backbiting mil and sil

Re: backbiting mil and sil

Devoted....IMHO just don't waste your energies on such things. Once in a while anyone of us can be silly, backbiter n all....just try to keep yourself on track n hopefully they'll soon be back on the track too, InshaAllah!:)

All this backbiting n gossips are usually used to invoke anger .....which almost always end up causing serious relationship damage.Try not to go that way....!!

We are not destined to be in this world forever.......everyone is supposed to leave sooner or later.Let's not petty issues disillusion us from admiring each other. There must be something good in your SIL n MIL ....try to discover that n value that. As a Muslim you are mashaAllah very lucky k you have the power of prayer. Pray to Almighty n have patience.....you'll sure be rewarded, if not here then in hereafter, InshaAllah!

I hope it didn't offend you.....it wasn't meant to.

This is really sad. Devoted, I pray things get better for you Ameen.

all i can say to you is what i say to myself, have patience, make dua and remember that Allah is the best of planners and after hardship there is always ease, i was speaking to my brother and he said that the truth always comes out so this lying backbiting wont go on your husband will be exposed to the truth whether he likes it or not.

I pray that Allah makes things easy for you and puts mercy in their hearts for you and shows your husband the truth and increases the love and mercy between you's.

jazakallah for all the kind words, please keep me in your duas.
i had an arranged marriage but i apoke to my husband before marriage and also my nand who waas soo sweet, i loved her i thought she was so nice to me as well we used to spend ages talking on the phone, even after the nikkah thjings were great i was so happy, i was determined to be the best bhabi in the world to both my nands and be the best dil to my mil and fil and treat them with respect and love them as my own family but post rukhsati and post living with my in laws i started to see the real world.

impulse you’re right if the wife is wrong the hubby should take the mothers side but when blatantly the wife is in the right should the husband blindly say yes to everything his mil/sil say??? i dont say anything to my hubby i dont complain about his family even though their behaviour and there chalaak way of talking to me can be nasty, but if i happen to say one thing innocently or my family does its like owlrd war 3..i get a grilling from mil sayiung why why why why?

il tell you some of the situations which i have been through. for a start soon after the rukhsati i was on the fone talking to my cousin justgeneral chit chat, it was aroung maghrib time, and i could see a shadow outside the room where i was sat, and guess who it was my beloved sil listening to my conv. soon after i moved in they decided to get rid of extra fones in the house and just have one house fone in the main room where evryone sits all the time so that whnever i got a fone call they could listen and analyse my conv.

i fell ill soon after rukhsati and they believd i was ill from b4 but had hidden it from them. my sil is in the uk, whenever she visists, she’l fone home to her parents and just talk talk talk.when she came to visit me here whilst i was staying with my father our kitcehn was being done so i couldnt make her dinner, i just served tea with a varioety of other tea things, which was the bioggest mitsake beoz soon after i spoke to my hubby and he was like, why didnt you serve her dinner ??? i was like kitchen being done (there was a builder working on it wen she came) he was like no its becoz u dont giev my family importance thats why…i was like did she say it he was like dont u dare say anything abt her i asked her did they serve dinner, she didnt say anyting about u (how thick does he think i a am?)

then another time she foned and i said im coming round wat u upto? iw as like i was going to my cousins but its ok i wont go u come over (how nice it dat?) she was like nahe chalo rehne do..i was like NO COME IM not going, then she was like no no and then asid bye, so i knowing wat shes like i foned her 5 minutes later and said look i m not going anywhere just come over ok she was like no. so then a few days later i spoke to my hubby hw was like tum nai uss ko ghar anai sai roka kyun tha? meh nai ussai ab mana kar diya heh wo ab tumhare ghar nahe aye ge…he was really angry i was just like wat the hell and started crying and saying thats not true (btw i was pregnant throughout all this crap and had a premature baby) and obv it was my sil stirring again…coz my hubby was in pk at this time so how would he know wat was said over the fone.

so me feeling really guilty and wanting to please evry1 foned her and asked for her forgiveness i was like just come over, i know he’s stopped u from coming becoz of me but come she was like.so next day my brother was supposed to pick her up at 6pm coz he football and other classes going on around 1-5pm. i tolkd her that, she was like 6pm is too late i cant come, (i had already started making dinner for her) i was hes got football so he said 6pm, she was like forget it i cant cum, meh tou har dafa zaleel hojate ho jab tumharai ghar ana ho, koi na koi rukawat ajate heh, i was lik silent couldnt believ she said that, i pu tthe fone down and told my mum, was crying and my mum told my brother to just pick her at 3pm, so he was mad :mad: coz he got late for football but picke dher up anyway.

anyway i cant be bothered going into the other crappy stuff, i havent even told u the stuff aout my mil.but now we (sil and i) can barely get 10 minutes of talk done through the fone mainly becoz i dont like two faced people.becoz i know what shes really like its awkward and you can feeel the fakeness its disgusting.

they are just plain nasty, and just dont understand how they do it, how can they be so sweet to your face but then they are just horrid behind your back, but they are horrid to my face as well.my hubby just doesnt see it he thinks his sis and mother are just so great, before rukhsati he was like my family are really diff you’l really like them and i did really like them pre rukhsati but after living them ive come to realise they are just like any other stirinng complainig in laws.

I dont think taking sides is good, sure husband can understand more about his wife than any one else.

but if wife is on the wrong side, husband should explain to her thats not right which mostly taken as “”" oh you are siding with them without thing whats right and wrong.

