Bahu Obligations and the Joint Family System

PFF you guys are pathetic, feel sorry for your husbands. Even though I wanted to move out at first, my wife insisted we live with my parents. What a good girl, mashalla.

Its not just money or health, mashalla parents have both of those. It’s that, they want some company. All my life they have raised me, paid for my college, cars, took care of me, and now when I am working I should abandon them? No way in hell. All they want is someone to have dinner with, someone to talk too.

All you girls forcing your husbands to move out, watch when you have a son raise him your whole life and he leaves you. Its gonna happen.

My parents have never once asked me to stay with them, but I know their feelings would be hurt if I left. Their my mom and dad, they come before any girl in the world. I would never put my wife or kids before them, ever. Love you mom and dad.

They are my path to paradise or hellfire. Wives can come and ago, man can have 4 wives, and its just down to 3 words, talaq, talaq, talaq, and its done.

But parents, you will always only have one set of parents, you will be known by your fathers name on youmi kiyama.

For a man after Allah and his prophet (PBUH), comes his mother. For a woman its her husband after Allah and his prophet (PBUH).

Re: why...

Whoz parents want their child to leave them ??? (even if they are financially strong and healthy or what so ever reason ) .

If you talk about any Average Boy/Male - at the age of 25~27 i don't see him being strong enough to have his own house , so instead of leaving his parents home and moving to rented apartment (which will increase over heads) isn't it better to live with them . And benefit from their experience of life

^ Agreeeeed

For someone mentioning Islam it's strange you've not pointed out that Muslims are DISCOURAGED from living in the joint family system, unlike Hindus.

^ Show me something authentic which says that if your parents would be really hurt by you moving away from them, you should do anyways. Because it would be a sin for you to stay with them, due to your wife demanding you to move??? BS. There is nothing like that.

In Islam it is said in a hadith, that 3 people are really unlucky

1) He who lives in Ramadan and isn't able to get his sins forgiven
2) He who has living parents and can't take care of them, thus fails to attain paradise.
3)I forget.

Point is, if you know your parents will be hurt and saddened by you moving out and leaving them alone, you shouldn't do it, esp for a woman. No good woman will ask that either.

However you shouldn't let them treat your wife unfairly or hurt her, but still you can't be rude to your mom and dad, plus they come before any wife. You should talk to them kindly and with words of respect and honor. Keep your head low in front of them at all times. Raise not your voice.

By making the hearts of my mom and dad happy, I hope to please Allah SWT.

Brothers, don't marry any girl that starts demanding a separate place for no reason. I made that mistake last time, such girls are nothing but trouble.

If my wife was ever rude to my soft spoken kind parents, it'd be a nice kick on the butt and out the door she goes, its easy to get a wife, parents though you only get once.

I told my wife this on our wedding night, **Respect my parents and family, and in return I will respect your family twice that.

Re: why…

SO I guess her parents "haven’t raised her, paid for her college, cars, took care of her, and now when she’s married she should abandon them? I think so! Because in Islam *her *parents can come and go but husband/ his parents will be forever.

:rolleyes:

Why would a girl want to marry a guy who clearly states from the start that she's expendable??

A nikah is basically a Wali (usually the girls father) giving the responsibility of the girl over to her husband. He comes before her parents now. Good girls know that, and so do their fathers. Girls whose family constantly interfere and poke their noses in their daughter’s life, are nothing but trouble and should be avoided at all costs.

In the Nikha Khutba the sheikh said that the prophet said that “GOD did not allow me, but if he did I would tell women to prostrate to her husband”.

That is the respect and honor given to the husband.

Now that doesn’t mean he should be cruel to her, or cut her off from her family. That would be unkind, and you are supposed to be kind to your wives. The prophet use to visit his daughters.

I told my wife, whenever you feel home sick you can go visit, she usually comes running back herself.

Again for a man, it’s his parents after GOD and the prophet, for a girl its her husband. **

There is no reason to compare parents and a spouse. each have their own place and without one of them there is an imbalance. No need to make a hierarchical line of who to have more respect after ALLAH.

Gaia say somthg logical/ sensible , u love to fight but u aint hav any strong point …come up with som somthg beterrr :smack:

EDAL i totally agree with you somehow ur points are logical n strong enough to stay with parents. But still that didnt mean tht on every single comment u hav to make sure tht ur parents r 2nd to none n girls always come after ur parents indirectly u mst b hurtin them.

They do, but in Islam the prophet was asked by a man who comes after GOD and the rasul and he repeated "your mother does" three times, after which he said "your father".

You have to choose your parents over any wife, unless of course they are totally insane and unislamic. Even then you can't be rude to them and leave them to fend for themselves, but should pray for their forgiveness to Allah, and make sure their provided for.

Edal , ur Palestinian wife read these threads or nt , jst invite her to visit gs somtime:)

Guys, pls pls don't abandon your parents. They are like umbrella.

Guys, give top respect to your susral. You won't succeed if your wife is not happy.

Girls, pls be obedient to husbands.

It is clear that after Allah parents are the persons who give us innumerable favors. They provide protection, food and clothing to the newly born. The mother sacrifices her comforts and sleep to provide comfort to her children. The father works hard to provide for their physical, educational and psychological (and spiritual) needs. It is a matter of common courtesy that if a person does you some favor you feel obliged to him. Verbally you say ‘thank you’ to him. You try to repay and compensate him for his gifts and favors. You feel a sense of gratitude towards him. So it is with Allah and with parents. Allah’s favors cannot be counted or repaid except by thanking Him and obeying His orders. After Allah our parents deserve our thanks and obedience for the favors they had done us. That’s why Quran lays stress on feeling grateful to parents, and doing good to them.

