Bait

Not baiting wala bait. I am talking about the spiritual guidance deal may be its spelled bayat? I have read much about it , basically how people sign up with one spiritual teacher for tazkeeya nafsi. Bearing in mind there are many who donot sign up with any one person yet visit many scholars and seek advice from them to improve the quality of their knowledge and consequently actions. Whomever you select, you basically consider them your teacher or mentor .You might discuss with them your qualms, misgivings, think up solutions and furhter your ability to follow their orders. This background i am giving to people who are hearing of this for first time , forgive me if i am doing a poor job or better yet add what ever you know on the matter.

For folks who know of this (most people do in pakistan). What is your take on it? Do you like the idea of a teacher and want to sign up with one or would you rather visit many, appreciate few and agree with fewer still without signing up? Some people paint quite a hard picture of it and not that i am saying its easy to offer that sort of adab but recently i chatted with someone who changed their view on the matter. Now one view that i am currently weighing up on is that we do need a mentor to show us the ropes, its just easier to pick one that satisfies you and then utilize their help and knowledge to improve our own, makes you more focused perhaps. So wondering what is the guppy take on the matter.

Few years ago i was working at hotel as part time waiter i was thrown out from home,... and it was a Muslim hotel next to Mosque, i made a habit of praying 5 times from their.

their was a guy who is regular customer and once in a while i see him in the Mosque too, one day he came and start talking about a "PIR" .. and offer me to Bait on his hand. The Pir sahab is in Pakistan, so bait process happened over the phone. Pir Sahab give me some dua'ein to pray .. and told the guy to guide me further,. .which he did. I still have a book of Dua'ein by him. Basically bait is, you are selecting certain individual to your guide towards the Allah. Everything will be go through him.

I wrote everything just to clarify i have first hand experience with this, . .and i feel good towards it. After that Bait ... like a week i don't what happened to me i was crying for nothing for like 8-9 hours.. at job .. .in subway. .at home.. . OMG.

Final words are there is a whole big different spiritual world out their.. and i have little experience of it. It was life changing... and now when i get love drunk.. i am more with my creator then ever before :)

Re: Bait

I dont mind people selecting a certain knowledgable person/scholar to be their spiritual guide. But this whole idea of recruitment doesn't make much sense to me. Knowledge is Allah's gift and should be spread regardless of who is in your entourage. In good old days people used to gather up in mosques and discussed various matters with the elders - understanding was sought through mutual discussion and referencing. This approach perhaps makes more sense than going after a one-shot-kill mulla. But then, there certainly are very knowledgable religious scholars and one should consult them for guidance.

And then considering the fact that an overwhelming majority of pir's is fakers who constantly hunt around for people with a weaker faith - pretty much like myself - to join the 'crew' and spread the word. The whole business is disgusting and makes is quite difficult to tell which one is a proper religious scholar and which one is a rock-n-roll pir.

that is why janwaar we are asked to do our homework before we select one person as a teacher. In my experience these scholars donot shut the doors on anyone and are rather hesitant about the bait process however because they cannot give the same amount of time to every one and some people wish to seek their advice on most matters they choose to do bait with them which is like a promise of obeying them. In pakistan although there are many fakers, and i have heard that sometimes people do bait but zone out after a while so i guess it depends on the person who is doing the bait as much as the one who is beign the mentor.

interesting that you mention that because my next question would've been for people in western countries and how they maintain a link with their respective murshad. may be you can clear some things for me since you have done the deed yourself
1) how hard is it to follow them? i mean do they give you advice as per your level of practising?
2) how helpful do you think it is?
3) is theira time when you have misgivings about it?and why?

Let's clarify few things before i answer your questions according to my knowledge.

Taṣawwuf/Sufism has different school of thoughts, different way of interacting with Allah. The defination of Sufism is "a science whose objective is the reparation of the heart and turning it away from all else but Allah"

Their are many tasawwuf orders, some of the notables are:

1) Chishtia
2) Naqshbandi
3) Qadiri
4) Oveyssi

It all depends on your order which one you are following, in Oveyssi your Pir don't have to alive to guide you through.
Your Pir will normally advise you or assign a person whom you can ask questions.

2) how helpful do you think it is?

It's up to yourself, how much helpful you want it to be. As far as myself concern, .. i drink wine, i hate beer. But this has nothing to do with Pir Sahab. .and else. Personal Choice, ..

3) is theira time when you have misgivings about it?and why?

Not yet.

Specially my beliefs are twisted according to people, so it's better if you don't go on my advise. Their is countless work on sufism available in nearly every major language. Order some books and read it through.

But keep one thing in mind "Finality rest with ALLAH" ..

hmm yeap its all about testing the water, since u r wading them i ask. choice is upto me pretty much, i agree.

^^ drink wine and get love drunk !

and get staked in hereafer.

... yes !

^ chalo mairay thread say khisko.

Jo hukam...bhai jaan :D