Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Re: Bajrangi Bhaijaan

It was awesome Zareen. Salman khan was good but nawazuddin siddiqui who plays the real life Pakistani journalist Chand Nawab stole the show with his scenes. Nawazuddin siddiqui was inspired by Chand Nawab. The director talked to Chand Nawab and he himself said he liked the way he was portrayed.
The songs and the cinematography are awesome as well.

A good summary of the story but few corrections.

Spoilers ahead

Salman khan plays a hindu guy who is a bajraang bali devotee. He is a simple guy from a conservative home who is known to be a failure. He tries to ask hand of kareena kapoor but her father does not think he is worthwhile.

The main story involves a 6 yr old Pakistani girl who accidentally is left behind when the train taking her parents leaves. She can neither speak nor talk but she comes across salman khan. He has to work out where her home is so he can help her find her parents. Together they develop a friendship and by the end through this friendship he realises his worth as well. On the way a Pakistani journalist helps the two.
seriously the girl har****a malhotra is the real star of the movie. She plays a very powerful character and acts so beautifully. Some of the scenes between her and salman are really heartwarming and touching.

It has some great songs by rahat fateh ali khan and atif aslam as well as a great cameo by om puri. All Shahid Afridi fans will like the movie :slight_smile: i won’t reveal why :stuck_out_tongue: don’t want to spoil the movie.

salman khan plays an indian hindu guy who helps a lost 6 yr old pakistani muslim girl find her parents. The girl cannot speak. He is helped by a Pakistani journalist based inspired by a real life journalist.

I hardly watch bollywood movies in cinema but the message of this film was too powerful and amazing to miss. I just fell in love with the story and especially the character of the 6 yr old pakistani girl. It was just awesome. it seems to have struck an emotional chord with many. Ive read so many people, indians and pakistanis, coming out teary eyed from the cinemas.

I agree bahot pyari pic thi. We need more movies and dramas like this which focus on the common humanity. I hope it will help in spreading peace. Some places have given this movie tax free status because of its attempt at spreading peace. I liked that it showed an emotional side of salman rather than a movie where he plays a tough dabbang like character.
how amazing was munni/shahida?
The songs were also amazing. One of my Pakistani friends who is khan said i have to watch the movie. I said we have to watch all the movies with khans like bajraangi bhaijaan and bin roye. She said it touched her heart like no other bollywood movie and made her cry at end. Now next movie bin roye.

I didnt think any movie could make me cry but the scenes in the movie especially the final scene had that effect and my eyes became wet. It was just so poweful and the little girl's acting was just amazing. Looking at comments online guys, girls, Pakistanis and Indians seem to have shed a few tears by the end of the movie.

You should definitely watch it alongside bin roye. Seriously its an amazingly powerful movie with lot of emotional scenes which will pull at the heart strings

My personal fav for the heartwarming moments between Salman(Pawan), Munni and Chand. It kind of reminds me of the lion king with simba timon and pumba.

I saw the film on monday, the initial post was incorrect where OP stated hes muslim hence the question! Lol

salman khan plays an indian hindu guy who helps a lost 6 yr old pakistani muslim girl find her parents. The girl cannot speak. He is helped by a Pakistani journalist based inspired by a real life journalist.

i dont watch movies in cinemas much but this movie was amazing and definitely worth a watch. If only to support its positive message of humanity and to show these messages are appreciated just as much.

Check out the song videos of the movie..they showcase some really heart touching scenes. The Pakistani characters steal the show from the pakistani journalist to the 6 yr old pakistani girl who cannot speak. She speaks volumes with her eyes and facial expressions.

the end scene is just amazing.

shortened version of one of the awesome songs from the movie.

I was happy there was no bashing and hardly any of the usual stereotypes. Most indians and pakistanis get along well abroad and its time a movie highlights this fact. A good message of humanity. This is probably one of the few movies since namaste london that highlights this.

Basically every person i know who watched it or who i read watched it says their eyes became wet afterwards. kareena did not have too much a role but she is encouraging influence for pawan and she supports him to help shahida. Nawaz and Shahida are definitely the highlights along with salman khan.

Kabir khan talks about the qawaali in the movie originally written by pakistani singers the sabri brothers. It should be given due credit.The version here is sung by Adnan Sami.

It’s an amazing song released 30 years ago. I never got a chance to hear it before but it is awesome as seen here especially when pictured with pawan and munni from the movie.

Living abroad i have quite a few pakistani friends. One of them recommended me to watch the movie and i recommended another one to watch pakistani movie bin roye with me. Its made by hum tv and i love hum dramas so naturally i will love the movie as well. The basic idea of the movie that humanity is common in both pakistanis and indians is something more people realise when they interact with the other side. Then you realise you actually have more common than what steteotypes would suggest. We all go through the human emotions of love,sadness, separation and belonging. Then isnt it strange some people from both sides think people from the other side will fit some stereotype. Reading the comments of pakistanis and indians on bhajraangi bhaijaan fb page one thing was obvious that the movie touched people of all backgrounds.

In real life and online the sweetest people i have talked to have been Pakistanis. If one digs deeper beyond surface and all labels you realise just how similar we are and how easy it is to bond with them. If it was not the case i wouldnt have made 2 sisters/ 1 brother from lahore who see me as a sister, 1 brother from karachi/female friend from karachi. 1 older/younger sister from islamabad and 1 real life sister from islamabad at my workplace who said it would be sweet if i call her api. She said it reminds of her sisters back in pakistan. one of my closest friends is from bahwalpur, a city in southern punjab, and i have 4 kashra khors (younger sisters) and 1 brother from peshawar. Lastly i have a younger brother (nandro bhaa) from sindh. I’m happy that a movie recognises this truth rather than stereotypes and assumes people do not get along or are narrow minded.