“And your Lord has ordained that you shall worship none save Him and shall do your parents a good turn.” (Surah Al Isra’ 17:24)

What does a ‘good turn’ mean? It includes obeying and respecting them, speaking softly and kindly, avoiding harsh words or harsh tone, giving them company when they are lonely, caring for their physical and psychological needs (especially in their old age), and praying to Allah that He may bless them and have mercy on them.

The only thing above respect to Mother, is the worship of Allah (SWT) – It is mentioned in Ch.17, Verse No.28-29, it says that:

“Allah has ordained for you, that you worship none but Him, and to be kind to our parents And if any one or both of them reach old age do not say a word of contempt or repel them but address them with honour, and speak to them with kindness, and lower your wing of humility and pray to Allah (SWT) -‘My Lord, bless them as they have cherished me in childhood.” (Surah Isra 17:28-29)

Surah Nisa, Ch. No. 4, Verse No.1 says: “Respect the womb that bore you.” (Surah Nisa 4:1)

Surah A’nam, Ch.6, Verse No.151, says: “You have to be kind to your parents.” (Surah A’nam 6:151)

Again in Surah Luqman Ch.31, Verse No.14; it again says the same thing that: “We have enjoined on the human beings to be kind to his parents. In travail upon travail, did their mother bore them and in years twain was their weaning.” (Surah Luqman 31:14)

A similar thing is repeated again in Surah Ahqaf, Ch.46, Verse No.15: “We have enjoined on the human beings to be kind to his parents. In pain did their mother bore them and in pain did she give them birth.” (Surah Ahqaf 46:15)

According to a Hadith related in ‘Ahmed’, as well as in ‘Ibn-e-Majah’ – It says ‘Paradise lies at the feet of the mother’.

That does not mean that if my mother is walking on the road and if she steps on muck and filth – that thing becomes Paradise. It means that after you fulfill your basic duties, if you respect your mother, if you are kind to your mother, If you are honorable to your mother, you will Inshaallah enter Paradise.

Another Hadith related in Sahih Bukhari in Volume 8, Ch. No. 2 Hadith No. 2, as well as in Sahih-Muslim – “It says that a man asked the Prophet: ‘Who requires the maximum love and respect and my companionship in this world? The Prophet replied – ‘your mother’. ‘Who is next’? – ‘your mother’. ‘Who is next?’ – ‘your mother’. The man asked for the fourth time, – ‘Who is next’. The Prophet replied ‘your father’.” 75% of the love and respect goes to the mother and 25% of the love and respect goes to the father. Three fourth of the better part of the love and respect goes to the mother – One fourth of the remaining part of the love and respect goes to the father.

the last tingg ...

As to the reward for doing good to our parents a Hadith mentions the following story: “Three persons of ancient days were once travelling in a mountaneous region. The rain, thunder and lightning made them take refuge in a cave. Mudslide made a stone block the opening to the cave. The persons were entrapped inside. When the storm stopped they tried to push back the heavy stone to get out of the cave but they could not. They wondered ‘what to do now’. At last seeing that their joint efforts also cannot move the stone they decided to pray to Allah sincerely. One of them suggested, ‘each one of us should relate one good thing he has done in his life and beg Allah to move the stone. One said, “One night my old mother asked me to bring a cup of milk for her. During the time I milked the goat and brought it to her she had gone to sleep. I did not think it proper to disturb her. So I stood by her bedside for the whole night till she got up in the morning and then I offered her the cup of milk. O God, if this act of mine was approved by You please shift this stone.” The stone slipped a little but not enough to let them get out. Similarly, the second and the third man mentioned an act of goodness and prayed to God to shift the stone. The stone slipped down and the entry to the cave opened up. So the men got out.” This story shows how service to one’s parents leads to blessings from God and rescue from troubles.

I live alone, my husband came over to join me abroad. The other children are in Pakistan, and my MIL and FIL will NEVER force any child to stay wiith them, if they wish to live seperate they will say bismillah, in fact they will do all that they can to make the move easy for them. 2 DILs live with them right now, they are free to move as and when they wish, but they obviously must be happy to stay or perhaps financially can't do so. Either way, it's not a problem for anyone. If people want to stay with parents its nothing to be ashamed of, and likewise if they don't.

I am not saying living with the in laws is easy, it's ok coming from somene who doesn't live to say this, but if we try to put ourselves in that situation then we can begin to understand that you can't cut them off, they are your hubby's mum and dad.
Mashallah my in laws are great, they just want us to be happy wherever we are, I wish more people could be like this there would be so much less problems in families. It's all about being tolerant of each other. I wasn't always of this opinion but over time I have come to learn that parents are not your enemy they just want the best for their children.

A woman has a right to demand her own home after marriage, our religion gives us that right.

That's all I'll say on this done and dusted topic

A woman has a right to demand her own home after marriage, our religion gives us that right.

That's all I'll say on this done and dusted topic

Shak09 tht means if ur spouse demands somthg lik ths then u will goona leave ur parents to mak her happy???