In Pakistan, we used to call them Pattis. I know you can make them at home too. There is that flaky frozen sheets one can buy in a regular grocery store…what is it called? Also, what spices and herbs go into qeema?
help please…weekend aanay wala hay
In Pakistan, we used to call them Pattis. I know you can make them at home too. There is that flaky frozen sheets one can buy in a regular grocery store…what is it called? Also, what spices and herbs go into qeema?
help please…weekend aanay wala hay
Re: Beef Patties at home
buy the Puff Pastry sheets by peppridge farm. Leave them out for about 5 minutes to thaw
I cut one long sheet into around 4-5 pieces and then bake them until they are golden brown. So from one packet I get around 25+ pattis
If you want you can glaze them with egg yolk and sesame seeds.
If you are inviting non-desis here is a simple recipe I use for "filler" for the pattiss:
If you want to try an alternative to the beef. The above is quite yummy and my pattis are usually gone in minutes :(
Oh funguy !! I made the best chicken patties (the nimco store wala)
It was great. Just shread some boiled chicken (in processor), add the following :-
salt, pepper, chilli sauce, soya sauce, fresh dhania, podina and mix well. I also added a little cream cheese to make them a little soft.
The pepperidge farm wraps are perfect. Most supermarket freezer sections carry those.
Fill em up. Seal them with water and stick a fork on the edges for a clean seal.
Egg yolk on the outer layers. In the oven for 20 minutes. VOILA !!!!!!
PAKISTAN WALI PATTIES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) I guarantee you will not be disappointed ;)
Both you ladies are fantastic! Thank you. These recipes sound so easy and delicious. I will try this weekend.
and if you want to make with keema just make the keema with your regular spices(salt, coriander powder, (red,green, or blk peper whichever you prefer) ginger garlic paste), add tomato puree at the time of bhonafying it, add finely chopped onions(like for omellet) at dum and fill them as mentioned above.
ditto to wat everyone else said : use the frozen puff pastry sheets. IF you want to use keema filling, cook it like you would normally. I add lotsa zeera and crushed adrak. Also a few sprinkles of italian seasoning can do wonders.
Let us know how they turn out :)
Diva - you do the same thing I do lol! awesome!! I love those patties man! Are yours gone in less than 15 minutes too? :D
How much creme cheese girls?
I am defenitley trying these as soon as I gather the ingredients.
^ Sajal just enough to stick the chicken together. After you process the chicken it doesn't stick together so the cream cheese helps to join all the ingredients together. You don't want to put too much as it will overpower the taste of the chicken.
LESS THAN 15 mins ![]()
100% correct ![]()
Thanks. :)
One more question....
I already some boiled chicken in the freezer. That should do it right?
^^Yes.
I love the sound of this new recipe from Diva and Rukhsar. Gonna try it soon InshaAllah.
Funguy: I would have never shared my killer patty recipe with you...........but since........Ramadan ka maheena hai mei bhi tum se ikhlaaq se paish aoongi.
I was nice to give out my secret patty recipe but i just deleted it coz you certainly don't deserve it, Fungus.
hahahaha banaO patties......Allah ne chaha tau sarri jal jaingi tumhare pakooron ki tarha
You do realize what your signature says right??
Yes, i do realize and do you realize what i have written??? her kaam Allah ki marzi se hota hai aur agar Allah jee ne chaha tau tub fungus ki patties jhal kar rakh ho jaingi. Samjhi/Samjhe aab???? Or do you want me to further clarify it for ya????;)