Bad thoughts

If you get a bad thought and it stays a bad thought is never even vocalized, then do u get punsihed for it later on? And no i dont mean dirty bad thoughts but rather mean thoughts like “oh that person is so ugly!” i wud never say it but like lets say i didnt like someone’s character, i wudnt say that to them or anyone else either, but i wudn’t talk to em either… i mean as long as i dont say it or come off as two faced is that bad? :bummer:

Re: Bad thoughts

Its better to ask a scholar i must say.

What my poor knowledge is, it depends what really are the thoughts, some thoughts are sin.

49:12 O ye who believe! Avoid suspicion as much (as possible): for suspicion in some cases is a sin:(Quran)

icono, this suspicion is I believe "shak karna", not really "thoughts" as original questioner asked.

having just 'bad thoughts' doesn't earn you sin but its discouraged to have them in first place.

I thought bad thoughts are a sin...after all, intentions are paramount to action in Islam...right?

Of course, converting that bad thought into an action, like vocalizing it, is worse than just thinking it...I do think bad thoughts like what you describe would be sinful.

Bad thoughts earn you sins when you carry them out (act upon your thoughts) while for good thoughts you earn 'sawaab' whether you carry it out or not.

So i can go on thinking someone's ugly or stupid but i won't get punished for it unless i actually say (for example) Kaleem u r a stupid ugly person... yayyyyyyy :D

God knows best. Why take the chance by thinking that if you're scared of the punishment? Furthermore, why degrade your character by being the type of person who views people and judges people in a way they dont want to be viewed or judged?

The beauty of Islam is that it is the most logical religion.

The most beautiful of all other man-made religions and it speaks of the Mercy and Blessings of its Lord.

Islam explains every single bit and byte but us muslims have become so ignorant of our own religion that when we talk about it, instead of saying it firmly and instead of confirming we speak of our desires and we create our own images of things. Our thought process becomes greater than of what ALLAH:swt: instructed us in Quran or what His Prophet:saw: showed up in his life and what his companions Ridhwaanullah ALyehaY A’jma’een carried out in their pious lives…

Quran and ahaadeeth already teach us that Every Evil and bad thought is from Shaitaan for he is our open enemy. How in the world one will get punishment of things that are not of the person but whispering of Shaitaan La’een? Al Aadil - Allah - will never punish us on things which are not in our control.

Our bad thoughts are not in our control. The only authority that is given to Shaitaan over us is that he can only suggest. He can not make us do things. Never. It’s our own free will that carries out good and bad actions. It’s again all about Control.

It is again Mercy of ALLAH:swt: that controlling our bad thoughts by not acting upon them (which are suggested/whispered by shaitaan) earn us rewards NOT sins. That’s what it means when ALLAH says in Quran that He will replace the bad deeds to good deeds.

And look at the blessings of ALLAH:swt: on His servents that any good thought (which is always from ALLAH) earns us Sawaab even if we do not act upon them. Just making an intention of acting upon such thoughts gives us sawaab and when we carry out for whatever good we intended, the reward becomes ten folds.

This, my friends, is what Islam is all about. And yes, Allah:swt: and His prophet:saw: know best and they teach us best of what they know.

:subhan:

So Anwar, thoughts are no casue for punishment, and it's only when i make those thoughts known, verbally or with my actions, that I am responsible for them?

Bad thoughts are not in your control??? Are you kidding me? You can totally train yourself to think in a more positive way than “He’s pretty, He’s ugly, she’s pretty, she’s ugly”. I’m sure you can put some effort in and force yourself to think “Well, okay, I shouldn’t think she’s ugly, but rather, I should focus on better things”.

:rolleyes:

AQ tell me where in the Quran it says that bad thoughts are OK?? Bad intentions are NOT OK. You can have a good act, and it doesn’t count, because you had bad intentions. If bad thoughts are halaal, then doing something good with a bad intention is also perfectly 100 percent halaal.

So should we all do charity just so that we can make ourselves look good or get rewards? Is that an Islamically good person?

Really? Because I think such a person is dirt shallow.

Yes… Because Bad thoughts are whispered in the hearts (Qalb) by Shaitaan.

Like a few have stated and from the little that I know, you are not held accountable for the ill-thoughts that you may have in your mind, so long as do not act upon it.

Also, like it has been mentioned, why indulge into it when we can try to fix it (ie. by trying your best to not think bad about others)?

that comes under controlling ourselves and hence an oppertunity to get rewards.

Sara*h:* you can call 1-877-why-Islam

and ask them this question :P

The dawah project of whyislam.org is an excellent program for both muslims and non-muslims - a sub chapter of ICNA initiated by Maulana Mufti Yousuf Islahi (india)

That is colled controlling your nafs, you can ALWAYS suppress bad thoughts and intentions, who says you can’t?

Well, you are asking AQ to prove his point by Quran while you posted your own ideas/thoughts without quoting Quran, can you backup YOUR views with Quran and/or Sunnah?

BTW: AQ didn’t say that bad thoughts are “halaal”, did he? However, keeping the bad thought in mind and not rejecting it is not necessarily a sign of “healthy” brain, just like eating bad food may lead to bad health, you should stop yourself from bad thoughts.

why even think about some1 being ugly? is their ugliness bothering you? making life difficult for you? if they are ugly then let them be. use your time and thoughths for something better than those ugly people. as far about it being a sin? well amal ka daromadar neyat pe hota hai so no accountability on that part but still...such thoughts are not the sign of a healthy mind as captain1 so rightly said in his post.

Guys i was joking... i dont go around thinking ppl r ugly, but i dunno, sometimes im alarmed at the thots that run thru my head and i was worried bout it :( Honestly, i'm not a mean horrible double-faced person :(

bhai sahab AMAL kaa daaromadaar niyat par hotaa hai, niyat kaa Amal par naheeN.

either way…daromadar to hai na…idher ho yan udher :stuck_out_tongue:

hadeeth is:

Innamal A’amaalo Bin Niyaat.