Bangladesh tour to Pakistan postponed after court order

Asia cup key haar bardashat he naheen ho rahi hay :cobra:

Bangladesh has informed the PCB that its team won’t able to tour Pakistan as scheduled. The decision, communicated to the PCB by the BCB’s acting CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury, follows an order on Thursday afternoon by the Dhaka High Court suspending the tour for four weeks. The tour - comprising two limited-overs games - was to take place in Lahore at the end of April.
Thursday’s events have added to doubts over whether the tour will indeed go ahead at all.
The court order, delivered by Justices Farid Ahmed and Sheikh Hasan Arif on Thursday afternoon, also said that in the interim period the sports secretary, the National Sports Council chief and BCB chief Mustafa Kamal justify the decision for the tour.
The order was on a writ petition filed in the morning by a university teacher and a Supreme Court lawyer who, citing concerns over security, challenged the BCB’s decision to send the team at the end of April for a three-day tour.
Azim, one of the lawyers for the petitioners, said: “The ICC asked for a security plan from PCB. They have still not given it.”
He continued, “Pakistan is not safe for any foreign teams now. Their own media says so. For that reason, no country agrees to play there. Under the same circumstances, we should not go there also.”
Mohammad Isam is senior sports reporter at the Daily Star in Dhaka
http://i.imgci.com/espncricinfo/storyRSS.gif Feeds: Mohammad Isam © ESPN EMEA Ltd.

Bangladesh in Pakistan 2012: Dhaka High Court puts four-week tour embargo | Cricket News | Pakistan v Bangladesh | ESPN Cricinfo

Re: Bangladesh tour to Pakistan postponed after court order

This is as lame as a court can get. Wo bhi high court even more lame than setting the sugar prices

Just tell them to stay home. No need to come over to lose a few more matches...

What a shame, the new power house of cricket is not going to come to Pak. What a loss. :rolleyes:

Just thrash them insha'Allah we face 'em next time .... kya nakhray hai'n in kay ....

On the other hand it's good they r not coming ..... if anyhing would've happend .... kiss good bye to any cricket for quite a while

Why don't PCB just call it off?

I agree. Pakistan should concentrate on more domestic tournaments like the one that just ended.

Let the other teams come on their own if they want to.

Pakistan is a big country that can carry on good domestic cricket till then.

The stadiums were full during the domestic tournament.

From the article ""The ICC asked for a security plan from PCB. They have still not given it." If this is true, I would not blame the Bangladeshi team for not visiting.

Once a Chay Always A Chay

Even before going into the article, right at the home page

Bangladesh in Pakistan 2012: Pakistan board send security plan to ICC | Cricket News | Pakistan v Bangladesh | ESPN Cricinfo

I think this is a genuine security concern. When none of the other teams are willing to come to Pakistan, why force Bangladesh? Their lives are as valuable as Australian, English, South African, New Zealander, Indian, etc. players. The security situation hasn't improved much, and we all know what happened when one Asian team trusted our promises of "presidential level security" a few years ago. Besides, there isn't much to be achieved by such a low profile series anyway. Only two ODIs, and that too against Bangladesh. The real cricket is Test cricket anway, and Pakistani public has no desire to watch Tests, as evidenced by the nearly empty stadiums during the last two decades.

For the umpteenth time, I have no problems with Bangladesh not touring Pakistan because of security reasons.

But this flip flop drama before finally cancelling it at the last minute is just wrong

"We are coming"
"No, we are NOT coming"
"We are coming"
"No, we are NOT coming"
Yes, NO, yes, no

BCB shouldn't have made the commitment if it could not fulfil it (BD government apparently gave the go ahead for it).

It is not our fault or headache that Kamal (BCB President) did not consult everyone (incl. the courts, he should have known that there was a possibility BD courts might intervene) before confirming the tour or was doing this just to secure his ICC nomination

or

We can look at the whole thing purely from a BD perspective

*Pakistan is not a safe place to tour, no foreign player will risk his life for it. This is a court decision based on legitimate public concern. BCB President greedily agreed to tour Pakistan so that he gets the ICC post, but rightfully the High court intervened and stopped it.

I am sure if PPL starts and start paying hefty sum to players, law and order situation in Pakistan will suddenly become better for many.

:rolleyes:

agreed. Remember the attack in Mumbai and the English team withdrew but came back after a few weeks with English players saying we will not let terrorists win or something to that affect. It was the money and IPL talking not standing up to the terrorists.

I am glad that Bangladesh are not coming. We need to put first our house in order and invite others later. Had a stone been thrown on their bus, it would have been like a nuke attack for international media. This series would have been like playing with fire. Thanks God it's not happening anymore.

Money sure talks

Whole thing is a farce. Instead of wasting it’s time over a useless series, PCB should focus on getting some big sponsors and backing for the PPL, the one sure way to get international stars coming to Pakistan is money.

Zaka should start working on making PPL a reality.

Enough with all this drama

Muslim “Bhai Chara” at its best!

Why dont you try and test this hypothesis? Looking at size of Pakistani economy they can definitely do better than BPL that just happened in Bangladesh. Lets get PPL rolling and see how many of them turn up.

You know times are bad when Bangladesh refuse to tour. Lol.

I say forget them and carry on as we were....Bangladesh will get hammered on Pakistani soil anyway.