Beggars

whats the deal with them? this is like total emotional blackmail going on all over the country…needs to be banned big time

they come up with this vile two thronged approach that leaves u with no option but to succumb to their begging

partly aimed at provoking ur sympathy: baji maazoor hoon bhooki/a hoon beemaar hoon bacha beemar hay dawai k lyay paisay nai haen… do dino se roti nai khai..
if u offer them khana khila doon then they dont wana eat..if u tell them jawan aurat / aadmi ho koi kaam kyun nai karte mere ghar aa k nokri karni hae? they act like they dint hear u…the worst is baaji Allah ne itna dya hay ham ghareebon ko bhee thora de do…

and then the other tactic is : lines like : baji Allah tere maan baap ko lambi umar de seht de, bhaion kee seht ka sadka de ja, Allah teri sari dili muradein poori karay, tu sada suhagan rahay tere bachon ko Allah seht de, tujhay Makka Madina dekhna naseeb ho..Allah kabhee koi dukh na de…

if someone throws such lines at u u r bound to fall for them…and not just that they put so much emotion in their voice and are sooo persistent

i always try to kill the urge to give them anything but then if they r too persistent, and when they put that pleading emotion in their voice .. i think irem u must be really cold hearted, this person is like begging n begging n u dont wana budge and 5 10 rupees wont make a difference

my dad never likes it when mummy or i give money to beggars

yesterday night i got conned big time and everytime i think abt it i wana go and drown and kick myself for being soooooooooooo stupid

this guy was selling ummm naaRay and i dint want any but he was just following us around in the market and then almost started crying!!! a grown man almost crying!! so i was like ok i’ll get one and i justified it to myself saying atleast he’s selling something n not begging, and then he said baji its for 60 … its supposed to be for 20 so i already was like huh? but i dint say anything n i gave him a 100 ka note and said k 40 waapas karo bhai…he is like baji do packet le lo and refused to give money back… i got a bit ticked off and i was like dekhein ji mujhay aik hi lena hay aap 40 waapas kar deyn ..he refused n i was like theek hay ji phir ye apna saman wapas le leyn mujhay 100 pooray wapas kar deyn…and then he got on his knees in the middle of the market … i was stunned!!! he’s like baji mein boht ghareeb hoon yakeen karo mein boht zaroort mand hoon ghareeb samaj k de do… i was thinking yikes shoot maybe he really is needy so i was like ok jao baba le lo aur jao…

and i forgot abt it UNTIL i saw him doing the exact same drama with another lady in a car, doing the same pleading voice and all

i was thinking wth…i cant believe it..have these ppl lost all their shame? this is like suchhh blatant beghairti and farayb

i refuse to believe that there are not any other options avlbl for these ppl to earn haq halal kee rozi other than begging..? fine he was selling somethign but he was actually begging…and thats just…i dono…shameless!!!

Bhookay paiT aur khaali paiT kee soch maiN zameen aasmaan kaa farq hotaa hai :)

Thats their 'job'. They all have 'earning targets' for each day because they also have to pay the guy who 'owns' the spot and who has 'allowed' them on that sidewalk. They will do whatever it takes to make you give them some money. Begging, crying, touching.... everything goes.

... And that you pay them after a few minutes of hesitation, makes the circle go on.

Its life. They are part of it. You are part of it. :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

... And that you pay them after a few minutes of hesitation, makes the circle go on.

true Faisal bhai but if i dont then somebody else will anyway and i'll get guilt pangs for being so "heartless" that they were begging and begging and i couldnt giev them 5 or 10 rupees
but its NOT abt the money!! its just, this whole concept of begging is soooo wrong

i reckon our govt shud ban begging, its sooo wrong

hmmm :S Yaar, Irem, i dunno.

Some of them may have a legitimate reason, don’t you think? i mean… who knows what circumstances exist that have forced them to do this. i’m sure it’s not what they would want to do… no one wants to spread their hands infront of someone else. But parents do it for their kids, kids do it for their parents, etc.

i don’t know. Not all beggars are saints. Not all, though, are entirely out to deceive either. i THINK…i could be wrong. i remember once, at this Friday bazaar in Isl., i was standing next to the apples cart i think…and i felt someone tug my hair from the back. i got so mad, i thought it was some pervert. So i turned around with an angry look, and it was this little kid - so little, literally. My hair was long, so he could pull it easily, but he was so young. He said, “Baji mujhe bahaut bhook lagi hai.” i could have died on the spot. i wished i had. i felt so bad. i was there buying luxury food items, and he’s there begging for survival food items.

i don’t know. Allah behtar jaanta hai who’s lying and who’s not. But i’d give them the benefit of the doubt. If i am wrong 99 times out of a 100, oh well so be it. Better to be wrong than to have thought that the beggar was lying when s/he wasn’t. :S Nai, yaar ? i mean… i dunno. Who’s to say.. No one would willingly be in that situation.

Why do i think i have read somewhere that the duas of beggars are granted ? i could be wrong.

Anyways… just wanted to share my measly two cents’ worth. :smiley: :flower1:

*Originally posted by irem: *

i reckon our govt shud ban begging, its sooo wrong
and should start creating jobs for lower class citizens as well and start bait-ul-maal and start giving wazaaif to the needy.. yes they should do it.

Govt bans them every now and then... but as long as there are people who are willing to give them money these people will return to these spots to collect that money. As I said, this is their 'job'. They don't have any self-respect left, so that is hardly a consideration. They will nag you as much as they can to get that five ruppee banknote. Its a cycle of need.

