Bahria town plans huge projects

Maxcorp-led group to develop RM3.2b Pakistan golf city
By ZURINNA RAJA ADAM
March 25 2005

LOCAL group Maxcorp Development Sdn Bhd is leading a consortium of Malaysian companies to design, build and manage the RM3.2 billion Bahria Golf City at Muree Expressway in Islamabad, Pakistan.

Besides Maxcorp, the Malaysian consortium comprises Ranhill Bersekutu Sdn Bhd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Ranhill Bhd, which will offer its expertise in total engineering solutions, and Akitek Jururancang Malaysia (master planning and design).

Pakistan-based Bahria Town (Pvt) Ltd is the developer of the project while Pakistan-based Mansoor Mazhar and Associates is the architect.

The Malaysian consortium and Bahria Town (Pvt) Ltd signed an agreement on the project in Kuala Lumpur yesterday

The two-year project involves the development of 323.7ha at Murree Expressway. A total of 1,700 bungalows, a hotel, apartments, schools, a hospital, a commercial centre and an 18-hole golf course with a clubhouse will be built there.

Backed by strong house purchasing power in Pakistan, project returns are expected to be between US$10 billion and US$12 billion (US1 = RM3.80).

The project is also said to be the largest private sector initiative in real estate in Pakistan.

Maxcorp’s chief executive officer Anuar Adam, however, remained tight-lipped when asked on the source of funding for the massive project.

Ranhill Bersekutu and Akitek Jururancang will be paid RM50 million each in professional fees.

“The funding is being worked out. It is not a small amount. A lot of legal expertise and framework are being worked out between the Pakistan Government and Maxcorp,” he said after the signing.

Anuar said Maxcorp has no plans to float its shares on Bursa Malaysia Bhd for project funding, as it will be self-financed.

Maxcorp has been involved in projects in Pakistan since 1999 and has successfully completed the Royal Palm Golf Course in Lahore. Its current projects include DA Country and Golf Club in Karachi, Jacaranda Club for Defence Housing in Islamabad and Mangla View Resort.

The total investment value for the three projects is RM1 billion.

Meanwhile, Bahria Town chairman Malik Riaz Hussain is inviting more Malaysian companies to undertake development projects in Pakistan.

Bahria Town, which is said to be the single largest developer in Pakistan, has four other projects in the pipeline. They are Bahria Lake City in Lahore; Bahria Margalla City, Bahria University and Bahria Twin Towers in Islamabad. The total project value is about US$35 billion.

“Based on our track record and the severe shortage of houses in Pakistan, we are convinced that Bahria Golf City will be a success,” Malik said.

In his last property launch, Malik collected US$800 million in the first five hours of the launch, and expects the same for its subsequent development projects.

“There is demand for about 700,000 houses a year, but the Government and private sector can only manage to churn out about 300,000. This is why I am so confident,” Malik said.

heres rendering for pindi bahria town
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTimes/Saturday/Frontpage/20050325232924/Article/Current_News/BTimes/Images/btown.jpg
click on urL ABOVE to see rendering.

Re: Bahria town plans huge projects

i just hope they set up a better security system.....Do you know by when the project is going to complete? I could get a house there. hmmmmm....

which project, they have many.

and yes there security system is gona be one of the best in pak, as the societys get bigger.

^ I thought it was all one big project. :bummer:

As for the security, I really hope they stay on top of it.

malik riaz is all over the newspapers in malaysia. check the image out below and has a rendering of bahria town pharse 7/8

http://www.pakrealestateonline.com/ads/public/img-1112970661.jpg

I hope that it will not be another ISLAMABD CITY. Last year there were roumers that the whole project is falling apart and government was about to set a inquiry committe for it.

that is complete rubbish and the inquiry committe was rumors spread by his enemies.

how can the project fall apart wen its getting more and more popular day by day, malik riaz has now become the richest man in pakistan, thanks to the huge amounts of money made this year, which has been more then wat he has made in the past put togerher. he is now coming in newspapers everywere, pakistan, gulf, malaysia.

This is a relevant article..

