Ban Pakistan from cricket, says Botham

ICC needs to get off their backsides, urges former cricket great

http://www.emirates247.com/polopoly_fs/1.293490.1285053986!/image/4095573745.jpg

Pakistan should be banned from international cricket until corruption allegations against their cricketers have been fully investigated, England great Sir Ian Botham said on Monday.

World cricket has been rocked by allegations that members of Pakistan’s team fixed aspects of last month’s fourth Test match against England, which led to the suspensions of Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamer.

Further allegations against Pakistan emerged over the weekend following their team’s one-day victory over England on Friday.
The new allegations have triggered a bitter war of words between officials from the two cricket nations, with England’s players expressing “outrage” at suggestions from Pakistan chairman Ijaz Butt they were involved in corruption.

Now Botham believes Pakistan should be thrown out of the sport altogether. Asked directly if he felt Pakistan should be banned, Botham replied: "In my opinion, yes. We keep sweeping things under the carpet – enough is enough.

“The public pay the money to come and watch the game. What do they do if a catch goes down or someone bowls a no-ball? What are they thinking? Enough is enough.”
Botham also rubbished Butt’s allegations concerning England’s players, which the Pakistan official claimed to have discovered from “bookies’ circles”.

“I would like to know how Ijaz Butt knows what the bookmakers are doing. Maybe he should tell us something,” Botham remarked.

"It’s appalling, it’s farcical and it’s gone on for too long now. It needs to be stamped out. If you have a cancerous problem you get to the root of it.

"If it means giving guys amnesty, saying, ‘Come clean, guys, tell us what happened, then we’ll move on’, whether they have to serve a ban – that’s for the ICC.
“The ICC need to wake up, they need to get off their backsides. From what I can see they haven’t done very much at all.”

http://www.emirates247.com/sports/cricket/ban-pakistan-from-cricket-says-botham-2010-09-21-1.293427

Re: Ban Pakistan from cricket, says Botham

He should shut his mouth

man they r crying babies

Let them bark dude ... Pakistan is not a team of a small town, they are former World Champion. T20 Champions ...

Ian Botham has lived with this dream.. he will die with this as well

Wada aya Sir Ian Bothom lol

jealous hai Pakistani bowling attack sai or kia.

Is he the same Bothom who once said

"Pakistan is a place to take your Mother in law to"

and years later when Wasim Akram dismissed Bothom (in Wc1992 final) , Aamir Sohail replied

"Your Mother In Law would have made more runs than you"

i have stopped bothering on Bothom's comments. I mean he is one person who always have peoblem with Pakistani cricket team/players even in good times, let alone bad times like these

Backside sey yaad aaya:

^ ouch that hurts :D

sahi zemanat zabt ki ian botham ki amir sohail nai.

Sir jee aamir said " now send your mother in law to Pakistan"

As a aside he did take his mother in law to Paksitan when he went there as a commentator in 2005, she loved the country.

Botham's problem with Pakistan is that during his playing days Imran was recognised as a greater all rounder than him. He could never digest that, hence his anti Pakistan stance.

^ but sentence that I mentioned has been reported ...let me google it again...

sir jee he also had tears in his eyes when imran loog(:rotfl:) were collecting the world cup

Yes his comment was “Pakistan doesn’t deserve this trophy”.

he wanted to say his mother in law deserved the trophy :rotfl:

Botham ka bacha…buhat bara gora racist aur har**ee heay…

sala koiee chance naheen chorta Pakistan kay khilaf bakwas karnay say aur Pakis bhee usko moqaa daitay rehtay hain again and again…:smack: :mad:

haha that was funny.. although botham did a good job to keep it out haha..

Hilarious…lol

PS: World cricket without Pakistan would be boring like a dead ping pong ball…lol

PS1: World cricket need Pakistan cricket to liven up and not the other way around… :jhanda:

Glad someone lashed back this racist!

http://sify.com/sports/mohsin-khan-calls-botham-biased-foolish-for-giving-ban-pak-cricket-diatribe-news-news-kj2okfcdbic.html

**Mohsin Khan calls Botham “biased, foolish” for giving ‘ban Pak cricket’ diatribe

**2010-09-28 14:10:00
Pakistan’s former Test opener and incumbent chief selector Mohsin Khan has slammed former England captain Ian Botham for his anti-Pak diatribe, describing him as a “biased and foolish” person who had an axe to grind with Pakistan cricket.
“He (Botham) has always had a problem with Pakistan. But now when he is not just a former player but also a commentator and expert on Sky Sports, one expects him to be unbiased in his comments on any issue,” the Dawn quoted Mohsin, as saying.
He noted that although other members of the commentary team including Nasser Hussain, David Lloyd, David Gower and Mike Atherton had also criticised Pakistan cricket after the spot-fixing scandal, they had kept a balance in their assessments, instead of being biased.
“But Botham has shown himself to be a biased, foolish and an ignorant person by making such derogatory remarks against a top cricket nation. Sky should consider removing him from their panel,” Mohsin said.
Botham, who was in the Sky Sports commentary team for the recent England series, has been campaigning for Pakistan cricket to be banned by the ICC since the spot-fixing scandal broke out after the fourth Test at Lord’s in late August. (ANI)

forget botham for a second...we all hate him and he hates us...so screw him....

but here is a question that I have for everyone o KK...imagine if nasir hussain, holding or gavaskar had made the following statement:

"The public pays the money to come and watch the game. What do they do (or think of) if a catch goes down or someone bowls a no-ball on purpose? Match fixing is appalling, it's farcical and it's gone on for too long now. It needs to be stamped out. If you have a cancerous problem you get to the root of it. Pakistan should be banned from international cricket until corruption allegations against their cricketers have been fully investigated because PCB has been kept on sweeping things under the carpet -- enough is enough. If it means giving guys amnesty, saying, 'Come clean, guys, tell us what happened, then we'll move on', whether they have to serve a ban -- that's for the ICC. But ICC needs to do more. The ICC need to wake up, they need to get off their backsides. From what I can see they haven't done very much at all. And I would like to know how Ijaz Butt knows what the bookmakers are doing. Maybe he should tell us something"

be honest....what would be your reaction?