Bahu Obligations and the Joint Family System

Re: why…

Will people stop trying to PRETEND living with inlaws is somehow Islamic

Bottom line is ur parents do have rights but when they cross the line and demand things that go against Islamic principles (like expecting DIL to live with them) obviously ur not obliged to follow them. Parents do have an elevated status but they should not be blindly obeyed.

It’s like saying Islam is against racism but my dad won’t allow me to marry a black man so I should follow my dad.. It’s common sense.. If parents are upset that their ADULT son is ready to move out and start his own family they need to get a reality check.

As Gaia already pointed out, don’t the girls’ parents bring her up, pay for her to go to college, support her etc? For someone married to an Arab supporting the ‘living with inlaws’ argument is a bit strange, 99% of Arabs would flat out refuse to give away their daughters to a man who wanted to move their daughter into his bedroom at home, they’ve always looked down on the Hindu-inspired joint family set up. When they do live ‘together’ it’s nearly always in separate apartments in the same building or complex, NOT sharing a kitchen, bathroom etc.

None of the Prophet’s (PBUH) family or companions practised the desi version of the joint family system and you won’t find ANY non-desi scholar recommending it. Anyone who seriously thinks living with inlaws is encouraged or is a plus in Islam check out these links:

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=7128&CATE=100

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=273&

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=12&ID=242&CATE=87

At the very least, a man has to provide his wife with her own separate apartment, even if it’s within the confines of his family’s home. The wife should have her own living area, bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen.

Imam al-Kasani states in his Bada’i al-Sana’i: “It is necessary to provide the wife with shelter as Allah Most High Says: “Let the women live in the same stile as you live, according to your means. And annoy them not, so as to restrict them” (al-Talaq, 6).

So what about the other family members?

If the husband desired her to live with his other wife or his family members, such as: his mum, sister, daughter from another wife or relatives, and she refused, then it will incumbent upon him to provide her with a separate living quarter.

The reason for this is that she may be harmed in co-sharing, and her refusal is a sign of harm. Also, the spouses need to fulfill their mutual sexual needs whenever the need arises, which may be difficult with others around. If the husband provided her with a separate quarter in a large home, which has a separate lock, then she will not have right to demand for a total separate house” (Kasani, Bada’i al-Sana’i, Vol.4, P.23).

In conclusion, it is the responsibility of the husband to provide the wife with shelter. If she demands it to be separate from the husbands family, then the husband will be obliged to provide a living quarter which is free from the interference of others and that it has a separate lock.

Re: why...

No where in Quran it says that a woman should have her own separate everything, even if it means the guy has to leave his mom and dad and break their heart. If they happily, willingly want you to go, that is another story. But really 99% of parents are not like that.

They want your company, they want their grandkids to wake them up in the morning!

No woman's demands are worth hurting your mom and dads feelings, that is a major sin.

Guys, run as fast as you can away from such girls!! Kiya koi larkion ke kami hai?

There are tons of nice pretty Muslim girls who will be obey you and look after your parents, leave these "demanding" girls alone.

No girl is worth hurting your mom and dads feelings.

a living quarter which is free from the interference of others and that it has a separate lock.

It just says living quarter, not a full house far away. Most houses in the U.S are pretty big, there are extra bathrooms, rooms etc..all with locks. No bigge.

If ur parents get 'hurt' so easily they need to get a grip. They have rights - up to a point.. If they get upset after that they need to get over it.

The akalmand cheez would be to move out before marriage.

Here I'll say it again:

My parents are self-sufficient, have jobs, and are perfectly happy with my thinking. My brother will probably live with them for the next 8 years or so. So there is no chance of the situation where I am abandoning them. It makes common sense that My wife will leave HER home, ghar, family and I think it would be easier for her to adapt if its ony me and her living alone. In later life when my parents' or her parents' need help then ofcourse Ill have them live with me, that would be common sense. What is so cold hearted and un-loving about that?

^ This post was months and months ago but I thought I'd say it again as this topic keeps getting back again and again

My parents never once told me to stay with them, I even moved out into a condo before for my **Ch ex wife. But I could see the approaching tears in their eyes, and it ripped me to the core.

