Beijing Olympic flame arrives in Pakistani capital

lantern which holds the Olympic flame!

news

ISLAMABAD, April 16 (Xinhua) – The Beijing Olympic flame arrived in Pakistani capital Islamabad at 0:25 local time (1925GMT) for the 10th leg of its global tour.

The Olympic flame, carried in a specially-designed lantern, wasflied to Islamabad on a chartered plane from Muscat, the capital and largest city of the Sultanate of Oman.

Upon arrival, the Olympic flame and the whole delegation were welcomed by a cheering crowd, among whom are President of Pakistan Olympic Association (POA) Arif Hassan, Pakistan's Sports Minister Muhammad Asif and Chairman of Capital Development Authority KamranLashari as well as Chinese Ambassador to Pakistan Luo Zhaohui.

The flame delegation is headed by Jiang Xiaoyu, vice president of the Beijing Organizing Committee of Olympic Games (BOCOG), who carried the flame lantern.

The POA president said he has got "great feelings" after offering a bunch of flowers to Jiang.

The Olympic torch relay, the first time for Islamabad, will start on Wednesday afternoon in southeast Islamabad's Pakistan Sports Complex, a sports project constructed in mid-1980s with assistance from China.

Local media said Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf and Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gillani are likely to attend the torch relay ceremony. There are 65 torch bearers in the relay, including 10 women.

Following the stop of Islamabad, the Olympic torch relay will go to New Delhi of India.

Re: Beijing Olympic flame arrives in Pakistani capital

The reason its in a lantern is coz protestors in England and France managed to extinguish the naked flame in the original torch that was chosen. This way its water proof.

On a side note its nice to c China once again looking out for us. Like General saab once said China is our brother.

pakistan main bijli ki aik shama :hinna:

haha…:rotfl:

bush is also going to olympics :faizy:

and ya general saab also need brother :smiley:

well its lantern because if ppl saw someone runnign with an open torch they woud think that its another KFC burning day.

KFC wahid cheez nahi jali pakistan main

ghar, garian, loug bhi hain pakistan main jo jal chukay hain. ya sirf app ko ameriki babay ki he fiker hai :)

i like the honey bbq wings.

They had a very nice ceremony with both the President and Prime Minister speaking.. good to see a festive, friendly, and well done event in Pakistan. It's been a while :)

X2 app ki prediction ghalet sabit ho gayee :smiley:

http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20080416/capt.2ba932f9538146e3b2d8badf0482fcf5.pakistan_olympic_torch_xan104.jpg?x=400&y=280&sig=oX2yGhiGphn1TGUtx3FWRA--

ps. btw yahan per mullah say zayda Tibetans ka dur tha.

lol. you sounds like as if they are one happy family :cb:

If I were in pakistan I would have gone to watch olympics :(
It would be fun to watch pakistanis boxer getting their A$$ kicked in first round in first bout hahaha

But i think only medal we win in Olympics is in boxing ... isn't it ??

or was it asian games ... i m not sure ... but we do win in hockey ... once in a while :D

ya in 1992 pak was champion in everything…cricket, field hockey, snooker, squash, lets say boxing as well :hehe:

lol. why dont you go and represent pakistan, and now gupistan :D

so who/wht are they going to burn down this time with this flame? :chai:

Pakistani boxing is one of the few areas Pak performs well in.

They are mostly toughs from Lyari

hahahah Fobia. That was funny specially looking at knocky bhai's nick here.

Mom-batti lay kay q nee bhagtay yeh log ?

Not well enough. Yes boxers from lyari rare real good. Quetta is second followwed by lahore.
Well I would say army produced most boxers but They are very orthodox not fun to watch. Easy to box with.

Its long sad story.

We only have one silver in Olympic. Our boxers are very couragious but the don't have enough strength to fight gora kala boxers.
We even get our a$$ kicked from qazq-uzbek-tajic boxers.
Mostly home town coaches still think weight training as a taboo for a boxer.
You wont believe it but most of the boxing gyms in pakistan don't have proper punching bags!!!!!!!!
WHEN WORLDS BEST PUNCHING BAGS ARE MADE IN SIALKOT.
That one factor alone cause them a compromised punch. Their punches are just not strong enough.

As I said Army do get some what half decent punching bags. There boxers are more conditioned because of army training. But they seriously lack versatility.

tell us ur story...cuz if not u might be someone else here gonna be motivated :)