^thanks hun :)
i got an indian stylist to do my hair, then went for my makeup, then to the hotel. the indian girl came there to fix my dupatta. infact she even helped me put on all the jewelry, did my teeka/jhoomar, helped me with shirt pinning, etc. i thought it was going to be crazy but it worked out so well, alhumdulillah. for the rest of the days, i just went to this one salon for hair and then for makeup. i have heard of a desi MUA in your area, do you want me to pm you her info?

please pm it shay--that would be so sweet of u....I know one and I booked her (because the whole world goes after her) in February--but to me her bride have sharmila tagore eyeliner and its too bright for my taste (red eyeshadow with red clothes).....pleaselet me know though...mabe its the same, maybe its diff........otherwise Ill have to go with an american make up artist:)

I used to use mainly MAC makeup and although I still use their eyeshadows - I have switched to using a variety of brands Laura Mercier (the oil free primer is the best I have ever used) and Nars in particular - I am not a professional make up artist but I am beauty junkie so like to experiment.

A lot of MUA's in the UK tend to use MAC products and quite a few start off as MAC counter girls which is in no way a bad thing but I am not really feeling MAC at the moment. Much prefer Nars for colour and Laura Mercier for foundation (find it very highly pigmented so a little goes a long way) - for my every day needs it does the trick. However finding a decent makeup artist is like finding a needle in haystack around here - don't get me wrong - loads of MUA's but the quality is not what I expect from the price they are asking.

i use a Laura Mercier foundation now too, really happy with it - you're right about them being highly pigmented. i find NARS kind of expensive for what it is, personally. and even though people rave about their blushes, they wear off quite quickly. when i buy MAC shadows i get the palette ones and they are only £7.50.
i want to try and find a brand with a bigger range of highly pigmented matte shadows than MAC have though.

Hear, hear! i sooo agree with you - i too am a makeup artist based in (B'ham, UK) and i find alot of clients tend to ask me if i use MAC makeup, which is funny as they seem to think dat the one brand (MAC) has d best cosmetic products ever, yet dat is soooo wrong ...

My sis and i work together as a team together with two mehndi artists and one thing is for sure that i dont beleive dat there is any one brand dat does good all-round cosmetic products... we have always tried n tested cosmetic products of various brands on ourselves before we actually go out n try them on clients - this is to check the colors, staying power, etc... and i have to say although i use some mac eyeshadows, im not too fond of any of their foundations (as they are way too orange, especially for asian skins) and their concealers (which are too thick n cloggy) arent any good either..

Like u MatineeSiren mentioned us make-up artists do kno wat we are doin, we r professionals and we will definetly only use d best quality of cosmetic brands to d best of our knowledge, which means its very likely that a client may not have heard of sum of d brands dat we use as they are specialist products - mainly used for the camera/photographic look which means u get a smooth finish that lasts all day...

anyway, best of luck to all brides-to-be out there!

I like this thread...didnt see it before for some reason.

Im a beauty junkie myself...Ive got more products than I know what to do with. :) Its TOO much fun!

I do have MAC makeup but I dont use it unless I need some serious coverage. Its too heavy for me in everyday use. Even though I think they are on the cakey side sometimes, I do like their eyeshadow colors. They have some nice and vibrant colors that are hard to find. It makes mixing a lot of fun.

I personally like Lancome a lot...their powders are very nice and light and the eyeshadows go on very smooth.

Ive used Christian Dior's shadows in the past...they are quite nice as well...

This being said, I have to say a professional is a professional. My best friend is a popular makeup artist here and Ive seen her work. Its amazing and the brides look so beautiful when she is done with them. After seeing results like that, I trust her with anything. If I need my make up done, I simply tell her what look I want and then I zip it. I used to try to manage the process but that just irritates her because she knows what she is doing...I dont. (she uses everything: MAC, LORAC, NARS, Laura Mercier, Lancome, Smashbox, and somethings Ive never seen/heard of before) So, I understand MatinessSiren voicing her concerns with MAC because she is from the industry and probably more knowledgable on their practices than I. She has decided to take a stand against them because of what her experience in the field has shown her. She feels its her duty to spread the word.

On a side note, makeup is a form of art from what Ive seen and art is interpreted in different ways by different people. What suits you may not suit me and thats just the way it is. It doesnt make anyone wrong or right, just unique. Shay's makeup artist is also a professional and has chosen to use their products. It doesnt mean she is any less talented, it could actually mean she is so talented she can make the product look good.

Im no makeup artist - am considering it - but I think it has to do with the product you use and the talent of the artist. Ive seen people create GORGEOUS looks with drugstore cosmetics and botch up entire jobs with YSL product. You can have amazing tools but if the person doesnt know how to use them, what good is it? On the other hand, no matter the talent, if the artist uses bad makeup it will show on the bride's big day.

Its a comibination...the artist and his brush...one is no good without the other.

Whr do u buy mac eye shadow for £7.50?

ok so all u MUA, what s the best brand for foundation for:

1. Full covarge

and

2. flawless finsih

Has any one heard of Coastal Scents eye shadow palettes? are they any gud? i was thinking of odering from them. They are based in the US. and are very cheap also there make up brushes are meant to be as gud as MAC brushes and like 70% cheaper,

MAC Pro stores. you can buy the empty palettes £4.50 for a 4-pan, £10 for a 15-pan] and then you buy the pan eye-shadows and put them in!

yeah but dont u have to have a MAC PRO CARD to shop in the pro shops?

nope. pro card is just to get a discount. all the regular and pro items are available at normal prices for anyone to buy.

ohh cool then i think im gonna go down there i think the nearest to me is covent gardens.

thnk

now all i need to do is find sme one with a MAC PRO CARD :D