** "And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what (must ordinarily) appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands their fathers their husbands’ fathers their sons their husbands’ sons their brothers or their brothers’ sons or their sisters’ sons or their women or the slaves whom their right hands possess or male servants free of physical needs or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex; and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O ye Believers! turn ye all together towards Allah that ye may attain Bliss. "
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
please add the part where it instructs men to not stare either. regardless of what someone is wearing :)
you are always welcome to add these byself as well, wait let me do it as well or open another thread with different topic name, as it was about women :)
? my bhai, i asked it because these are inter related. everytime someone talks about this topic words like "she was asking for it" etc are thrown around when talkign about gusy staring, or groping women in bazaars in pakistan.
so adding that would show both sides and responsibility of both genders. and just because one person is not managing their responsibility, it does not make it okay for the others to not observe their responsibility and act like hyenas :)
Fraud I hear you, and I know what you mean, ...let me do it one by one, ...and I am sure no one will disagree or challange the Quranic Verses!...so let it go for right now, and I will add for men later inshAllah in separate thread JazakAllah :)
(this is gonna sound so stupid but who cares :halo: )
i was wondering if its ok to get ur hair done from a gay guy since it says "…male servants free of physical needs.."so like is it ok to not do purda infront of gay men??
male servants free of physical need means nothing related to body of women, like massage of any body parts etc, it doesn't mean any sexual desire, as sex is not allowed in any case!
I hope you undestand what that meant!
Regarding, GAY...recite or read translation of Loot's(AS) Nation!
I’d like to add this,
Ali ibn Abi Talib said:"Fatimah and I came to the Prophet (PBUH) for a visit and we found him weeping bitterly. I said to him:‘May my father and mother be ransomed for you, O Messenger of Allah! What makes you weep?’ He replied,’ O Ali, during my night journey to the Heavens, I saw of my Ummah being punished in various ways, and I am weeping at the severity of their punishment. I saw a woman hanging by her hair and her brain boiling; another woman was hanging by her tongue and hot liquid was being poured down her throat; another woman’s feet clung to her breasts and her hands to her forehead, and snakes and scorpions were stinging her; another one was hanging by her breasts; another woman, whose head was that of a pig and whose body was that of a donkey, was being punished in a thousand different ways; and another woman was in the form of a dog, and fire was going into her mouth and coming out of her anus, and the angels were hitting her head with hammers of fire.’ Fatimah stood up and said:‘O my dear father, what were the deeds of these women for which they suffer such punishment?’ He replied:‘O my dear daughter, as for the one who was hanging by her hair, she did not cover her hair in front of men; the one who was hanging by her tongue used to annoy her husband; the one hanging by her breast used to defile her husband’s bed (i.e. commit adultery); the one whose feet were tied to her breasts and her hands to her forehead, and snakes and scorpions were stinging her, did not wash herself (make ghusl) after sexual intercourse or finishing menstruation, and she made fun of prayer and the one with the pig’s head and a donkey’s body used to carry around slanderous tales; and the one in the form of a dog, with fire going into her mouth and coming out of her anus, used to be envious and to recount her favors to others.’
I don't see any mention of covering hair in the piece from the Quran. As for the hadith posted by Swera, I don't really go by hadiths. Too many of them are frankly pre-historic and it shows.
Does anyone knows what is the punishment for not covering face and pls give reference? I have never come across it yet many women do pirdah. May be this should be another thread??
funny how scholars have come up with all kinds of details for women on how to just cover themselves up least a gaze on them steer the poor weak innocent men away from the path of righteousness..
how they are on the right path 'gazing' upon women is what I would want to know..
Since few of us dispute the quote from Quran, so for the purposes of my question I will focus on the first post (the one by Swera is frankly too scary )
They key question, therefore, is what constitutes ‘beauty’? If someone conlcudes (or believes) that hair constitute beauty, then thats what it is for that person. If someone else concludes that even thighs and legs are not part of beauty, thats another matter. I don’t believe its right, but oh well…
The ayat only mentions “bosom”, which I assume means the general chest area. Correct me if I am wrong.
Swera please post a similar story/refernece for the punishments men will recieve for groping women, staring at them, passing crude comments at them etc etc.
O prophet! tell thy wives and daughters and the believing women that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient that they should be known (as such) and not molested: and Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.
Say to the believing men that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty: that will make for greater purity for them: and Allah is well acquainted with all that they do.
There is no blame (on these ladies if they appear) before their fathers or their sons their brothers or their brothers' sons or their sisters' sons or their women or the (slaves) whom their right hands possess. And (ladies) fear Allah: for Allah is Witness to all things.
O prophet! tell thy wives and daughters and the believing women that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient that they should be known (as such) and not molested: and Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.