The truly best way to end this problem is for the government or other charity organizations to set up welfare nets for truly deserving people. People should stop giving them alms. And then police round them up any of them who are still roaming the streets begging.

Many of these same begger groups are involved in all kinds of crimes, and in many cases have 'protection' of police and political high-ups. So, none of them will allow any meaningful action to be taken against them.

No need to fall for their dramas.

I remember watching a talk show on ARY Digital called Hadiqa's talkshow (or something like that). She had some people there who knew a lot about beggars. They said most of the scars and wounds aren't even real. It is all makeup/artificial (ie. you can easily peel off such scars and wounds).

The guy also mentioned how some beggar bought a gate outside some threatre in Karachi for around Rs. 300,000.

Besides, these beggars don't accept Rs. 5-10. They want Rs. 50+. Then try giving it one, you'll have ten more in line begging.

If they are in need for real and are asking for food or medicine, then I'm sure they wouldn't object if you purchase them medicines or food. If they persist on recieving money then don't bother.

There r people who need to beg, and yes there are people who do it professionally, and it is so hard to tell the difference, not to forget, the beggers are so embedded into our culture that we as people have become quite desensitized by their pleas n requests, however i think we dont know if they r faking it or not, but if we have the money to help, we should. Yes we might be enabling the Fake beggers but then again, we might just end up helping someone who really needs the money. CHildren and women are forced into begging many against their will and if these kids dont come home with money. they r punished. Those who r begging professionally or those who really need it, are doin it for food, and ager 500 rupee bhi woh log bana latay hai eik din main, ghar phir bhi uunbecharon ka faqon se hi chalta hai, its not enuf...
Dont be so hard on urself yaar, ALLAH tumhe is ka ajar dega

Q. When do Pakistani beggers announce their eid?
A. When Nadia_H and irem are roaming the sidewalks. Ballay ballay!!! :-D

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
i don't know. Allah behtar jaanta hai who's lying and who's not. But i'd give them the benefit of the doubt.

Why do i think i have read somewhere that the duas of beggars are granted ?

man.. this thread has just made me depressed

i actually feel terribly sorry for that man selling the narray..

poverty makes u do things u'd never think of doing :(

i mean, imagine the man as a kid.. would he ever have thought he'd be living life by begging? even if it was for his ownself.. or someone else

yeah its drama.. but very sad

:hoonh: Bery funny, Faisal Bhai :hoonh: Bery bery funny :stuck_out_tongue:

Nadia yaar u r right abt the 99/100 thing. and yes these lil kids look so cute and ur heart just melts and then u wana give them money n if u dont u feel like a witch BUT begging is the wrong way yaar. fine, i'll give them money today and relieve my guilt and they'll eat a meal, but are they gona continue like this forever? and what psyche are they developing? argh this is such a vicious cycle...i've grown up with beggars and i still havent gotten desensitised to their pleadings, and i give them money, but deep down i know this is not the right thing to do

AQ i've come to realise that there's lots and lots of jobs but some of these ppl just dont want to work...and yes this is true

Faisal bhai trust me so much has been done abt them but they keep returning. and u know, beggars can go to Edhi, why dont they? coz they earn way too much begging and its ppl like us who r behind the success of these pathetic begging rings

Bhayee, naraaz na hooN… baat ye hai ke itna naram dil hai aap dono ka… Allah rehm karay. Har sob-story pe purse khol ke baith jateeN hein. Aap tau iss tarah apni saari haq halaal ki kamayee luta dein gi :bummer:

*Originally posted by irem: *

AQ i've come to realise that there's lots and lots of jobs but some of these ppl just dont want to work...and yes this is true

Grass is always green from the other side.

You are right. There are people who just don't wanna work but the most jobs if not all you have realized are there are those which these people dun have the resources to get (e.g. bribe, parchi, jaan pehchaan etc.) :)

Right on! :hehe:

Don’t forget shopkeepers :stuck_out_tongue:

Faisal bhai i dont. i get atleast 10 beggars coming to my car window every day from the rides to and back from work from clifton to shahrah-e-faysal.. and i’m sure you know the situation. sometimes its even more than 10. but i only seldomly give anything only when i get this strong urge to do so that i do.. otherwise i usually try to ignore the beggars and just say maaf karo baba/bibi. but when i do i dont like myself for giving them money coz i know i gave it just under a torrent of emotion and i hate giving into emotions but it does relieve me of the guilt that i’d get otherwise.

sadzzz i dont have any sympathies for beggars yaar…fine, MAYBE 1% are REALLY needy, but the rest are just taking the easy way out

Devilicious u r right abt the handicapped ppl who r made to beg…true, they really are maybe the only genuine cases…
the govt shud do something abt this category

Sadiyah totally :k:

*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
Grass is always green from the other side.

You are right. There are people who just don't wanna work but the most jobs if not all you have realized are there are those which these people dun have the resources to get (e.g. bribe, parchi, jaan pehchaan etc.) :)

thats simply not true. :) its a gross misconception.

irem.. i do.. i have sympathy for them

no one wants to be born into a life like that... and even if its by choice, its quite sad

nah dude :wink: i’m becoming a pro at bargaining!!! i went shopping today and did some hard core bargaining :smooth: these five shawls that were for 2900 originally, i bought em for 1500…!!!