people you are moving away from the origonal question. i dont want to know whether “ek larka aur larki achay dost ho saktay hain ke nahi?”,its how important is it to have a guy pal?
I am much comfortable with my girl buddies because they r just nice enough to hear the gayest details on anything .On the other hand guy pals are capable of some nice advice , they are actually wise. But u certainly need to watch on how much u share and what you share
I wont deny that it becomes difficult for such people but eventually something they have wl overcome their lack of attractiveness in physical appearance. Who would say that srk is attractive?:halo: But people love him for his charisma and that completely overshadows his lack of good looks.
It is really beneficial if you have a friend from opposite gender because it gives you perspective from the other opposite gender and as a result you grow as a person. You get to know perspectives (of course they can vary from person to person) but still its considered quite an important part to your growth in such a heterogeneous society.
I believe it is okay for colleagues and students who share work of different genders to mix in formal settings. They should avoid being alone together and if they are then to make sure it is not in a private location. Sometimes people ask about advice or I speak about religion and in those settings one must be on their best behaviour so as not to send the wrong signals.
It is not possible for deep friendships to develop with the opposite sex without it becoming problematic. Even if there are no "feelings" then things like bad habits and exposure of personal information can be bad. In the long run if someone other than your spouse knows more about you than him or her then that can backfire too.
Its good to have guys friends if both keep themselves in their limits. People can know the perspectives of the opposite gender and they know how to carry themselves with the opposite gender which can be helpful in daily life. Friendship with opposite gender enables a person to know how the people from opposite gender think and behave. Guys can talk on a variety of topics whereas majority of the girls would just like to do khich khich on MILs, SILs, family politics, dresses, fashion etc.
Being friends with opposite gender can be a test because a person needs to know his/ her limits and do not corss it (if he/ she does not want to engage in anything more than the friendship). So there is a very fine line between friendship and love interest between two persons of opposite gender and they can themselves confuse this along with the society and people around. Both or any one of them can choose to be 'more than just friends' any moment which can then create problems if its one sided love. So people should be careful when they are friends with the opposite gender because of the possible problems in the future, either between themselves, or because of their friendship (like spouse getting jealous of their very open friendship etc).
This forum is a potent example of male and female friendship whilst maintaining the very important barrier whether it is physical or plutonic ... I can guess the few people who have met up would have done so under the premise of 'hopes' other than mere friendship. Some people look for 'good looking' friends as well ... and they assess or 'rate' their friends for attractiveness ... when this happens the line is already being crossed even if the intent of 'rating' them is purely for academic reasons ... LOL
Honestly...very rarely are male and female friendships exclusive of flirtation and an undertone of something more than platonic feelings. One gets more 'kick' out of spending time with a friend of the opposite sex. How many of us here can say we behave exactly the same with our male vs female friends (and no, I'm obviously not talking about discussing periods and things like that.)
We are just wired to impress and receive attention.
Honestly...very rarely are male and female friendships exclusive of flirtation and an undertone of something more than platonic feelings. One gets more 'kick' out of spending time with a friend of the opposite sex. How many of us here can say we behave exactly the same with our male vs female friends (and no, I'm obviously not talking about discussing periods and things like that.)
We are just wired to impress and receive attention.
Thats why I said there is a very fine line between friendship and love interest between two persons of opposite gende.
Being a girl, I know girls can start taking guys seriously like 'oh may be he has started liking me' etc. Therefore, there should be much control on both sides if this should remain as a friendship only and should not become more than that. Because for love interest, there should be friendship first, there is a lot of potential for love interest in any friendship between people of opposite gender.
Friendship is possible of course but I don't buy the being 'best friends' part. You can be good friends with a girl but you can't really have the same sort of friendship that you'd have with a langotiya yaar.