Please share an easy bagharey baingan recipe.
Re: bagharey baingan recipe
okey easy walay
Baigan
2 medium tomatoes
1 small onion
salt
Sounf 1/2 tsp
kalongi 1/2 tsp
khash khash 2 tbsp (Bhuni hoee grind in coffee maker)
haldi tbsp
laal mirch 2 tbsp
imli rus 2 tbsp
2 tbsp ginger/garlic paste
Grind tomatoes, and onions.....In pot add 1/2 cup oil...add the grind masala, and dry ingredients+ginger/garlic paste.. bhuno..add 1/2 cup water...cover it for 15-20 min...oil comes out...add slit small baigan...also add imli ka rus. cover it. low medium heat until baigan are tender. done. serve with white rice :)
my mom used make it like that. I know long way hyderabadi style but that such long process.
oooo that sounds easy enough.
Thanks same!
Ditto…I love bagharey baingan as well. They’re a bit more tangy than the regular baingan salan. I think it’s because imli is added to it. Here are links to some bagharey baingan recipes.
Daawat.Com…Recipes…Indian…Vegetarian…Gravy Dishes…Bhagara Baingan
Bhagara Baingan | Archana’s Kitchen
¤ Bhagara Baingan : South Indian Recipes .NET](http://southindianrecipes.net/indian-snacks.php?recipe_id=446)
correction plz...Same no heydro use tomatoe for BB,,erdvelt.s recipes r good...
muje pata hai hyderabadi baingan mein tematar nahi daltai...
i know how to make pure hyderabadi style baigan, but woh zara long process hai as i said in my post.
i m married to hyderabadi......Niksik asked for easy recipe.
niksik…my mom has an awesome authentic recipe. she is out of town right now…will ask her for it.
hmmmmm
…i think i might even have it written down somewhere. I will try to dig out.
correction plz...Same no heydro use tomatoe for BB,,erdvelt.s recipes r good...
yep...authentic recipe does not use tomatoes.
https://www.khanapakana.com/urdu-vegetarian-recipes/Bharay-Bangan-2.html
here is another one from a cooking blong zaiqa . net
Baghare Baingan - Tempered Aubergines in a rich Sauce
Cooking time: around 45 minutes; Serves: 6
Ingredients:
- Eggplants/Baingan - 6, small, fresh and deep purple in colour
- Yellow Onion - 2, large, sliced thick
- Sesame seeds - 1 1/2 tbsp
- Poppy seeds/Khus-Khus - 1 tbsp
- Peanuts/Moomphalli - 1/2 cup
- Coriander seeds - 1 tbsp
- Turmeric - 1/2 tsp
- Coconut cream - 2 tbsp
- Cashewnuts - 1/2 cup (optional)
- Ginger Garlic paste - 1 tbsp
- Jaggery/Gud - 30 gms
- Red chilli powder - 1/2 tsp
- Small green chillies - 6-8
- Salt - to taste
- Cumin seeds - 1 tbsp
- Nigella seeds/Kalonji - 1 tsp
- Black Mustard seeds - 1 tsp
- Fenugreek seeds - 1/4 tsp
- Tamarind concentrate - 2 to 3 tbsp
- Canola oil
Method:
- Wash the eggplants and make four incisions, perpendicular cuts (an X), taking care the stem end is intact. Soak them in a bowl of cold water with 1tbsp salt to prevent discoloration. Keep aside.
- Put a small frying pan on medium-high heat. As soon as it warms up, pour 1 tbsp oil and the roughly chopped onion. Saute them for about 10-12 minutes or until slightly browned. Remove the onions in a plate to cool.
- In the same pan, add the sesame seeds, poppy seeds, coriander seeds and peanuts. Roast them evenly until they turn a shade darker and release aroma. Keep aside to cool. Grind them in a spice grinder to a very fine powder.
- Put the roasted onions, ground spices, turmeric, coconut cream, ginger-garlic paste, jaggery, red chilli powder, green chillies, cashewnuts- if using, and salt in a food processor or a blender and blend to a smooth paste. Keep aside.
- Drain the eggplants. In a wide non-stick saucepan, pour about 2 tbsp oil and shallow fry - cook them covered for about 4-5 minutes. Remove them on paper towel and keep aside.
- In the same saucepan at medium heat, pour about 1/4 cup oil and as soon as it warms up, add cumin seeds, dried red chillies, fenugreek, nigella and mustard seeds and curry leaves. As they start to splutter, lower the heat and immediately pour the earlier prepared blended smooth paste of onions and spices and cover the lid for a minute (This step is to infuse the paste with the flavor of the baghaar/tempering, an essential step for good flavor of the dish)
- Open the lid and mix it all. Let it cook uncovered for around 8-10 minutes adding a few drops of water if needed, untill oil seperates from the mixture. Keep stirring it occasionaly.
- Later add the shallow fried eggplants and half cup hot water (or more if needed to stew the vegetable)
- When the eggplants appear tender, after about 15 minutes (check by gently piercing a fork into the flesh of the vegetable), add the tamarind concentrate and gently fold it into the curyy. Let it cook covered furthur for about 3 minutes. Transfer to a warm platter and garnish with fresh cilantro. Serve hot or cold but do not reheat this dish.