VIEW: Housing boom a solution to Pakistan’s problems —Malik Riaz
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_14-4-2005_pg3_4
Bahria Town has signed $11 billion agreements with Malaysian companies. Compare this with $2 billion offered to Pakistan for providing facilities to the US for facilitating the Afghan war

The Housing Industry is the largest industry of Pakistan. Pakistan is one of the 20 countries of the world where Real Estate business is on top of the list. According to unofficial figures, the turnover of just six housing projects in Pakistan is equal to the annual budget of the country. Recently, for example, the CDA sold two big plots in Islamabad for Rs 12.96 billion at Rs 121.8 million per kanal. To judge the depth of this deal one has to look at the second largest bank of Pakistan viz Habib Bank. It has 1,460 branches all over the country and is operating in125 countries of the world. The bank earns Rs 5 billion profit every year. Last year when it was privatized, it sold for Rs 22 billion only. Only two plots sold by the CDA fetched 60 percent of that amount.

In March 2005, our Bahria Town entered into an agreement with two large consortiums of Malaysia viz TAK and MAX Corp for the following projects worth $11 billion: Phase 7 & 8 of Bahria Town, Rawalpindi; Margalla City on 50,000 acres at Margalla Hills; Bahria Golf City on Expressway; 300 flats in Rawalpindi; 38-storeyed Tower for Bahria Town City Centre according to Dubai design; 60-storey building at Clifton, Karachi.

Just one Housing Project, i.e. Bahria Town, has signed agreements involving $11 billion with Malaysian companies. Compare this with $2 billion offered to Pakistan for providing facilities to the US for facilitating the Afghan war. Thus, I claim that in developing just one sector of Islamabad, Pakistan can get rid of all its foreign loans. By developing four sectors we can increase our foreign exchange reserves to match those of India. But consider the plight of the high-potential industry. It is facing the following major problems:

(1) A few politicians, retired army officers and bureaucrats in joint operation have formed a land mafia. Whenever a housing scheme is announced they buy 50-100 kanals at the heart of the scheme. They have hired thugs and have support from the local administration. They hijack the whole housing scheme or start blackmailing the owners. As an example let me disclose that a former minister purchased 100 kanals in one of our schemes. He was followed by a politician from southern Punjab who also occupied the land illegally. I am still in litigation with him.

(2) The local administration supports the land mafia fearing revenge in the event of their coming to power. They also make money. In 1996, the deputy commissioner of a big city demanded Rs 110 million from me.

(3) Every government in the past has tried to destroy this industry. The owners are forced to pay for election campaigns. They are blackmailed by withholding issuance of NOCs for utility services like electricity, gas and telephone. They are entangled in false litigation and harassed through the Revenue Department. This results in loss to builders of housing projects and those in ancillary businesses. Members of housing schemes suffer multiple losses. When I launched Phase C of Bahria Town in Lahore a nazim gave an ad in newspapers saying that we did not have an NOC. He also sent a reference against us to NAB. We had to go through an inquiry but by the grace of Allah the long and time-consuming investigation finally proved us innocent. But this disappointed thousands of our members and we lost their confidence. No fault of theirs. We initiated Bahria Town in 1996. There have been four governments since then. The Benazir government demanded a huge amount; Nawaz Sharif’s henchman Saifur Rehman initiated an accountability reference against us, and after October 12, 1999 my arrest warrants were issued by the military government. But Almighty Allah proved us innocent in the cases/references filed against us. Meanwhile, the housing industry has suffered a great loss due to this litigation. I request all government representatives, NAB officers and nazims not to take revenge from any housing scheme if they are annoyed with the chief executive of the project for not doing their bidding.

(4) There is no law against illegal housing schemes. If there is any, it is ineffective. Anybody can announce a housing scheme, advertise it in the press, and collect money from the public and escape with millions. When people lodge complaints, governments initiate action against owners of other projects. Presently there are 3,500 housing schemes in Pakistan. Only 20 percent of them are legal. The remaining 80 percent are fake schemes without land. They are looting their members and shattering their confidence.

(5) There are many government departments in the way of launching a housing scheme e.g. Revenue Department, district council, development agency, tax departments etc. When one manages to fill all their stomachs, one has to go to WAPDA, Sui Gas and telephone people to meet their illegitimate demands or face the consequences.

(6) Investors have been cheated many times in the past. Therefore they have lost their confidence in investment schemes including housing projects. For example, in 1996 a new project titled New City was launched in Islamabad under the umbrella of the CDA and the National Housing Authority. The investors were deprived of billions of rupees. Finance and cooperative company scams also hurt public confidence. This has resulted in hampering the growth of this industry. In a country where money in bank accounts is not safe, the response of investors is quite clear.

