Being Married - better than you expected, or worse???

In light of the recent threads apparently about girls desperately wanting to get married, I would like to invite already married people to share their experiences of how married life is when the honeymoon period wears off. (aka REAL LIFE).

To those of you who are married, has it been a better experience than you anticipated, or worse?

Some people go into it with high expectations, only to be let down. Some people go into it with low expectations, only to be pleasantly surprised. Some people have no expectations at all, just wait and see how it turns out.

How has it turned out for you?

Re: Being Married - better than you expected, or worse???

turned out well for me … I was extremely nervous , but I had learnt my lesson of going in a marriage with low expectations and going with the flow most of the time … so yeah , alhum, all is well so far and I do find myself often wondering why i didnt get married before :cb:

I could not ask for more. I got married to love of my life. We celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary yesterday. Alhumdulillah we never had an argument about anything. We did everything with consensus and we are living happily ever after.

^ awwww :@:

^ boring

:eek:

isnt this an exaggeration? or is it?

Mirch happy anniversary mate :hugz: … May you have many many more of those in the coming years inshallah.

I have no reason to exaggerate things where nobody knows me , personaly.

Thank you very much for your good wishes. Ameen to your prayer.

wow then I mean WOW … you guys are couple of a kind Mashallah :k:

first yr of marriage. i thought i was better off not married

then things changed and now i dont even remember my single life. its THAT good.

I don't look back

Just very tiring.

same as mirch I got married with my love of life ...:) so what can i expect more where already so much i had been given by Allah.......
JAZAKALLAH...happy happy happy mashAllah...:)

wow not one argument. thts amazing. me n my boyfriend argue 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times a day.

slight exaggerating

yeah i am sure number is

^^ (@mixedbeauty) thats coz he'z ur boyfriend. he'd learn to keep shut once married :p

personally ... being married is a whole lot different, a whole lot better than being single for me. I luv the fact that there is some one who looks up to me to be luved , and cared for adn some one who has been there seeing me thru bad patches.

Definitely better.
NO.. i didn't get married to any love .. lol.. mine was an arranged marriage.. We do argue .. i start it mostly and husband ends it..
Ours is a wonderful married life. When we do argue, we realize even more.. or at least I do.. what an amazing husband I have. lol.. He says sorry even when its not his fault.
He and his family both are just wonderful awesome people.

Arranged marriage, first year was both really good and at times really bad but we got through it and now i dont even remember my single life anymore, Alhamd. By the way, all marriages goes through rough patches, i think its all normal.

i also had an arranged marriage. i went in with an open mind and reasonable expectations. the first year was very tough because he was studying for his USMLE exams and extremely stressed, and i was working to support us (it was my FIRST job ever so i was stressed alot too) so it affected our relationship a little in terms of not being on the same page all of the time and not knowing how to communicate openly and thoroughly. Alhum now things are much better and our understanding is much deeper. it just takes
time for a marriage to run its natural course...one just has to learn to be patient, have an open mind to the dramatic change in their life and have realistic expectations.

now i look back and admit i wouldnt have changed Anything. mashAllah we grew together and closer because of the tough times we spent in the beginning and it was well worth it!

Better :alhamd: