Bathtub, a useless piece of fixture!

Do you guys really use bathtub for its intended purpose? I am not talking about using it as a shower stall, but using it to really take a bath.

I have seen bathtubs been used for storage/hideouts of kids bathtubs, portable potty, dirty clothes, bath supplies and such.

What do you use it for? Honestly when was the last time you used it to take a bath?

Re: Bathtub, a useless piece of fixture!

i agree, piece of s..

so we dont’ have it.

Use it daily to bathe my daughter!
But yes … Useless for me and husband.

I have a jetted/jacuzzi tub in my master bathroom..so I do use it on occasion, albeit not very often. It’s great for a foot soak when I’m trying to save $$$ on pedicures, or after a particularly grueling workout..sometimes a girl wants to just light some candles and relax!

Jacuzzi is different, as if nothing else, it adds on to the value of the house. Bathtubs are usually in the smaller bathrooms of the house (or in smaller houses) and just take extra space where a shower stall and a small closet can be built which would be more functional than a bathtub.

I agree with you there.

What we did in the kids bathrooms upstairs in our new house is to install sliding glass doors to enclose the shower/tub. No need for a shower curtain anymore. The guest bathroom also has the bathtub which is pretty useless.

I think eventually when the kids get a little bigger, we’ll probably redo both upstairs bathrooms to get rid of the tubs altogether.

Sliding glass doors are great as compared to shower curtains. Shower curtains are not even hygienic in the long run.

“What do you use it for? Honestly when was the last time you used it to take a bath?”

a) I use it for its intended purpose. I would really love to have a jacuzzi though when I get married and have my own master bedroom (ab yeh mat kehna, abhi time hai, daydream mat karo). Bathtubs are great for those cold winter days when you come back tired from work/gym, fill the tub with hot water, bath oils/salts, and let the fragrance/warmth take care of any mental stress/skin dryness/aching muscles.

b) Last time was last week.

You know what I hate? The bathrooms in Pakistan where you’re standing on bare floor and soapy water gathers in a corner. That, to me, is very icky! I would rather have a bathtub that I can clean before shower and it’s not as “open” (like the bathrooms in pak where toilet area is in the same space and there is no separation).

No one likes a bucket bath? You have a little bucket and fill it with water and you sit in the bath tub and two buckets of water later you are done. : |

i like taking shower in a bathtub because it,s more comfortable as it provides more space and a little seat [ledges] to sit down if scrubbing gets hard on people with a ‘tond’ :smiley:

I am thinking of making moonshine in bathtub.

Madz, good to know that you have time and patience to go through the laborious process of taking a bath, where same purpose could be served in five minutes, using hot shower and a good body wash :D, plus I can’t sit in my own filth for that long.

El topo, a bucket bath! Really? I used to when I was in Pakistan, but I don’t think that I can anymore, unless I have no choice.

Kkf, a shower stall with a stool could take care of your tond problem too. You don’t need a $1200 fixture for that.

Dmd, I dont want to think about your moon shining in your bathtub. Thank you for the mental picture.

^^gripe water ki kasam adhy sec kay liay hoo sooch lain uncle je:crying:

Why not?? :konfused:
Of course I do use it.
Usually take shower… but use bathtub after a hectic/tiring day for relaxation purpose!

LOL, TLK, you are a man :hehe:

A proper bath. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I’ve showered up to 3 times a day here. Quick 5 minute showers are awesome.

lol…did you know that for the ritual bath “ashnaan” taken by religious Hindus in rural India where water is scarce, one loTaa of water is enough. :cb: Hindus don’t eat anything before taking the ritualistic bath…one loTaa of paanii hardly wets all parts of his/her body. what kinda ashnaan is that? :smiley:

ham musalmaan haiN, aish karnaa hamaaraa iimaan aur paidaai’shii Haq hai! hai na? :smiley: :wink: :stuck_out_tongue:

Tsk tsk, no making fun of others.

Anas bin Malik (may Allah be pleased with him) narrates that, ‘The Messenger of Allah (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) would bathe with one Sa’a to five Madd of water and with one Madd he would perform ablution.’
Sa’a and Madd are measurements. One Sa’a is equivalent to 2.03 litres and five Madd is equivalent to 2.55 litres. The least amount of water used by the Prophet (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) mentioned in the hadith is 1/3 of a Madd, which is equivalent to 0.17 litres

mujhe to aapne serious kar diyaa!

Huzoor [saws] ne jo kiyaa yaqeenan bahtareen tareeqa thaa…kaassh ham bhi utne hii paanii se nahaate, unke baraabar 'ibaadaat karte, unke baraabar khaanaa khaate…magar aisaa nahiiN kar paate ham, Allah hameN mo’aaf farmaaye.