They have more rights over me than my wife, I am obliged to obey them in whatever they say except if they ask me to associate partners with Allah SWT, other than that I have to pretty much obey them.
My wife has a right to shelter, cloths, food, and to not be treated cruelly or harshly. If they were ever unfair to her, I would ask them kindly.

But since my parents are so nice and kind, that will never be a problem. Even if they are mean to her she should bear it with sabr, that is better for her.

In Pakistan my Dadi, lives with both her sons wives, and my Dadi is a tough tough MIL. Yet her DIL's bear it with patience and kindness, and inshallah Allah will reward them.

Wife should be obey her husband. End of story.

Extra bathroom and kitchen is the BARE MINIMUM IF YOU CANNOT PHYSICALLY AFFORD ANY BETTER. Oh, and on a side note it's haram to share a house with BIL, how many men out there have no brothers there as well..

As for 'demanding', it's funny Arab, Oriental, Black Muslims don't find these basic requirements demanding, only desi men.. Are they so unable to provide what nearly every other culture of Muslims on earth has no trouble doing?

..when it doesn't encroach on her own God-given rights.. End of story..

A wife is allowed to demand her own living space ie her bedroom not her own house.

Once a man is married his duty is first to his wife (obviously If she was a good Muslim wife then she wouldn't have a problem living with his parents).

those who have the thinking of "wives can be replaced in an instance"- I feel sorry for. Your mother must have had a hard time living with ur father!

When a girl can leave her parents. Why can't a guy?

Girls are an amanat, they go of into the guys family. Not the other way around. When the koran mentions "and we blessed them with sons to be by his side " it means sons to look after and support you. Sons are supposed to care for their mom and dad. Daughters are supposed to care for their husband.

Girls go into the guy's family according to Hindu culture, not Muslim..

If what u say is correct **why is the brother in law described as 'death' **and why did NONE of the Prophet's (PBUH) companions move their wives into their parents' homes??

EDAL, u haven't managed to come up with ONE single reference recommending living with inlaws, only ur own personal opinion, yet ur making out ur argument is Islamic..

^Good luck at trying to reason with brick walls.

I'm sorry but that's wrong DAUGHTERS are supposed to care for their husband? So we're supposed to forget about our families etc? The latter part doesn't register with me though. I would never ever marry anyone from a diff country because just like guys are supposed to care for their parents. Girls should alway be there for their parents too. I don't understand how girls can abandon their parents and forget about the people who brought them into this world.

I'm sorry but this is my opinion. I'm not criticising you :)

'So, if the husband can afford to provide two separate houses or apartments for his parents and his wife, then this is the best option. However, in some situations, especially if the husband cannot afford this and if his parents are dependant on him, some other arrangements must be done, keeping in mind the privacy of wife.

Thus, if parents are to live in one home with the person’s wife, then privacy is required and no interference with private life should be allowed. The Qur’an laid down this golden rule saying,Let the man of means spend according to his means: and the man whose resources are restricted, let him spend according to what Allah has given him. Allah puts no burden on any person beyond what He has given him. After a difficulty, Allah will soon grant relief(At-Talaq 65: 7).’

Source: http://www.islamonline.net/servlet/Satellite?pagename=IslamOnline-English-Ask_Scholar/FatwaE/FatwaE&cid=1119503549136#ixzz10eKXt7EX

**%between%

You missed this: :emmy:

Eh, how did some people here come to the conclusion that moving out of your parents home means that you have abandoned them? Some geniuses we have here...really.

1) I am talking about parents here

2) By using the word "Hindu culture" are you trying to stay living with your parents is haram? Thats utter bs and you know it.

You are just pulling stuff out of thin air. I have mentioned Quranic verses, authenthic hadiths, which show the honor and rights of parents.

3) The prophet was an orphan and I think many of his companions parents were not alive at that time. Also in Beduoin culture, the various tribes were always living in close quarters.

If your look at the Quran and hadith, parents have huge rights on their sons.

Now look at this scenario.

If someone had asked the prophet that "my wife wants me to go to another house, but my mom wants me to stay with her, as she would be sad if I left" He would have told you to stay and look after your mother and wife.

^ LOL!!