^ Thas why i emphasized the "won't ever".. meaning some(most) guys will blindly take the side of their mom/sister even if she is wrong..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sara516
Any guy who **won't ever* stand up for his wife is a wussy.. seriously..*

Very true Shak Kills, A man should talk to both sides and then decide who is right or wrong,

And there is no solution for backbiting in between in-laws, cos you are the outsider in there mind

My god what kind of fitna angez aurat she is....she is ruining her own' son's marriage

I honestly feel sorry for the husbands. They are usually stuck in the middle. What i have learned from my own situation is...never to hold your husband responsible for someone else's actions....be it sil or mil.

Devoted: I believe every word you have written about your inlaws. I have been there and dealt with all this. The best way is to focus on your happiness and keeping your marriage alive. Try to develop a good relationship with your hubby.

AFter every namaz Recite "Ya Wadoodo" 100 times awal o akhir darood shareef. Allah se sincerely dua karo ke He brings you and hubby closer together as friends. InshaAllah all will be fine. Have faith in Allah Mian and let him take care of everything.

I read somewhere ke aisi fitna angez auratain will burn in hell for ruining people's homes.

hmmm you know what i really think its the problem...women of pakistan have too much time on their hands...i think we should all make them work 5 or 6 times a week than they wouldnt have time to complain, back bite, or be nuisance to anyone.
anyways on a serious note i agree with mahru try to make your self happy dont depend too much on others...yes your inlaws are nasty but you know what if you dwell on it you will become sour....just focus on your self, sometimes one has to become selfish in order to have some peace...once your sil and mil realize that their behaviour is not affecting you, they will just give up being nasty...being nasty is not easy you know there is so much effort that goes into it, and if there is no reward in the end, than only a stupid person will continue.

Stop stereotyping!

A saas, bahu and/or nand can be evil!

Nia_khan:
don't think that all marriages are like this. You might end up with really open minded, understanding husband and inlaws that treat you and your parents with respect and love. :)

Devoted2Allah:
I think confronting the inlaws about all the mean things they are saying is a good idea BUT speak in a very respectful way and don't assume anything. sometimes this might work and hopefully the inlaws will take it in a good way and not make you seem like the bad person for speaking openly. This didn't work well for me but it might work for you depending on how your inlaws are.

AGree to some extent and disagree in others.
Yes work hard on establishing a relationship with SIL/MIL individually and establishing trust…they will get over the insecurities/concerns and come around…

Are you sure that you are not responsible for it in anyway?

There are always two sides to a story. I am sorry but I am a woman but I've had such bad experiences with women complaining about their inlaws that I just don't buy this crap anymore. Some tell the truth, most of them lie.

And I agree with Farhanna, sometimes Bahus are bad sometimes the inlaws. Or sometimes the husband himself.

Exactly MYwish.

There is a saying.... damaad ko kush rakho in turn he will keep your daughter happy...i dont know why its not applied by the boy's family...i guess it boils down to not respecting or valuing women's worth.

I personally think after marriage the couple should be free to move out of the house and try to build a life of their own and get to know each other. Once they have the understanding between each other than they will be better prepared to handle all the stress from outsiders.
After few years of marriage if the parents (boy's) feel they will just simply die without their son's presence in the house 24/7 than and only than the son should move back...warna yai larai jaghrai rooz chaltai rahaingai aur hotai rathai hain since no one cares about women'a happiness or feelings let her rot for all they care.

I am not a girl nor am I married, but I will say this: The way I plan to tackle this issue is have a conference. Have my wife and my mother (or sister) sitting next to each other and hear both sides of the story, rather than hearing one side and either:

1. believe my mom because I love her so much and can't hear anything against her

OR

1. believe my wife because I love her

I will only have to do is once or twice, then both parites will stop talking (back biting) to me about each other.

So I guess where I am going with this is here: Have a talk with your husband and MIL/SIL while both parties are present. Talk it out and let your husband know what's going on. Ofcourse one will be the liar and your husband will know who to believe in the future.

^that works for me! It's very practical since sometimes these kinds of things happen in a family and this is the only way to go about solving problems.

I do believe that inlaws should be respected and loved. But I definitely don't like the idea that MILs should be excused even if they do something wrong. Inlaws, DIL as well as the husband need to make an effort to make things work.

It shouldn't be all one-sided.

look people i know bahu's can be nasty too and most dont stay quiet but believe me i know myself and i would never do that kind of typical stuff to behonset i just dont have the guts,

i am positive i am not responsible, there are two sides and this is my side, my in laws have a habit of picking up on petty issues. i know myself and i know that i always try my hardest to be nice to peopole, i dont like hurting peoples feelings, my intention from the start of my marriage was not be a typical bahu that you hear about, even when they say things to my face i keep quiet, my mil called my family batameez becoz we didnt serve them dinner the first time they came to our house , but i didnt say anything, my mother passed away when i was younger and my father didnt marry and my mil said that hes not capable of taking care of a woman and no one owuld want to marry him anyway....i stayed quiet .....my sil asked me how many times i have intercourse with my husband, she said i want to compare and tell my husband which i thought was rude but not once have i mentioned this to my husband, she listens in to my fone conversations but neither have i mentioned that. there are lots of other things but whats the use, i dont tell myhusband coz i know it will cause conflict between us so i just stay quiet knowing that Allah will reward me.