Benazir Bhutto backs Musharraf's decision.

Mashallah. All she has to do now is put the dots on the i’s and cross the t’s for a power sharing deal with President Musharaf.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/07/13/wpak413.xml

Benazir Bhutto, the self-exiled opposition leader, yesterday backed the storming of the Red Mosque, saying the operation had “drawn a line in the sand” and ended a “policy of appeasement” towards terrorists.

In words that will play well in Washington, Ms Bhutto told The Daily Telegraph: "It was an unfortunate incident but I am grateful there was no policy of appeasement.

“It is the end of ambiguous policies towards terrorism, which have encouraged militants.”

Ms Bhutto called for a “post-mortem” of the operation, meaning that further radical strongholds should be investigated.

“How was this madrassa able to develop in that way? There must have been some collusion [with the government],” she said.

The political prospects of Ms Bhutto, who has said she planned to return to Pakistan to re-enter the political fray, have been revived by a burgeoning opposition to military rule in Pakistan.

America wishes to see her political party, which has broad support in Pakistan, take a prominent role in government after elections scheduled for later this year.

Ms Bhutto did not rule out a political deal being made with President Pervez Musharraf, but said that negotiations were “in a log-jam”.

She detailed various bones of contention, such as the establishment of an impartial election commission and the abolishment of local councils mainly controlled by her political rivals.

In her most explicit statement to date on a possible deal with Gen Musharraf, she said: “We are saying that a power-sharing agreement is a subsequent issue. First we must resolve the nature of the elections.” Ms Bhutto has been emboldened by recent comments from America’s State Department, saying that the US expected Gen Musharraf to hold free and fair elections.

The first woman to lead a modern Muslim state, Ms Bhutto became prime minister at the age of 35 in 1988 and was dismissed twice amid allegations of corruption, which she denied. She now lives in exile in London and Dubai and, in the past, Gen Musharraf has promised to arrest her if she sets foot in Pakistan.

Speaking before the mosque was stormed, Ms Bhutto told the Telegraph that parts of Pakistan had already “fallen” to a brand of radicalism which she called “Talibanisation”.

“I will re-establish the writ of the state and tackle extremism whereas elements of Gen Musharraf’s government have actually supported militancy,” she said.

However, she preferred to brush under the historical carpet her government’s early support for the Taliban. “We recognise now that it was a mistake,” she said.

Re: Benazir Bhutto backs Musharraf's decision.

Pakistan's next President.....Mauhtrima Benazir Bhutto jhinen America ka aashirwaad bhi haasil hai.

Point being?

She has always been against the fundo's. Al-Qaeda tried to kill her long before most Westerner's knew what Al-Qaeda was

If a deal is being struck... my gut feel is that Benazir will be back in as Prime Minister under a continued Musharraf Presidency.

The Lal Masjid events have accomplished the separation of the PPP from the ARD. A PPP/PML-Q alliance alone would control over 50% of the National Assembly and Senate. Add into that the MQM and any minor parties that join such a coalition and you have a controlling stake.

Meaning Musharraf and Benazir would be able to take decisive action in any area without having to worry about legislative bodies watering down ideas.

Hopefully they won't abuse it like Nawaz Sharif did, and they will use it to crack down harshly on religious extremism of all kinds.

Alhamdulilallah.

Great news. Pakistan needs a strong govt. to confront and kill these fanatic idiots who are giving pakistan and islam a bad name.

BB statement part I- Mullah terror bad very bad.
BB statement part II - Army colluding with Mullahs
BB statement part III (implied)- Gimme Gimme Gimme, the PMship of Pakistan.

Part I - Good! Every darn politiko should stand up and be counted by opposing Mullahtic terror

Part II - If army was colluding, then Mullus won't be killing so many troopers, rangers, and FC men. So BB is bad and very wrong on this.

Part III - No BB we don't want your antics the third time around. We had a taste of your corruption 2 times by you and one time by your Daddy. That's enough even for us "sakhi" (generous) people.

Funny how BB can claim her innocence while PPP was born and bread by terror. Who can forget Dulai camp, FSF goons, killing and kidnapping of opposition etc.
Who can forget hijacking of PIA plane by the PPP Commie goons who killed an innocent Pak army officer. Then they all got other terrorists out of jails and went to the Commie Jannat called Syria. PPP and BB only stopped when MRD was put to Bullet by the army.

So yes BB, forget about your dark terrorist past and give us all lectures. Sad truly Sad!

What's good for Pakistan is what matters more than personalities. You don't have to particularly like your leaders, but if they have the right policies then we should support them. At this moment in time it is more important for Pakistan to finally rid ourselves of extremists whose life goal seems to be hating Shia's and the minorities, keeping women down, and all round terrorism at the behest of their foreign masters. These must burka clad maulvi's must be eradicated!

Aalsi, are you up for some position in the new Musharrafaf-BB setupp? :D

Re: Benazir Bhutto backs Musharraf’s decision.

If that is the case, then why is that your army appointed maulana fazur rehman khalil for negotiations in lal masjid talks??..a person who has been declared a terrorist by US state department.:hoonh:

links to them..

Sardar Ji, that was proven wrong when Mullus refused to release the so-called hostages. And the army action proved that no Mullu was allowed to interfere.

However the idea of using any Mullah however bad to get the kids and women out wasn’t bad. What if Sant Bhindranwalay had claimed that he had 1000’s of women and children made hostage in the Golden temple. Won’t you try every possible avenue before going in?

Mullus off course lied about mass graves of women and 1000’s women hostages. It was proven later. And we paid so dearly for those lies.

p.s. I am assuming you are a Sikh Singh and not a Gujrati Singh. My example still stands by the way.

But whatever, atleast mushy did something (for whatever reasons it might be)

Discussions are at a delicate stage. :)

I would never like to encounter anything like that. and I will not go for it when there are other avenues/people available to negotiate. Couldn't ur army find anyone else?....

P.S...i am not a sikh singh.....

They did. Man it was a long process where every Tom Dick and harry including Imam Kaaba was brought in. Anyone who could possibly communicate with the J.R. Mullah Ghazi was given a chance.

p.s. so you are not an Asli Singh then. It is OK a Singh is a Singh.

Unfortunately thats what we are going to face, 3rd sequel of BB circus, thats what Musharraf is sowing in the ground for us while bear fruit (poisonous one at that) next year.

Bynazeer is a w--re

I watch and wait silently as pro-Mush gang takes a u-turn and grasps PPP in a bear hug. Musharraf has already forgiven her for all the corruption already. Only a matter of time before his supporter forgive and forget too. :chai:

I am not sure if BB would be the PM. I think she'll play the role that Shujat plays these days. Makhdoom is more likely the next PM. I am hoping PPP fares better this time and the increased access to information we have these days will prevent the party from being openly corrupt and be proud about it.

Pakistan needs at least another five to ten years of continued economic development. Who cares who the PM is, as long Musharaf is at the helm and pulling all the strings and continuing with his reforms. :jhanda: