Besan ka halwa

Re: Besan ka halwa

Nikki baji, that looks yumious.

Chippy, I don't have any taste for spenda so it tasted horrible to me whereas my dad is used to splenda so I guess it didn't tasted that bad too him. Also it was made in half n hlaf and I had way too many chuwaras.....lol....
So yeah ask me to make any savory stuff, I can do that without an issue but don't ask me to make these hardcore desi sweets....lol...

Oh and this one time I made besan ka halwa and that thing was heavy as hell. My mom usually uses little milk and little water. I decided to use all milk to make it rich and it was kind of too rich, but I am sure it wasn't just milk but something else I did wrong that made it all that heavy. It was my own recipe and it was a bad recipe. lolz

my mom says besan ka halwa is suppoes to be hard, and then ur suppose to cut it up in pieces with badam on top or something...this is how her mom made it but my mom doesn't know how to make it...anyone know wat i'm talkin about?

I make it this way^ its tastes good. Here you go..

Baisan ki mithai.

Besan 1.5cup

Sugar 1.5cup

Coconut 2cups

eggs 8

ghee as needed and badam/pista for garnishing

Bhoonify the besan, beat egg and sugar in a bowl(with hand). jab khushbu aney lage add the egg/sugar mixture slowly and keep stiring. then add chopped almonds and shreded coconut. achi tara bhoon lain. bhun jaye to spread in a tray, cut into pieces or you can make balls and serve them in paper cups. serve hot/cold :)

^thanks! will try to the recipe soon Inshallah :)

it will become more tasty without eggs...

badam / pista?? .... they just annoy me in such a delicious thing n play the role of "haddi" in "Kababs"

i made this...it was sooo goood, except i can still taste the besan a lil bit...i think i didnt bhunafy enough when i added it to the ghee. it's good, cant eat to much though.

I made it again today. Let's see how it tastes...in like, 2.5 hours!

• Besan Aur Suji ka Halwa: Recipe by Zubeida Tariq

Ingredients:

Besan 2 cups
Semolina (Suji) 2 cups
Milk 1 cup
Elaichis 8 crushed
Ghee/oil 1/2 cup
Raisins 10
Almonds and pistas a handful, soaked and silvered (flaked)

For sugar syrup:
Sugar 3 cups
Water 1/2 cup

Method:

• Combine water and sugar in a pan and heat till sugar disappears. Keep the syrup aside.

• Heat ghee in a thick pan. Add elaichis.

• Now add besan and suji. Cook on a low flame while stirring continuously till it becomes golden brown.

• Add sugar syrup and raisins and cook. Add milk.

• Keep on stirring the mixture until the mixture turns thick. Add badam.

• Apply ghee on a flat tray and spread the halwa on it. Cut into pieces when cold.

Note:

• Changing the quantity of milk/water will change the consistency of the halwa. Add more to get a softer consistency.

I’ve never heard of besan ka halwa…but now that I got a huge bag of besan i’m gonna experiment…its just that the amount of calories in this makes me :bummer:

Channa ki daal ka halwa is better than besan ka halwa. And it is very easy to cook. Boil the daal, mash it and fry it with sugar and bari illachi!

iwill try this:hmmm:

It’s very yummy, a must have for ramadan :snooty: