Basant Festival

Salam Namaste !!

A small Question … Is basant festival a hindu festival or Pakistani festival … anybody knows the history !!

can anybody tell me …

Guru

Re: Basant Festival

It is a Pagan festival there is no such thing as a "pakistani" festival
pakistani festivals are either islamic or Pagan
such a waste of money and time is against the spirit of Islam it should be banned

^^

Instead of banning it, why not spend time and money persuading people not to do it?

I like the idea but I doubt if people will listen

You can't force people to behave Islamically.. if they do not want to follow Islam and you simply force them to do so, they will resent Islam instead.

Now I am not competant enough to give views regarding sharia but there are certain rules that have to be enforced by a islamic state(whether pakistan is one or not is another discussion) whether the people like it nor not

True, but you can't build an Islamic state on a people who do not want to follow Islam. That, sadly, is the state of Pakistan today. People care more for cultures and traditions than for Islam.

What is unislamic about basant? Flying kites is a fun sport all over the world.

Do it in a safe way then not the extravagance (actually wastage) which also leads to people getting killed.

Coming to cultural activities, I wonder why is that other activities don’t have official patronage (wastage of tax payer money which incidently is coming mostly from Karachi).

I never see any official patronage for sufi festivals in sindh or any other non-cricket sports in pakistan (cricket gets funding because punjabis are good in it unlike football where makranis rule..).

I remember someone raised a good issue that how it was “anti-Pakistan” to have a world sindhi or world pashtu conference but it was perfectly pakistani to have a world punjabi conference with the fellow sardaran in lahore? :confused:

No wonder Pakistan is teetering on becoming a failed state!

Basant is a Hindu festival, the word Basant is Sanskrit (liturgical language of Hinduism) and means 'spring'. Hindus believe that Saraswati the pseudo-goddess of wisdom, art and music was born at around this time.

On the day of Basant Hindus usually wear yellow clothes, idols of the Hindu pseudo-goddess Saraswati are dressed in yellow garments and worshipped, Brahmins (highest Hindu caste) are fed, yellow colored sweetmeats are distributed and there are celebrations in every Hindu home and temple.

Many Muslims and Sikhs from India/Pakistan who converted from Hinduism still celebrate it generations later.

**Other Terms: **Basant Panchami, Vasant Panchami

The kite flying was incorprated later from either Greek or Chinese culture.

pagan festival or practices are not always evil. Celebrating birthday the way we do these days don't have islamic roots still its halaal.

Basant is just a festive there is noting in it that could be termed unislamic.

No wonder there is not a single well established fatwa againt basant.

It's the birthday of a Hindu pseudo-goddess yet still it's not unislamic?

Kite flying is fun even though I can't do any of the tricks Lahoris do but they can schedule the tournaments and stuff to another time and date with another name if they care about religion, I doubt they do.

Care about the pagal religion, or their own religion?

Also, how do you you suggest they change the date, its pretty random anyways, an odd weekend where the forecast seems to be nice, but if youre referring to the month or season, I dont see how basant can be held outside of musam-e-bahar. Basant has nothing to do with religion.

Is basant festival bad or flying kites bad? It is the cobination of two and history behind it that makes it very objectionable.
Kite flying( A useless sports- waste of money ) on basant(A hindu festival) started in remeberence of a hindu boy who was involved in blashphemy-

wesay cricket ko bhi ban kar do, its also a useless sport, a wate of money, kal ka poora din waste paper ki tokri me daal diya tha pakistaniyoon ney match dekh kar, lekin kya karen, humarey ARY-mughal bhai ko kirkit buhat pasand hai, wesya mujhe bhi pasand hai...

If people are running around chanting the Hindu goddess' name, or invoking prayers to any other diety than Allah, then it's wrong.

If they're using the occasion to fly kites...just for the fun of it, then it has a) subverted the pagan ritual (whcih we should be happy about) and b) served as a source of entertainment for everyone.

Everything is allowed unless it is explicitly forbidden. Celebrating non-Muslim religous holidays is forbidden...unless of course it was a celerbration that used to be practiced for religious reasons but now is done for the heck of it.

It's in the intent.

I must first thank you all my friend for your reply !!

till now i always thought that basant was a hindu festival and actually last week i was searching about the history of basant festival in google what i found was amazing all result that come in front of my eyes were

Basant Festival in Lahore , pakistan … no results for India or Hindus…

I like the way people in pak enjoy this festival … we also here in india have holiday in all muslim festival and i have many muslim friends we like to spend our day with them …

I would love to be in pakistan lahore next year at basant and enjoy with yoiu people … wait for me … lol

Thankx Prince of Persia

Guru

You are welcome in pakistan :slight_smile:

No one is certain about origin of basant, there are dozens of theories.
but those who celebrate it dont really care about it, just like april fool or valentine’s day. They celebrate it purely for fun and enjoy the company of friends and relatives.

Many people are against this festival due to waste of money, religion, loss of life etc. They also have a valid argument