BCCI propose ‘Friendship Cup’ series against Pakistan

KARACHI: Pakistan could end up playing atleast 15 One-day Internationals against arch rivals India in the calander year following a new proposal from the board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) for a “Friendship Cup” series of six One-day Internationals this year. :eek:

The chief executive Rameez Raja said on Wednesday that the Indian proposal was that besides the Indian team’s tour to Pakistan in March-April when they play five One-dayers, both countries play an additional series of six matches.

“India has proposed that we play three ODIs in India and they pay a return visit immediately afterwards for three games anytime this year when both teams are free of other scheduled international commitments,” he said.

He said that India had proposed the additional six matches in liue of the fact that Pakistan had wanted India to play seven ODIs on their tour in March-April but they settled for five because of shortage of time and required rest period for their players.

He said the modalities of the unscheduled ODI series would be worked out soon and it would be slotted into a period when both teams are free of international commitments this year.

The Indian government last year allowed resumption of bilateral cricket ties with Pakistan paving the way for India’s first test tour to Pakistan since 1989.

India on their test tour to Pakistan in March-April would be playing three tests and five ODIs.

India has also proposed a triangular One-day series on double league basis involving Pakistan, India and Australia in England sometime in August-September this year before the Champions Trophy tournament is held in England from late September.

link

India, Pak to play Friendship Cup series

KARACHI: The Board of Control of Cricket in India has proposed to the Pakistan Cricket Board that a Friendship Cup ODI series be played after the March-April India tour, PCB chief executive Rameez Raja said.

“India has proposed that we play three ODIs in India and they pay a return visit immediately afterwards for three games any time this year when both teams are free of other scheduled international commitments,” The News quoted Raja as saying on Wednesday.

Raja said that the BCCI proposed these additional six matches in lieu of the fact that the PCB had wanted India to play seven ODIs on their forthcoming tour, but they settled for five because of shortage of time and required rest period for their players.

The modalities of the Friendship Cup series would be worked out soon, the PCB top official added.

Besides, the paper said, India has also proposed a triangular One-Day series on double league basis involving Pakistan, India and Australia in England sometime in August-September this year before the Champions Trophy tournament is held in England from late September. The itinerary for this series is also yet to be finalised.

Times of India

India is feeling high and confident after drawing the test series in Australia. I say sign as many tours as possible before the VB ODI series begins.

Subtle yet effective. :hehe::k:

And if, by some freak of a miracle, Pakistan makes bhurta of Indian batting and beat them 5-0 in Feb-March, then I hope the Indian government does not stop the whole thing to say "Na bhai, we don't want to play Pakistan till they stop sending militants in Kashmir!" or something like that. Ya Allah khair!

:-D

pehlay bulatay thay to aatay na thay, an bin bula-ay aanay lagay.
ho na ho, kuch baat hay zuroor! :slight_smile: :smooth:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
India is feeling high and confident after drawing the test series in Australia. I say sign as many tours as possible before the VB ODI series begins.

But make sure you dont disappear if India plays good in VB series like others who said Baqreed will be celebrated during test series and then never showed up when Aussies ass got kicked.

Errmmm.... :)

This thread is probably just a heads-up on whats gonna come. I suspect by the time Pak-Ind series is over, do chaar members tau ban ho hi jayein gay :-O

Iss liyay ziyada ghussa karnay ki bajayay, araam say gup shup marein.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Errmmm.... :)

This thread is probably just a heads-up on whats gonna come. I suspect by the time Pak-Ind series is over, do chaar members tau ban ho hi jayein gay :-O

Iss liyay ziyada ghussa karnay ki bajayay, araam say gup shup marein.

I have a secret plan to deal with the upcoming series. :)

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

In lieu of a peaceful series, I am voluntarily offering self-arrest the eve of first match in March.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Oh no!!!! Pls don't close down Khel Khilari forum. :(

This is just so much fun.

In lieu of a peaceful series, I am voluntarily offering self-arrest the eve of first match in March.

And I will go on self exile.

By the way we should at least show some respect to the title, Friendship Cup. Let's do this for a day. We start praising Indian team and you Indians start saying good stuff about out players. Let's see how long this lasts.

Shahid Afridi is like Vivian Richard.

Ab jhoot bolnay bhi nahi kaha :-P

Ajit Agarkar has normal size ears.

Waisay personally I am looking forward to the matchup between the Indian batting line-up (which is extremely good, IMO) and the Pakistan pace attack. I do have a sinking feeling as to what is going to happen :o but still it will be fun to see fired up Shoaib and Sami bowling to Tendu and Dravid.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Shahid Afridi is like Vivian Richard.

Agarkar is better than Akram. :D

I don;t care what the Indians think of their batting line-up but deep down they do wet their pants in fear of Shoaib.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Waisay personally I am looking forward to the matchup between the Indian batting line-up (which is extremely good, IMO) and the Pakistan pace attack. I do have a sinking feeling as to what is going to happen :o but still it will be fun to see fired up Shoaib and Sami bowling to Tendu and Dravid.

Dont have sinking feeling.I think its gonna be a good battle and going be recent results I think both team are equal and on their day anyone can beat any team