Bedi calls a SPADE, a SPADE - like always !!

Just like another well-known Sardar…KHUSWANT SINGH , …BISHEN SINGH BEDI may have a big mouth…but nobody can fault him for not speaking his mind…whether politically correct or not…

Two thumbs up !!

** CHUCK OUT THE JAVELIN THROWERS**

At long last Mr Sunil Gavaskar has come out in the open on the topic of chucking. It is only fair that the chairman of a prominent cricket committee of the ICC makes his stance clear.

Although it is still not very clear how the menace of the growing number of chuckers internationally will be curbed.

Only a few days ago, I was watching a fairly recent Sri Lanka vs South Africa replay of a match on the box. Sri Lanka’s highest Test wicket-taker bowled a couple of leg-breaks. I was baffled with the clean action, perfectly correct and normal release of the ball with least assistance from the elbow, which, for some odd reasons, is overplayed when off-breaks are thrown up. All puns intended!

So this business of seeking shelter in physical defects at the time of birth is nothing more than a hog-wash. In any case, why should a natural defect become a source of strength in the eyes of the laws of the game. Would a naturally blind person be allowed to fly an aircraft? Or a handicapped person, in any other way, finds it easily comfortable to join the armed forces? All these queries I am posing for the technical committee of the ICC.

In Pakistan, a fair amount of heat has been generated with the javelin-throw action of Shoaib Akhtar. Greg Chappell has found a pleasant supporter in India’s former coach John Wright. We can expect much of this heat to trickle on to the field in the remaining one-dayers.

Also the dismissal of Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq in Peshawar was not taken very kindly by the followers in the host country. Rightly or wrongly, we may find the ‘dosti’ aspect of the series taking the back seat. And a lot of fire will emerge in the remaining contests, making up for all the staleness in the first two Tests.

The Indian bowling has come in for a lot of flak on this particular tour. Both experience and inexperience have got the stick for obvious negative tactics. Looking for dot balls with wayward strategy is poor cricket thinking. But kindly allow me ask what is India’s main strength? Is it batting or bowling? Batting of course.

So, all the more reason to expect 40-50 extras runs to lend cover to the mediocre bowling. Also, every fielder on his toes would help the Indian captain look the man in charge, who must come in at number three. All other experimentations can wait till against inferior oppositions.

India’s six main batsmen must last the 50 overs. In Peshawar, the entire side got bowled out in less than 50 overs. So with or without the deplorable Duckworth-Lewis law, India would have still lost.

And pray tell me does slowing down of the overs help in any way the scoring rate to drop? The Indian captain and the team were rightly fined. Hopefully, the entire unit will have learnt some vital lessons.

Ramesh Powar joining the squad is a sensible move. I would have liked Anil Kumble to stay on for the moment. Everybody is clamouring for one genuine fast bowler in the Indian bowling line-up. Well, if you don’t have it, learn to do without it. Make the best of what you have, instead of cribbing about lacking what you don’t. I still feel this Indian bowling is good enough to contain the Pakistanis.

All we need is discipline and loads of commitment. There can never be an excuse for lack of effort. Both Ajit Agarkar and Zaheer Khan are not beginners. That is all I can say to spur them on.

Finally, Team India must show a strength of character. They can still win the one day series and restore their collective self-belief. The need of the hour is staying together and abstain from backbiting. Win or lose, the dressing room ought to give all the positive and happy signals. A little pause and thought into individual deeds needs appreciation at this crucial juncture. The loss of Test series will erase from public memory if one-day script is written with fresh impetus.

Re: Bedi calls a SPADE, a SPADE - like always !!

Pak’s coach Woolmer says that there are around 20 possible “chuckers” in Pakistan’s domestic cricket.

Reason enough for ICC to wake up and take notice !!

This VIDEO should be a shame to genuine cricket lovers everywhere :

http://media.putfile.com/Shoaibs-Bowling-Action---You-be-the-judge

get ready for anday and tamatar Some1 ...
here they come.... :D

My Pak friends should realize that this is not specifically about Pak...

Bedi has been much more severe on Murali and he is not even a Pakistani...and remember another accused chucker - Harbhajan is a Sardar too..so lets give Bedi some credit here...

