Best Digital Camera

Under 300 bucks?

Please post pics with features & your personal opinion.

Thank you! :slight_smile:

Ahmadjee

Why don’t you search at google and yahoo?

I’m sure you’ll find one :slight_smile:

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

TAKE YOUR BEST SHOT AT ME

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Canon Powershot A40

This is the best one. I’ve searched all over the place, this is the best 2.1 MP sub $300 Digicam available. Click above to read an extensive review.

http://store1.yimg.com/I/genesiscamera_1691_80263

Note: This can is rated 96% by users on C|NET, in over 200 votes cast. (The site is temporarily unavilable otherwise I would have put up the link to the C|NET review.)

You can only paint with the colors you’re given…
…so get what you like and like what you have.

[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited July 06, 2002).]

try this one:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/cam2.jpg

Megapixels: 2.11 megapixels
Optical Zoom: 3 X
Digital Zoom: 2.0X
Max. Horizontal Image Resolution: 1600 pixels
Max. Vertical Image Resolution: 1200 pixels

I bought this one last year and so far its going pretty good

hmmmmmmmmmmm.. :) try not going by JUST the 'megapixel' scenario but color/brightness accuracy.. a big, sharp pic means zilch if the colors r no good, my primary reason of buying a digicam cuz scanners werent doing a VERY good and NATURAL job at it..

i would recommend pk99's choice :)

fard-e-qaayim rabt-e-guppiyon* say hay TANHA kuch nahi..
nasha gupshup main hay, bairoon-e-gupshup kuch nahi..*

ahmadjee good topic, thanks for starting. I am hunting for a digi camera myself.

Thanks Confused bhai.

Anywayz, here are somethings that the Canon A40 has that have made it so popular (this cam just came out 3 months ago!):

1. A picture quality that rivals higher Mega Pixel Cams. 3X Optical and 2x Digital Zooms with 1600x1200 max resolution.

2. Highly adjustable settings. Shutter speeds from 15 seconds to 1/1500 second... u can use the higher settings to take brilliant nightshots.

3. Variable ISO settings: 50, 100, 200, 400 and Auto (50-150) very useful to create "real" effects.

4. Can take lens attachments, a feature that only professional type cams have.

5. Connects to PAL & NTSC along with USB.

6. Has the very important feature of manual shot mode.

7. Can shoot upto approx. 2.5 images/sec in continuous shoot mode.

8. Can shoot 30 sec. videos as well.

9. Uses standard AA batteries. I recommend getting nimH rechargeable batteries.

10. U can get it will all these features for less than 300 bucks.

(Trust me ppl, I've been looking for over 6 months for the best starter cam. I have done research on ALMOST all 2 and 3 megapixels digicams out there. My second choice was Fuji Finepix 2600. But this Canon beats 'em all.)

You can only paint with the colors you're given...
...so get what you like and like what you have.

[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited July 06, 2002).]

Hey, all I can say is that the Kodak’s have an excellent Color/Brightness ratio. I have used them.

Sample?
This is a sample pic from their Driver CD:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/PCD05.JPG

Here is a sample from a Sipix Camera (one of the unbranded ones, Fuji also uses the same CCD: (This camera is really bad, as the focus never gets better than this)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/sipix.jpg

And here is a sample from an Olympus:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/olympus.jpg

Basically, the rule is that all cams from the same company have the same quality. The only difference is the Resolution and features it has.

Here’s a sample of a Canon A40 portrait… (click on the pic for full-sized image.)

http://www.powershot.com/powershot2/a40-30/images/img_0429.jpg

These are the two I have and love them… The second one is alot better cuz its got a built in CD-RW/R drive, the first one relies on stupid flash memory!!!

Id recommend the second one as the best choice for u guppies out there

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dscf707.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/dcc_p_mavica_556x305.jpg

Very nice cams Spock, but a slight bit of problem, the question was a sub 300 bucks camera... these two go for 500+ and about 800 bucks respectively.

Another few things, these cameras DO NOT have a viewfinder... pretty strange haan, only an LCD screen, u can of course add on a viewfinder, but that thing just reflects the LCD display, so it's not the "real" image and it increases the camera's dimensions tremendously. They both use SONY's proprietary batteries... I would prefer regular AA. And, these cams weigh more than double wat my Canon weighs... nearly two pounds.

You can only paint with the colors you're given...
...so get what you like and like what you have.

[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited July 07, 2002).]

Originally posted by pakistan99:
Very nice cams **Spock, but a slight bit of problem, the question was a sub 300 bucks camera... these two go for 500+ and about 800 bucks respectively.

Sorry yar, didnt realize that...

When I got the first one, it used to be 1200!!! Im lucky I got it as a gift from someone very close, or i couldnt have bought one... Now its 999 I think...

try the olympus camedia D-510 9x zoom.
its pretty decent and I bought mine last year for 260 (albet from a no name dealer). Even dropped it onto the road once and still working fine.

Very informative thread.

Pakistan99: You have got me hooked onto the Powershop A40

Sweet piece of machinery it is.

*starts to collect chawwanis from his ghullaq

¨°º¤ Ķämßáķħŧ ͧħq ¤º°¨

Thanx a bunch guys.

I have been looking for this A40 on the sites I shop at but no luck. Any insider where I can get 'em other than from the Canon's official site?

waisay pk99 how much comission do you get from canon on every sale?

(j/k)

ahmadjee, dont worry…i have checked the specs of both “Powershot A40” and “Olympus D490”, both are the same thing.

best of luck on your search

btw visit “half.com” for better deals on cameras, sometimes they have some very good deals.

Here we go again… specs might be the same but it’s extra little features that matter, like lens attachment or manual settings that really matter to me, so does a low low price and the image quality… BTW, Olympus lovers, there is no USB port on ur cam… good luck with hours using serial!!!

Anyway, at PriceGrabber, the best comparison shopping engine there is, the lowest price for the Canon as of today is $261, but if you live in NY (like me!) add 20 bucks Sales Tax on top of the 22 bucks shipping charges. But, if you search on eBay, there are deals there that include a 64MB CF Card, 4nimH batteries + charger, leather case and tripod for like 350 bucks…

And for ppl who - still, after all my tries - wanna get the other Olympus one, go find it… because I’m not wasting my time on searching for something I don’t like…

[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited July 07, 2002).]

Hum neh yeh sab camera use kiye hai..Hmmm aur sabhi apni jagha kafhee achay hai ..Lekin humhe Digital seh ziada normal camera achay laghta hai ..Kion keh un ka result kafhee achaa hota hai ....

thats what i have. its great…

http://www.powershot.com