Back your Local Cricket Team!

ABN AMRO Bank & Pakistan Cricket Board introduces National Cricket Pakistan (NCP) – the driving force behind regional cricket. NCP is all set to nurture our local talent & is committed to revitalize domestic cricket in Pakistan.
Back your Local Cricket Team!

KARACHI ZEBRAS – Formerly Karachi Blues
RAWALPINDI RAMS – Formerly Rawalpindi Region
HYDERABAD HAWKS – Formerly Hyderabad Region
LAHORE EAGLES – Formerly Lahore Whites
FAISALABAD WOLVES – Formerly Faisalabad Region
KARACHI DOLPHINS – Formerly Karcahi Whites
SIALKOT STALLIONS – Formerly Sialkot Region
PESHAWAR PANTHERS – Formerly Peshawar Region
MULTAN TIGERS – Formerly Multan Region
LAHORE LIONS – Formerly Lahore Blues
QUETTA BEARS – Formerly Quetta Region

All the eleven teams which featured in Quaid-i-Azam Trophy will be participating in the competition. Six teams are drawn in pool "A’ and while there are five teams in pool “B”.

Pool “A” comprises Lahore Lions, Peshawar Panthers, Karachi Zebras, Sialkot Stallions, Faisalabad Wolves and Rawalpindi Rams. Pool “B” has Karachi Dolphins, Lahore Eagles, Hyderabad Hawks, Multan Tigers and Quetta Bears.

Top two teams after league matches from each pool will progress to the semi finals which will be played at Lahore and Karachi on Jan 18 and 20 respectively.

Pool “A” matches will be played at Lahore, Sialkot, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and Peshawar while Karachi and Hyderabad will host pool “B” matches.

YOUR LOCAL CRICKET TEAM???

Re: Back your Local Cricket Team!

what else is "different" besides changing names? Is there extra money involved? any sponsors, any extra incentives for players to perform?

I am gonna pick the underdogs... GO Pekhawer Paynthers (in pushto accent)

kia nazar nahi a raha
ABN AMRO BANK???

how is it different from institutions/banks having their own teams?

sorry????
yeh tu sponsor hai....

How are peshawar panthers the underdogs? didn’t they just win the Quaid e azam trophy?

Karachi Dolphins :k: (i know they’re gonna loose though..)

watching Quetta Bears and Multan Tigers ..

Karachi Zebra's and Dolphins Zindabad!!!!

yeh saw big add is national dailys but the one thing they missed out was the names of players playing for each side. this could have add some sort of interest in little following. how and y should i support a team i dont know who is playing.
Besides national team is recieving hammering in Austrailia i dont think will get outstanding attraction.
Imran Khan's long lasting wish !!

L’ore day bubber shair tay Pindi day dumbay! :dhimpak:

karachi dolphins.... this is actually close to what Khan sahab has been asking to get done for ages. regional teams...its a positive move..

where is da' mp's???

Karachi Dolphins is great

The could'nt come up with a better name for Karachi Blue, Zebras....thats pathetic to say the least. I guess there are herds of Zebras running around in lyari nadi.....

uh oh!

Pakistan to rely on animal instincts

No cricket-playing nation has been more resistant to change than Pakistan.

The national team has relied heavily on spotting players with natural talent early, as was the case with current skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq.

But the common consensus is that following recent results, in particular a 3-0 Test series whitewash in Australia, upheaval is necessary.

"Pakistan’s recent defeat in Australia speak volumes about a faulty domestic set-up.

“We are not producing quality batsmen and it’s time we redesigned our domestic cricket, or Pakistan cricket will sink further,” said 1992 World Cup-winning captain Imran Khan.

Domestic cricket, despite its rich tradition, lacks a competitive edge.

The chief reason is that top players do not feature regularly because schedules coincide with international cricket commitments.

“Of course, the level of talent has shrunk but even the available talent is not groomed, not developed properly, due to a faulty system,” said Imran.

Pakistan has not had a sponsor for domestic cricket since 1997.

But that has now changed with the Pakistan Cricket Board, led by diplomat Shaharyar Khan, securing a new partnership with the Dutch bank, ABN Amro.

“We sponsor cricket and soccer in the Netherlands, motor racing in Brazil and tennis in Europe, so as part of our sports loving policy we have come up with cricket sponsorship in Pakistan,” said spokesman Naved Khan. They have promised to finance and promote domestic competitions and hopefully make them more competitive and dynamic.

Sponsors are being sought for each team and there are also suggestions that they should also be backed by members, like county cricket in England.

“This is the first step. Our task is to improve domestic cricket and with it [achieve] better results at international level,” said the PCB chairman.

“National Cricket Pakistan”, as it will be known, will have two first-class tournaments, namely the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy for regional teams and Patron’s Trophy for teams run by banks and other commercial organisations.

For the first time a Twenty20 Cup will be played, in February and March, in addition to existing one-day competitions.

And the teams have been named after animals for limited overs competitions to help raise public interest.

This was the idea of former Pakistan captain and ex-PCB chief Rameez Raja.

The two Karachi teams are called the Zebras and Dolphins, the two from Lahore are the Eagles and Lions.

They will compete against Peshawar Panthers, Multan Tigers, Hyderabad Hawks, Sialkot Stallions, Faisalabad Wolves, Rawalpindi Rams and Quetta Bears. “It’s exciting,” said Faisal Athar, who toured England with Pakistan in 2003 and is captain of the Hawks.

The standard of play in the early matches of the ABN Amro Cup has, however, been mixed.

The Rams were bowled out for just 96 in their opening game as the Wolves recorded a three-wicket win, but Faisalabad made heavy weather of their target before winning by three wickets.

In another game, the Zebras used up their entire allocation of overs to make only 146-8 and the Lions then rushed to their target in less than 20 overs without losing a wicket.

Club cricket and schools cricket, meanwhile, are also due for a revival.

“We don’t have any matches to play once the first-class season is over,” said Aamir Basheer, a prominent batsman in domestic cricket.

“I hope to see more and more matches once club cricket is revived and backed by the PCB.”

Changing a system is not easy. But this first step is both welcome and long overdue.

==================================================

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cri…tan/4168807.stm

do we even have zebras dolphins and bears in pakistan??

Before this change of names Karachi had two teams Blues and Whites and Imran had a problem on which team to support for one's city, now we still have two teams from Karachi i.e. Dolphins and Zebras. So I am not sure if it will work the same way as or have any additional advantage. Time will tell.

Karachi is a big city and its OK to have two teams, just like New York has two baseball teams (ie New York Yankees and New York Mets). Coz this way more players can play for Karachi (I mean instead of 11 players you can give chance to atleast 22 players)