I have said this many times in the past (it has nothing to do with this series specifically)....that "Chuckers" make a mockery of the art of bowling. Its a shame that ICC has allowed a CHUCKER (with a birth defect allrite) to become one of the highest wicket-takers of the game.

off-topic, did you survive the ORCL haircut yesterday.

I always do..I am a survivor.
Hows your A-mere-BAP going..

I think Bedi and you two are on charas...Shoaib hasn'tplayed in the series yet...so don't let your undies in a twist. And enjoy the second string Pakistani attack dismantle the top of the class world renowned Indian batting maestros... handle the 23 year old unknown from Sheikhupura first...or should I say watch him closely for chucking. Since Indians can't bowl fast they think nobody can. A pure case of sour grapes. Just work on your own resources rather than looking for non-existant flaws in the opposition.

btw, Woolmer makes an interesting point about why Pak seems to have a serious number of fast "chuckers".

He says, most of these guys are from "modest" backgrounds and grew up blindly emulating Imran, Akram, Waqar etc when playing cricket on the streets...all aspiring to be FAST without paying too much thought to the techincalities of a legal bowling action.

Put fire-extinguisher on your chaddi... Its on fire.

Fungus,

Dont replay the same ghisaa-pitaa record …this is not about our batting…If it makes you happy I have said it myself that our players should drown themselves in chullu bhar paani for their lack of performance.

This thread is about CHUCKERS AND JAVELIN THROWERS who have no place in the game, one of whom happens to be HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS FROM RAWALPINDI. (come to think of it - he hasn’t even delivered any earth-shaking performance in this series that we should supposedly be bitter of)

Some1, how many times will you post the same video? Besides, where in the video does it show that the apparent bend is more than 15 degrees?

It might help you to look at the following link about Muralitharan. Depending on which angle you look at, there might or might not be a kink in the elbow.

http://www.muralitharan.org/murali/muralitest.htm

Also look at this to see the extent of Akhtar’s elbow extension:

http://media.putfile.com/Akhtar_Hyperextenstion

No longer in it…as a nomad consultant , I just follow the mullah.

SOme1, there is a plethora of officials in all ICC tests and ODIs. The on field umpires, third and fourth umpire, match referee, and other ICC officials on the ground...nobody seems to find a flaw in these so called chuckers. If they did, don't you think the umpires would be the first one to report. There is a process in the ICC.

So, until those watching report, I don't care what Bedi on a Manji in Dilli or unfair & unbalanced in Palo Alto sees and craps out.

Cricket is a game played within the laws. Umpires are the SOLE judges of the law. If they don't see anything wrong, who are you to whinge?

I have posted it possibly half-a-dozen times and guess what “people here still don’t get it”.

In the video , I saw a person “blatantly throwing” the ball…if I can tell that with unaided eye…the ICC does not need any further proof on the angle.

sore losers will remain sore losers. THEEHEHEHEHE

Abi to shuruwaat hai ye tumarey sath india
kya karo ghi tum jub uteray ghi tumari bindia

Roo uthey ga sara India teri haar par
Tere har zakham par namak barsey ga afridi ki maar par

Shoaib ke action ko target karte ho apni haar par
Out ho jate ho phir bhi tum ek super-sub ki ball par

They do see wrong and some have already called no-ball. Sad part is that they are asked to keep their mouth shut by ICC. I hope you get it Boringguy. Bedi makes a very good point about Murali that when bowls leg-break his action is perfectly fine but it changes with offbreak. I wonder what kind of Bemari is that...

Yehi to mussibat hai…so many apparent checks-and-balances…yet a bowler can “chuck” his way to the record books…there is an obvious flaw in the system …a system that believes that a bowler can correct an action (developed over half a life-time) by flying to Australia for two-weeks.

Your logic is flawed and your basis of argument laughable. ICC conspiracy! LOL

It’s a waste talking about cricket with you. GTFO.

Also occasional chuckers or a player like Akhtar who mostly "chucks" only when delivering the "oomph" ball...can always bowl legitimate deliveries when they are bowling in the nets to get a "clean" certificate...only to come back to the game and be the same again....

Then go fix the system...yahaan kya marva rahay hau.

Until Shoaib gets reported he is bowling legitimate. So far so good. The day he gets reported, it would be that particular delivery and nothing more.