The solution is clear to me. I suggest the following:

(1) There should be fresh legislation against the land mafia under which they can be arrested and brought to trial in speedy courts. Government should form a Pakistan Development Authority at the federal level in line with CDA & LDA that should issue licences and regulate all housing projects in the country. The proposed authority should have representation from federal, provincial and local governments as well as NAB. The authority should work like the State Bank of Pakistan which controls banking companies in the country. The authority should have very clear by-laws with little room for bending rules and discretion. It should also approve provision of electricity, gas, telephone, water and construction of roads in housing projects. This will not only streamline and reduce the burden on housing project owners but also help in building confidence of investors who will invest in housing projects without any fear of losing their hard earned money.

(2) There is a large pool of unemployed people in the country. The unemployment is a serious problem. A country like the US can provide employment to only about two million of them. No country in the world is in a position to provide employment to all our people. Only the Real Estate and Construction Industry can do that. Every year Pakistan needs 700,000 houses but only 300,000 houses are built. This means that every year there is an additional shortage of 400,000 houses in the country.

(3) A survey suggests that as many as 60 workers are employed in the construction of a house. Accordingly, if the government undertakes housing projects for 400,000 houses it can create five million jobs.

(4) A huge investment has already been made in this sector. If the government does not take steps to prevent scams in the future, investors may lose trillions of rupees. This will adversely affect the economy of the country. The Housing Industry is in an alarming situation, which needs immediate attention. According to President Roosevelt of USA, the “Housing & Construction Industry can develop and can also destroy a country”.

(5) There are six million Pakistanis working in various parts of the world. They can invest $200 billion if they are assured protection of their investment by the government. Schemes have been launched to attract the huge investment in Dubai. If we do not take immediate steps to attract this investment to Pakistan it will get invested in Dubai or elsewhere.

I am of the view that the Housing Industry can help paying back foreign loans in a period of four years if only three large housing projects are launched. I have given my suggestions for consideration by the government.

Malik Riaz is chief executive of Bahria Town. This is the content of a speech he delivered at the NAB conference in Islamabad on April 6, 2005

60 storey building in clifton. wow.

And, who will buy these for actually living in them? Did Creekcity complete?

^^^^^^

ummm i think aliens will come down to earth......people obviusly, they are alllready sold out, (got sold out in 5 hours)

creek city isnt complete yet, DHA went bankrupt so construction stoped, but ARY have brought it and now construction is in full swing.

Here are couple of videos frineds here may like.See Bahria Town with your own eyes.Please down load video then play it to have more fun.

First is 4 mb Bahria Town Lahore

http://www.pakrealestateonline.com/Videos/SECTORCVIDEO.MPG

Second is full 60 mb Video

http://www.pakrealestateonline.com/Videos/Bahria.mpg

Allah Hafiz
Long Live Pakistan
Ch Mujahid Yasin

hello ganjo choudary

Dear Choudary Sahib,

I have seen these video. At least Behria Town is doing a great job marketing this town. I know the owner is a somewhat honest. But, my question remains, in a country of per capita income of less than $700 per year, who will buy these homes? We are a long way from an affluent middle class where people have good paying jobs and unemployment rate less than 5%. I don't even see this type of development in India whose economy is much stronger than ours.
My prayer is Insha Allah if we get honest with ourselves and our country, pay more attention to education and get rid of corrupt politicians and military men than I think we may have a chance. Our goal and target should be malaysia.

mrs. shamsiali maybe you dont no much about real estate, but let me tell you. bahria town is making modern american style towns in pakistan with state of the art facilities, no not for the rich. They are selling them at affordable rates and bahria town is mostly made of middle class.

and no indias economy is not much stronger then ours, it is stronger, but our economy is growing faster then theirs and should overtake them in the next 3 years.

