Re: “Bachiyaan”
Re: "Bachiyaan"
I've heard my cousins in Pakistan use it. It's more like the equivalent of "babes" or "chicks" than "sluts" or "hoes". It was definitely casual but not necessarily intended to be disrespectful. But I supposed it can depend on the context and the sleaziness of the guy who says it.
Lol I found it weird too, I was like, what? Little girls?
Beta, sweater pehno.
Haha, I remember this pathan selling cloth in the bazaar once called me "baby" when asking "baby ko kaunsa design pasand aya?" or something like that.
I told him obstinately, I'm no "baby" that I'm a "woman" thank you very much.
He was like oh ok, sorry sorry.
Aj Kal Ki Bachiyan Bhe Na ![]()
I've heard my cousins in Pakistan use it. It's more like the equivalent of "babes" or "chicks" than "sluts" or "hoes". It was definitely casual but not necessarily intended to be disrespectful. But I supposed it can depend on the context and the sleaziness of the guy who says it.
Lol I found it weird too, I was like, what? Little girls?
Slang is slang. It doesn't make sense. Like chicks are actually baby chickens not cute girls. Yet since you lot are so used to English colloquialism its doesn't make a difference.
PCG i have exactly the same concern
i personally dont like the word bachi and the use of it except for little girls and that too as a third person
Look at the bright side . This is the beauty of our culture that we can use same word in different context and create totally new meaning out of it . Urdu/Punjabi poetry is full of it .
Btw its not the gun , its the man behind the gun .
…
bachi = chic in american…as in hot chic…
talk about blowing things out of proportion…
The desi telemarketer called you "BABY"????
:-O
Are they even allowed to do that? It's one thing when you're selling kapraa on the side walk another, when you're working for a multinational firm.
It is a karachitte slang for an attractive Babe or chick - It has nothing to do with the age , a Girl remains ' bachi ' till she gets married ..
common use :
O yaar kia Tight bachi hai - O man what a hot babe
It is a karachitte slang for an attractive Babe or chick - It has nothing to do with the age , a Girl remains ' bachi ' till she gets married ..
common use :
this is what i was thinking to post next. :@:
All karachittes think alike :D
that sounds cheap: tight bachi
urgh.
Lol first time i heard that reference for a girl i found it really absurd too, but then again most slang is! Its just urdu slang. However when said by adults, i know they mean well, like “betiyaan”. And also the word “baby” in desi culture doesnt necessarily mean “bay-beh
”, when dukaan waale use it, they only say it when ur there with a parent-figure. Also like in indian films, the assistant usually says “baby ko paani chaiyye”, like ‘maam’ but for the younger girls. However, over the phone in what is meant to be a professional call, its a no-no! ![]()
It's like some deviant coined the phrase and others followed. I even dislike the term 'girl', to mean female partner. To me it means pre-pubescent female.
That would be disrespectful thought, wouldn't it, if I called a full grown man a "bacha"? Wouldn't a guy take offense to that? Doesn't a man want to be called a man? I didn't think a man would want to be referred to as a kid.
At least whenever I've told Lizard or Boy number 2, "Ok, kid, ttyl", they're like "I'm not a kid"
shrugs So why call a woman a "bachi"?
Next topic of PCG would be that why don't those darn men take some responsibility and get pregnant, at least for 1 out of 2, to help out their wives.
urgh.
Only if you don't have it, then you would surely be jealous.
common use :
What is the lahori, punjabi, sindhi, kashmir, balochi, bengali and pathan etc slangs instead of this?
if I called a full grown man a "bacha"? Wouldn't a guy take offense to that? Doesn't a man want to be called a man? I didn't think a man would want to be referred to as a kid.
At least whenever I've told Lizard or Boy number 2, "Ok, kid, ttyl", they're like "I'm not a kid"
shrugs So why call a woman a "bachi"?
actually, when I was in college we(friends) used to use term bacha and bachi.
yeh uska bacha hai. => this guy is a bf of that girl. or this guy has an affair with that girl.
so yes, it is widely acceptable in karachi, but if you are speaking English with your guy and using **kid **he will definitely mind it.
urgh.
fyi, dont use word tight bachi in family gathering.
it is ok to use it in front of friends.