Re: Bad Weddings
*i have attended quiet a few bad weddings i must admit but i don't want to state it here because i feel i would be making fun of those people then and its not good since what i feel is bad might be their majboori probably. *
Afro-Sheen : Yeah I really like it too when the bride & groom walk around and meet all the guests. I think it should be done on both the shaadi and walima day espeically if both events will take place in different cities and have a diff guest list. That way you can go around and thank everyone for coming. I think it makes all the guests happy and you get their blessings.
sara - i think people who dont really feel like sharmaing but HAVE to look like they are, end up looking confused and angry LOL. So I think if you dont feel shy then just smile and dont try too hard.
One of our family friends got married last month n they ran out of food for the ladies side..buh it wasn't their fault cuz the groom side had brought 100 more people then they had mentioned...i really felt bad cuz the brides mom was crying..buh we all made sure ke sub baration ko khana melley...:)
Of course uncles get fed first...woh toh itnay precious hain. Thats just terrible....
I remember going to a wedding where on the Walima day, the bride was on her phone/pda thingy the whole time on stage...texting away, while the poor groom was too sharmila to say anything. It just isn't appropriate. Plz no references to my comment :)
Oh & I really like it when on the Walima day, the couple itself walks around & greets everyone, I think its nice & cute.
Oh we did that, on valima day we went to tables to talk to everyone.
And yes, on teh valima i did check my fone. but dint get any calls.just alot of text msgs :)
Afro-Sheen : Yeah I really like it too when the bride & groom walk around and meet all the guests. I think it should be done on both the shaadi and walima day espeically if both events will take place in different cities and have a diff guest list. That way you can go around and thank everyone for coming. I think it makes all the guests happy and you get their blessings.
we did it too on our walimah..... :D
actually we greeted everyone at the door and then after the dinner we went from table to table to say thanks and for small chat and for group photos, just in case if someone was shy (or couldnt make to the stage) for the photos n stuff... yeah, it was cute and people really appreciated it :)
... bad weddings? yeah i have attended many where they have served the food pretty late...
i also dont like the wedding where u have to sit on your table throughout the wedding and listen to peoples boring long speeches and watch the entertainments/dances on the projector. it feels like u r in a confernce or something
1 common thing i'm seeing here is to treat the guests well!
definitely! :)
we had a much more casual wedding than normal, and no stage, so we only sat at the head table for eating and speeches... the rest of the night we were circulating and socializing and dancing. it was fun! i so want to get married again (to the same guy of course!)- its the party of all parties!
i loved your wedding pics sgc, you guys were SO happy! love it i could see the energy
:) thanks hon!
can't wait to see yours iA... not too much longer now, is it?
yes, only 16 days (FAINTS 100 times)
yay!!!!
God! it must feel so surreal! just wondering… does it feel like time has slowed down or sped up? ![]()
^ acha.
but why, oh why do most girls have to leave thier parents ( i know guys do so at times)… kyouN hammey apney pyaarey maaN baap se itna dour kheNcha jaata hai ![]()
I know, right!!! mA, N was the HAPPIEST bride I had ever seen! You had that glow...
i loved your wedding pics sgc, you guys were SO happy! love it i could see the energy
Out of curiosity, has anyone been to a wedding where the bride or groom said no?
^Omg.. that's the mother of all bad weddings...
Haha imagine that though! And how could the guests just sit there and eat the food and stuff then? You wouldnt know what to do!
Alhumdulillah I’ve never been to one… but heard one from my Mum (it happened before my Mum was married, the ppl lived in her street)… i’ll shorten it to dot points:
family was financially a bit unsettled, parents passed away, brother decides to save up for his sister’s wedding… did the best he could and got together jeheiz for her and what not
come the wedding day… the jeheiz has ALREADY been sent to the dulha’s house. @ the Nikah ka time… the moulvi is stopped from proceeding and the groom makes a stupid demand; he wants a motorised scooter… and the bride’s poor brother was like “i dont have any more money”. Woh cheap dulha arh gaya and said that if i dont get a scooter then i won’t say “yes”… on top the groom’s father also backed his pathetic son up!
the buzzurg come in and they decide to tie the broom and his father up for being such pricks! ppl start throwing things at 'em, old ladies take off their jooti’s and start hitting, cursing, u name it… the groom’s uncle runs to the police station to get help!
the police came, found out what had happened, and decided to add a personal touch and gave the groom a stick or two. and told the rest of the ppl to knock themselves out bashing the groom up ![]()
they decided to call the wedding off (shukr) and some of the ppl went to retrieve the jeheiz, and got it back peacefully enuf.
an old uncle from the mohalla said “yeh bachi dulhan ban ke beithi hai, aur yeh aaj apney susraal hi mein lotey gi”… so he went home, woke up his jawan son and said “son, you’re getting married”… brought his son to the hall… the nikah was carried out and I am praying that they lived happily ever after, ![]()
^Oh wow, that's crazy. I heard alot of stories about people saying no in pk as well and they're usually over petty things like you mentioned.