Jeans, what is your fav song in movie? I like zindagi kuch to bata and tu jo mila. Fits shahida and pawan well.

Tu jo mila..lo ho gaya main kabil..tu jo mila to ho gaya sab hasil. Mushkil se hi asan hui har manzil..kyon ki tu dhadkan main dil. :slight_smile:

Yeh i know i had a feeling it was incorrect so i thought i would correct it. Hope you enjoyed the movie. The little girl was amazing. All shahid afridi fans would have enjoyed some key moments in the film :p ;) :) Nazuddin playing the pakistani journalist Chand Nawab with his scenes In second half.

What a film seriously!!!!! i tried so hard to not cry but i was teary eyed thru out :) salman is jaan of the world!!!! True star not just on screen but off too. India is lucky to have him besttttttt man!

Yes, but OP was made before the movie was released, and it was based on what I read in certain articles, which is why I wrote it. Unfortunately it was not true. It would have been such a beautiful message.

Obviously its equally beautiful if a hindu or sikh find (positive) inspiration from Islamic teachings.

Sach mein bahot pyari pic thi. You're not the only one to have cried. :) i watched it with some pakistani friends and we had tears at end..especially last scene. I loved the characters of munni and chand nawab. Salman was awesome as well.

Oh cool! Are you Indian?

Yes im indian :) living abroad. I have lot of pakistani friends. Which part of pakistan are you from? Golgappay are my fav snacks :) lagta hai hum dono ki dosti achi rahegi. My pakistani friend told me about how the movie was and she is a khan so i joked khans to cha gaye hain...with salman khan in bb and mahira khan in bin roye. :)

Oh nice to have you, you have gazillion posts more than me hehe but im very happy that Indian members are on this site too. :) and if you see any hate for you or your country here please message me i will show them good! I'm from Lahoreeee in Pakistan in Punjab province. I love salmann and shahrukhhhh but mahira is not my favourite hehe

I guess articles did not clarify much.
Why do you think it would have been better had salman khan been a bajrang bali devotee and muslim. It would bring unnecessary controversy. Given message of film i feel it is more powerful that he plays a hindu guy from conservative background who due to his interaction with pakistanis learns to shed his misconceptions. i really liked bhar do joli meri which i know is originally a pakistani qawaali.
Id like more movies and shows from both countries without negative stereotypes. I know there have been anti pakistani movies in past but most successful ones in india have been pro both country ones like pk, namaste london and veer zaara. Another thread mentioned some stereotypes but i honestly did not see those when i watched the movie. Without giving it away..people say it shows only city areas but i think since movie was shot in india they felt it is easier to create villages and small cities common to both rather than big cities like karachi lahore etc which will be harder to be accurate. Neither i saw any more poverty than with indian side. Instead i saw both sides having snow capped mountains', lot of greenery and majestic deserts. I dont know any group which is not stereotyped in bollywood or even any film industry..south indians with accents (chennai express), kareena's overly caste conscious father, indian christians with hindi accents who like alcohol, foreign raised desis who are morally corrupt (pardes), racist punjabi hindu mothers (2 states) and white people usually with evil intentions. in the movie i thought the pakistani characters were more open minded. i see nothing wrong with maulana having religious cap after all he is a religious authority nor anythimg wrong with the hijabs in the.movie. Instead it disprves a stereotype that those with religious clothing are narrow minded. Clothing doesnt define thoughts as maulana saab was quite liberal minded.
The overdose of janab may be to define they were on the pakistani side of border. i did not notice any excess use of hum by heroine..what stereotype is that? Kareena played an indian girl in movie and munni the pakistani heroine did not talk. Her mother was in movie for a little while but i dont recall hum being used a lot.
the red and green flags were used outside a dargah from memory and i have seen similar use of flags in bollywood songs about dargahs eg deewani deewani main tere daras ki deewani.
Hopefully i didnt reveal too much above. I do think you will enjoy the movie.

Thanks for welcome :) and welcome to gs. I am from lahore's sister city delhi :) I have been gayab for a while and phir se gayab ho jaongi shayad. Dont worry before long you will have many times more comments than me with time Inshallah. I have made lot of pakistani friends here, on quora and fb. Quora definitely has better quality members than fb. Im also happy to see more members from lahore here. 2 of my good friends are from lahore. One of my closest friends is from bahwalpur. Aap ke personality ke waje se log kehte honge jine lahore nahi dekha wo jiya nahi? :p btw i am female. Some people said they cant tell by my username.

Do you watch humtv dramas? My favs are humsafar, zindagi gulzar hai, shankht and just recently watched dil ka kya rung karun. I watch with my parent. I love mahira, sanam saeed and saba qamar but i love them less than my lahori friends and friend from bahwalpur. :) my pakistani online friends are sweetest and they are gems.
sure thanks for the offer i will message you. If you happen to see any hate by any indian trolls message me as well :) mujhe showbiz pak ke lily ji se darr lagta hai. Hum yahan hi zyaada post karte hain. Hehe. mods have helped in past. but most people here are quite friendly. I have made an api from islamabad.
i will visit my friends in lahore and i hope we become good friends. Aap se bhi milne aayenge..permission leke aayenge..lekin taarom ke neeche se nahi hawaijaaz mein ayenge :) :p
sorry i was tempted to mention this dialogue from movie.

Tu Chahiye .. tu chahiye sham o subh tu chahiye..