Re: Being killed for marrying a christian man and leaving Islam
Key word being misinterpretation. I saw it in that way as well. Perhaps things got lost in translation. I actually see discussion and clarification of this a good thing for ALL. I have not read all comments in detail but I did not see you generalise about religion. Any religion for that matter but as a misinterpretation. I saw the reference..may be it was on the relationships thread. waise hindus nepal, sri lanka, indonesia main bhi hote hain. All cultures in all countries are not the same..nothing to do with religion. In some Muslim as well Hindu cultures in subcontinent/asia the groom lives with the wife’s family. So it’s not all homogenous.. generalising can never be accurate. There are some issues with desi mindset in regards to women which is not related to religion or even culture. We’re diverse people. To say stereotypes about Pakistanis, Indians, Muslims, Hindus do not or will never affect all desis is incorrect. The lady who pushed Mr Sen onto the train tracks didn’t know much about his religion or religious differences. She wasn’t even white she was hispanic. This is in NY a diverse place. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/30/nyregion/woman-is-held-in-death-of-man-pushed-onto-subway-tracks-in-queens.html?_r=0
To credit of mods they edited out the reference to me being indian and hindu as a reason for not interfering. Nowhere did i mention my religion. It was not even related and neither is being Indian relevant to this Sudan based article. If there are disagreements about religious matters it is better for it to be discussed. An Indian just like a Pakistani can be Muslim, Hindu, Sikh, Jain, Parsi, Buddhist.
PS. You should look up the Kalash people in Pakistan. Amazing tribe in Pakistan who have been around for many centuries. Some of my non Pakistani friends are fascinated by them.
Don’t take Mr Jatt’s comments to heart. Log yahan dil ke acche hain bas baat mein misunderstanding ho jaati hai. As long as communication occurs that’s important.