Besan ka halwa

Can someone give me a good and tried recipe of besan ka halwa?

Re: Besan ka halwa

Get any recipe from Internet , I like the ones on cooking with bj website. modify it to your taste and liking.
From your post I understand you have all the necessary experience and skills in cooking to try anything and get it right the first time.

I have less experince and skills and I never went wrong when it comes to trying anything new.

I've made it before from a recipe on the Internet but it turned out a but hard. From the cooking with bj website.

This time add some more water or milk whatever they suggested to soften it up.

Yes sometimes their recipes do not turn out that great the first time. See an example below.
I made a special kind of chutney which is served at Hanifia in Karachi , the first time it was too hot , too much chili suggested in the recipe . I have not tried it second time but second time I will go easy on chili.

OK I'll try again.

If it turns out good this time , post the recipe and picture. I love besan ka halwa and chanay ka halwa, I use splenda . Chanay ka halwa turned out so good , it is being farmaished by friends and family , so much health consciousness going around that so many people I know are substituting splenda for sugar.

OK I will.

Splenda is so much better than other sweetners. But I have never used it in cooking. Just in chai/coffee.

Nik – Mujai invote karo!!
I want some too..
and screw splenda

use real sugar and desi ghee..
:yummy:

yes Niki, no splenda please .. I rather wont eat sweets than to eat "HEALTHY" sweets

No no, I will use real sugar and ghee baba! Mirch bhai has to be careful because of his medical needs. It's great he takes so much care.

This one time dad and I decided to make kheer on eid. Well since I don't know how to make kheer but somehow I made something close to kheer/sher khurma. Anyhow, my dad asked me to put splenda instead of sugar and it tasted horrible...atleast to me. He ate the whole thing...lol

So yeah either don't eat sweet or if you have to then use sugar and eat less.

with a nick like Mirch, dont you think he needs more of real sugar

Hmmm, never thought of that TLK, but you're right!

OK guys, I made it. Took a picture and it looks and tastes pretty OK. Will upload later.

Ingredients:
Besan 1 cup
Milk 1 cup
Sugar 3/4 cup
Elaichis 5-6 smashed
Ghee 1/2 cup
Almonds a handful, soaked and sliced

Heat ghee in a thick pan.
Now add besan and keep on stirring on low flame until the flour turns golden colour.
Then add ekaichis, milk and sugar.
Keep on stirring the mixture until the mixture turns thick. Add badam.

Here’s the picture.

^looks yummmm...!!
i once made it,don't remember where i got the recipe from,i think it was from gupshup...but the thing was that it got tooooo hard and in shape of a big lump...it was almost impossible to stir it.eventually i just had to throw it out....:(

LUSi i have used splenda a few times while making firni/kheer and i really didnt notice any difference in taste....but i guess it all about the individual taste buds...:D

i also used it once to make a cake....that was a disaster...:(

That's what happened the last time. This time it was great.

hmmmm....acha i might try this recipe then...thanks for sharing....:)