A complete beginner here ![]()
I just wanted to ask what’s best for a baby butt… wipes or water, cotton nappies (potray) or pampers?
Plz tell me what has to be done when a baby wets his nappies msn embarrassed smily
A complete beginner here ![]()
I just wanted to ask what’s best for a baby butt… wipes or water, cotton nappies (potray) or pampers?
Plz tell me what has to be done when a baby wets his nappies msn embarrassed smily
Re: Baby wipes and nappies
Are you a new mom? I don't have any kids yet but from my experience with other babies, water works if you're at home but wipes are better when going places. And I would definitely go with disposible diapers over cotton ones.
It doesnt make all too much of a difference in the long run. Wipes can seem cold to a baby but there are wipes-warmers out there, not too expensive, that warm-em-up before you clean the baby. the disposable diapers nowadays are just about as soft as the cotton ones and so much easier to deal with. It really just depends on what YOU want for your little one, what you feel comfy with because it never seems to make a huge difference to them!
If you are at home, nothing beats warm water. (Come on, we’re desi. Don’t you use a lota?!) For my baby, I just proper her in the sink with one arm and wash her up gently. (If you’ve never held a baby before, ask an elder to show you, or practice with a doll).
If you’re out of the house, baby wipes are the most convenient. They come in travel packs.
I’m from the US, so no one uses cloth diapers. Use disposable, it’s more hygenic. I personally like Pampers the best, but it’s about personal preference.
When a baby does number two, make sure you wipe or wash from front to back. Never ever wash so that the poop goes towards the pee area. You’re baby can get an infection (actually, this rule applies to adults as well).
Never leave a baby unattended when changing them on a bed or table. The baby WILL roll over and fall and get hurt badly. Don’t take that for granted.
Use Pampers :k:
same advice as Raatkirani (ohh..i just realized what your name is ..nice :) )
..and if the baby has a diaper rash, don't use vaseline like all aunties tell you too - it just locks in the moisture making the diaper rash worse. use diaper rash cream instead.
and please use water when washing your baby's bum. it's very sensitive, and wipes aren't the greatest. and if you're out, use a damp face cloth to wipe the baby's bum - rinse it out when you're done, and throw it in the wash when you get home.(and keep the ones for you use for baby's face seperate from the ones you use on his bum). wipes aren't the greatest of things on newborns.
btw, are you a new mum?
If you are using wipes then unfragranced ones are better, they dont give a reaction.
I always used water to wash my baby. Tasalli ho jati hai ke saaf ho gaya :)
and Pampers are the best. Too much hassle handling potray.
Pampers are the best brand out there in my opinion.
And I think You've had enough help from others already,
so that's all I will say. :)
When is the baby due btw???
At home I always wash my baby in the sink using the one hand method mentioned above. But wipes are always handy when going out or for messy #2's. I used to use Huggies or Pampers but I recently found some diapers at Big Lots which are surprising better than Huggies. They're softer, cheaper and never leak unlike Huggies.
Some people in the U.S. do use cloth diapers for environmental reasons. I believe that there are 'diaper services' than pick up soiled diapers and deliver them back clean. So all the work is done for you. You don't have to bleach and launder them everyday.
I agree, huggies leak!!!
Ooops. I ventured into the wrong thread.
Sorry.
runs away
im a mommy soon to be
(:insha: )
congratulations blushing vision
may Allah (swt) bless u wid a beautiful and healthy baby
Congratz BV..! ![]()
I used cloth diapers and a diaper service, for environmental reasons, but you can wash them yourself if you use the liners, which are wonderful. I think kids who use cloth are also potty trained sooner.
Alternatively, Wal-Mart brand diapers are just as good as Huggies, and Wal-Mart wipes are great too. Huggies wipes dry out too quickly in the wipes warmer.
Warm water sounds better, but do u mums use that method every time u change the nappy, or just a couple of times throughout the day? Cos it’s seems difficult, esp. with small infants and they’re so tiny and need to be changed every hour or two…bringing them to the sink sounds challenging too, perhaps bringing some water and paper towels to the changing mat wud be easier, i dunno ![]()
I’m not a mum yet, but i have a lot of baby experience so i agree that wipes r much easier and convienient when ur not home. U can get those foaming wipes now, that u just need to add some water to and they’re really good for cleaning no. 2 when ur outside. And yea, Pampers r good.
ohhh…congrats blushing vision! ![]()
My wife used cotton ones during nights & diapers during days .... I never undertood her logic behind it. She mostly used wipes but washed the children too at least twice a day (apart from regular bath).
Congrats BV.
[quote=KashmiriRainDrops]
Warm water sounds better, but do u mums use that method every time u change the nappy, or just a couple of times throughout the day? Cos it’s seems difficult, esp. with small infants and they’re so tiny and need to be changed every hour or two…bringing them to the sink sounds challenging too, perhaps bringing some water and paper towels to the changing mat wud be easier, i dunno ![]()
quote]
I have two children, and I used water every single time they did no. 2 at home. For number one, sometimes I’d wash them, sometimes I’d wipe them with a baby wipe of wet cotton pad. As they got older, it was definitely water washing all the way. I would feel bad knowing the baby wasn’t fully clean.
The diaper rash cream tip that was given above is golden.
Another tip for diaper rash: You don’t have to use baby powder. Plain cornstarch works better, and since it is unfragranced, it won’t irritate the baby. And make sure whatever baby powder you use does NOT have talc or talcum in it. That can be hazardous if the baby breathes the particles in.