and why do you want us to target malaysia,

Let me clearify something. I don't have anything against Behria town.
Without getting into an argument, on what basis do you feel we will over take India? Have seen how many International firms operate in India? Have you checked on their reserves? Have you seens how many companies like Microsoft, IBM, Oracle, GE, Boeng, Dell, CSC, Motorola, SBC I can go on forever have outsourced their IT functions to India? Today, in USA, you will not find any fortune 500 company that does not do business with India. From outsourcing alone, India makes at least $70 billion where out total exports are at $13 billion. How are we going to leave them behind is a mystery that Mr. Suhaib can solve. I would love to hear your logic.
This may be harsh but hear me out.
I think at this moment we need to make sure we are ahead of Bangladesh. To assess the relative economic and social decline of Pakistan in the region consider the following facts: from the mid-1960s to the mid-1990s, Pakistan was ahead of India in economic terms. Attention has been drawn to the fact that its per capita income has now fallen below that of India. At the turn of the millennium it stood at US$ 460 for India and US$420 for Pakistan. If the present economic trends continue, there is a fate worse than this awaiting for us. Bangladesh, until recently considered the basket case of the region, is poised to beat Pakistan. A combination of factors has made it inevitable that Bangladesh will soon have a larger economic standing than Pakistan. I certainly hope not.
If India grows at about 6 per cent per annum its economy will be worth about $10 trillion in purchasing power parity terms by 2025. If Pakistan grows at the rate of 6.5 per cent, its GDP will increase to $1 trillion. Currently, India's per capita income is just above that of Pakistan. In 2025, India's per capita income will be $7,000. If Pakistan stays the present course, its per capita income will be $4,500. Of course, the world does not always move in a linear fashion. But the assessment of the recent economic performance and future projections do not look good for us. If Pakistan does not get its economic act together, it will soon emerge as the sick man of Asia. With a population expected to touch 210 million in the year 2025, Pakistan would become the fourth largest country in the world. But in economic terms it will be scraping the bottom of the barrel.

At the moment, Bangladesh is behind Pakistan with a per capita income at $360. The size of the Pakistan economy today is about $60 billion. Bangladesh stands at $50 billion. But superior economic performance and rapidly improving social indicators over the last decade will soon take Bangladesh past Pakistan. Take a look at the average annual economic growth rate of the two countries in the last two decades put out by the World Bank recently. During the 1980s Pakistan grew at 6.3 per cent and Bangladesh at 4.3 per cent. In the 1990s Pakistan's was 3.7 per cent while Bangladesh moved faster with 4.9 per cent. Reinforcing this reversal of fortunes is the population growth rate. Pakistan has had one of the world's fastest rising populations. From 1980 to 2001 Pakistan's population increased at 2.6 per cent. During 2001 to 2015 Pakistan is likely to bring it down a little to 2.2 per cent. The comparable figures for Bangladesh are 2.1 and 1.6 per cent. For India they are 1.9 and 1.2 per cent. As a result of lower population growth and quicker economic development, Bangladesh will soon be better off than Pakistan.
These numbers are coming UN directly weather we like them or not. I think we need to get out of the fantacy world and face the realities. We can not get anywhere with the literacy rate of 20% or less. Just being able to write ones name is not considered educated.
Now why do I want us to target Malaysia? It is becasue we have a better chance to emulate them as to India. India is too big and it has a huge economy. They are going to be as big as China but I really don't care about it. USA is bigger and stronger then Malaysia but Malaysia is standing on their own two feel and they have the respect of even Americans. We need be a smaller but a stronger economy that does not have huge debt and upside down balance of payments. We need to export more and import less. We need industry before we have Behria Towns. We need to create high paying, techinical jobs. Do you have any idea how many of our graduates actually find decent jobs? That is everyone wants to leave the country and take their talents somewhere else. Don't you think brain drain is the worst thing that can happen to a country?

And yes, I don't know anything about real estate in Pakistan but I know a little bit how economy works. I know one thing. If people don't have good jobs they can't pay back loans that banks are so willing to give these days. For example, if a "afforable"house at Behria town is Rs. 50 lakh. How many people walking around with this kind of cash in Pakistan. There are many filthy rich but not the middle class. So, if I pay down 10 lakh and finance 40 lakh for 20 years at 6.5% interest rate, my payment will be close to Rs30,000 per month. Now, how many jobs you can find me that will pay me salary to afford this payment and feed my family for 20 years? I don't even think you can buy these "affordable" houses for 50 lakh these days but just for sake of argument.
So, you are right sir. I don't know real estate.

And, it is Mr. Shamsi Ali.
Thanks

lol very well said. i totally agree with u here. its just there is some very small % of ppl who r mad rich and they have all sort of means to get wotever the heck they want within their budget. but real question still stands, wots giong to happen to rest of the ppl, who r literally starving, trust me i do live in lahore and i know how bad it is around here. you see one damn huge house and right next to it, an empty plot, u see couple of families trying to make a living.

with no future in job market, education sys stands as it was decade b4, how do u expect middle class to progress, be in financial terms or educational for that matter. if your base doesnt seem to be strong to hold the foundation, how do u expect to built on it.

i sometimes get so frustrated at ppl who go on to praise Mushy gov and how its progressing and diong so well. i mean u did sum up argument pretty strong. wot can i say its just how it is these days around lol