*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
irem.. i do.. i have sympathy for them
no one wants to be born into a life like that... and even if its by choice, its quite sad
sadzzz, not everyone is in a sorry situation in life coz of fate or circumstances yaar. some of us are like that because of our choices in life, our choices to be lazy and not work hard being one of them.
*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
yeah baycaharouN kay paas parchi jo naheeN hoti...:D excuse hee tau karaiN gey...
I am sure u know better than me being physically there :)
I hope I am wrong and u are right.
Your wish is granted. You are wrong !!!
There are lots and lots of poor people who dont beg.
-Ever seen people who live in jhuggis and they have a donkey cart and they go house to house and collect garbage. These people are lot more poor then avg. begger in city.( some beggers are guite rich actually)
-There are Afghan boys and men who have this huge sack on there back and they roam around in city and pick papers and kachra and then in evening they sell is for mere 50, 60 rupees. Their physical appearance will tell you that they are really poor. Most of them wear worn out shoes and torn cloths. *But they dont beg * Instead they earn it. no matter how insufficient it is.
I have a lot of respect for these kind of people. I always try to give all my alms to any such person, so that I dont feel any urge to give money to begger.
There are lots and lots of poor people who dont beg.
-Ever seen people who live in jhuggis and they have a donkey cart and they go house to house and collect garbage. These people are lot more poor then avg. begger in city.( some beggers are guite rich actually)
-There are Afghan boys and men who have this huge sack on there back and they roam around in city and pick papers and kachra and then in evening they sell is for mere 50, 60 rupees. Their physical appearance will tell you that they are really poor. Most of them wear worn out shoes and torn cloths. *But they dont beg * Instead they earn it. no matter how insufficient it is.
I have a lot of respect for these kind of people. I always try to give all my alms to any such person, so that I dont feel any urge to give money to begger.
You have totally taken the point at hand in wrong direction:)
This thread is very much in line with my own experiences when I went to Pakistan.
January 2002:
My Ammi and I are at Anarkali (Lahore) for some shopping. This guy comes up to us, holding little tasbees and Hadith books. I didn´t really bother, because I somehow felt that the guy is not geniune. He was like: "Mai bohot beemaar hoon, maine apna operation karwaana hai, doctors bohot paise maang rahe hain." Even if he would have been ill, it was not obvious at all, as he looked perfectly alright. But my mum is like just like Nadia "Baichaara ghareeb hai, us ko thora bohot daidoongi to kya ho jaae ga?"
That guy had quite a unique face, which was easy to remember.
December 2003:
My wife and I are having a coffee at Liberty (Lahore). And believe it or not: EXACTLY the same person approaches my car and repeats absolutely the same words, the same face expression, the same gestures, the same style that he used almost 2 years ago.
My wife however had never seen him and wanted to give 20 Rupees to the guy, when I said: "Tumhaara to do saal pehle bhi operation hone waala tha. Us ka kya banna?" Hearing this his face expression immediately changed to a quite scared one. He then just walked away without a word.
I have nothing meaningful to add to the thread since the original post scared me to death. Dang irem, itni lambi post??tumnay to record hi torr dia!
jsut had to butt in
i know wat ur talking abt … ..
same thing happned wid me when i was in pak…i met a lady who was crying she had a lil baby , she told me that he s sick n i need his medicine n i need 1oo+ rupes n my couisns told me that she is liar n she said i sware on Quran m not liar ..ok i gave her 200 n after some time i saw her infront of other car asking for money:eek:… it was just wrong ..how could someone lie on the name of quran …
but still i feel bad for em …its soo sad to see ppl like em :(…
When I was in Lahore this year, my cousin was telling me that most of the beggars are con artists and are on the pay roll of the maafia. dunno how true that is..My experience with a beggar was at Fortress stadium, with my cousin and his friends, and this little boy was asking us for money and kept following us, so as a joke on me they pointed at me and said to him, Too’n utthe jaa, uh ameerika to’n aa’i’ee finally he went away, b/c i dont think he believed them
I've heard that too 50-B. One of my relatives is a police officer in Karachi. All these beggars would literally chase us and he would tell me not to give them anything cause they are hired, working for the mob and they don't get to keep the money themselves.
I think i've mentioned this before but one girl I saw begging us for money and I didn't give her any. She walked away with her elder who was cursing us and saying all sorts of nonsense. Anyway, about half an hour later, we went to this shop in a side street where we saw the same girl with sooooooooo many 100 and 500 rupee notes all in her lap and she was counting them, sorting them out into bills. So when my mother asked her why she was begging for money she just started giggling.
It is emotional blackmail. We were there during Ramadan so everywhere we went we had to hear, "we don't have enough money to buy food for iftar" or "I have kids at home and I can't feed them", etc. Quite a few times, they would try and sell us a tazbee or small book of duas and would hound us until we gave them money. Even then, they would just take the money and not give us the tazbee!