This recipe is by Samina Jaleel
BAGHAREY BAIGAN.
ING:
Baigan / 5 nos,mark +at the bottom of each.
Onion / 1 med,boiled then grind(another method is cut onion in 1/2 and add 1 tsp oil
in the pan and roast the onion,then grind)
Lal sabut mirch / 5-6 nos.
Oil / 1 cup.
Garlic / 2-3 cloves,chopped.
Methi dana / 1/2 tsp.
Karri pata / 6-7 nos.
Ginger/garlic paste / 2 tbsp.
Salt / 1-1/2 tsp.
Haldi / 1/2 tsp.
Lal pissi mirch / 1-1/2 tsp.
Imli ka pulp / 1/2 cup.
Hari mirchein / 5-6 nos.
BHOONA MASALA:
Lal sabut mirch / 6-8 nos.
Zeera sufaid / 1 tsp.
Dhania sabut / 1 tbsp.
Nariyal pissa / 1/2 tsp.
Sesame seeds / 1 tbsp.
Moong phali / 2 tbsp,remove chilka.
Salt / 1 tsp.
In sub ko bhoon ker pees lein,bareek.
METHOD:
-Baiganoen main masala bher lein.
-Pan main oil dalein,lal sabut mirch add karein,garlic,meethi dana dal ker fry karein.
-Kari patta add karein,thora paka ker pissi onion add karein aur cook karein.
-Ginger/garlic paste add karein,salt,haldi,lal pissi mirch dal ker masala ko bhooney.
-Oil seperate ho jae tu baigan add karein,thora mix karein 1/2 cup pani add karein
mila ker cover ker ke cook karein.
-Remaining bhoona masala bhi add ker dein aur baigan tender hone tak cook karein.
-Imli ka pulp bhi add karein aur mix karein aur hari mirchein dal ker 5 min dum pe
rakhein,ready hai,dish out karein.
-Boiled rice ke saath serve karein.
AE, is your mom still out of town? If not, then can you please ask her for the recipe as well. I want to look over all of them and see which one sounds the easiest for me :D
Thanks!
I forgot all about this thread!
ok will get it for u tonight iA.
so I called her instead.
here is it:
-**2 large yellow onions, **fried til dark brown (but not burnt of course)and grind in blender. put to side
-10 small round eggplants (or if you cant find em 2 large eggplants (the long normal looking ones). If you are using round eggplants cut slits on top of them half way down. If you are using the other kind then cut them like you normally would (with skin).
- heat a thava on low and lightly roast 2.5 tbls** sesame seeds **until golden brown…remove and put to side
-now add on thava 3tbls **shredded coconut **and heat only a little…put to side
-roast on thava a handful of unsalted peanuts until you can smell it. put to side.
now grind (each SEPARATELY) your sesame seeds, coconut, and peanuts in a coffee mill. make into a paste.
fry lightly (alter to your liking) 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp red chilli pepper, 1/4 tsp huldey, 2 tsp zeera powder in hot oil.
boonify
add paste (coconut, peanuts, seeds) to you masala.
mix your fried onion paste in the masala as well.
add eggplants and fry lightly.
boonify
add 4 tsp imili in 1/4 cup of water. mix and add to eggplant
add 2 cups** water **to eggplant, close lid and cook until soft.
please try this…my mom makes it really well. let me know how it turned out.
p.s she said ask your friend to come over and watch her make it one day. she said you will learn to make it better that way. so when are u coming over? ![]()
Thanks AE!!!
When am I coming over?
I will have to discuss with concerned parties. ![]()
Thank the lord for this thread! I'm going to try some recipes which do NOT call for peanuts, bcos they made my last attempt at BB taste unpleasant.
BTW, madame niksik, I have a vegetable of the week (aubergine) thread that has more aubergine recipes, AND includes a link to another thread of aubergine recipes. So I guess one could say it is an aubergine within an aubergine. If I link this one too, it will be an aubergine, within an aubergine, within an aubergine.
That will be all.
No problem Niki.
Im sure TLK wont have a problem as long as he gets to eat :D
Thank the lord for this thread! I'm going to try some recipes which do NOT call for peanuts, bcos they made my last attempt at BB taste unpleasant.
BTW, madame niksik, I have a vegetable of the week (aubergine) thread that has more aubergine recipes, AND includes a link to another thread of aubergine recipes. So I guess one could say it is an aubergine within an aubergine. If I link this one too, it will be an aubergine, within an aubergine, within an aubergine.
That will be all.
RH....you are only suppose to put a handful of Peanuts...maybe you put too much? or are u allergic?
authentic BB has peanuts in it...thats what gives BB it's taste.
^ OIC, I put in MUCH MORE than a handful, in that case I will try your ma's recipe next time, perhaps.
Ive done that once myself....too many peanuts can give it a strange nutty taste....lol
some people even use peanut butter instead!
sounds gross so I never tried it.
I made AE bagharay baingan recipe, sorry they ddin't turn out to be good.