Baby shower

I am trying to throw my sis a baby shower, unfortunately I don’t even know the abc of it. What are some of the things I need to do. I need all the ideas I can get. What do I need for the event. What kinda theme I can use. I also need to buy her a gift for it. What kinda gifts are preferable. I was thinking of getting her a crib or a stroller, do I look for anything specific when buying one? are there any brands for these too? if yes, then what are some of the best brands?. Have you ever been to a baby shower? Share your experience.

Btw shes having a baby boy, so wht kinda theme should be use?

Re: BABY SHOWER

preferably a baby boy theme... :D

Re: Baby shower

^ which would be :halo:

I would say Make everything Blue at the party :~)

Decorate the area where you are planning on throwing her a shower. Theme should be blue or yellow they both are usually fine. You can especially arrange her chair/sofa in a beautiful setting, vase on both sides with beautiful blue flowers.
*I know there are few rituals that certain family has - i think your mother can take care of that part.
*Make sure you invite all of her in laws otherwise she will never hear end of it.
*I would suggest as far as food part goes just do some thing light. For example make good 7-10 different items with Tea instead of actual food. That gets too boring . Ex. dhari barey, Alo ke samosey, keeme ke samosey, keeme ki biscut [pillsbury ones], bhel puri, gool gapey, fruit chat, fresh fruit tray, spring rolls make these vegetarian, different type of fruit jucie since its summer, You can use lassi or saknajween i like to put mint in mine - gives a very different flavor], Bake these together.. i dont know what excatly they are called but its mixed with dorritos- Doritos sour and cream and regular one], salsa [mild one], sour cream, olives, cheddar cheese, onion, tomatos and more salsa. It gives a wonderful flavor and nice snake for a party.

Everything from paper plates, napkins etc should have some sort of a baby boy theme.
When you go to buy the cake let them know its for a baby shower and they will take care of you.

Do a baby shower registry for her :D if not ---then when you are inviting people you can give out a list of items etc this way they know what to bring etc....
I hope i helped :D

Good ideas nia!

Google MM :-)
my cousins threw one and we've thrown a few as well and you can get tons of ideas from all the websites out there. They have a list of games you can play too :)

oh one of the games would be give everyone paper and pen and ask them to write as many different types of names for the baby they can think off :D

but catch is... using husband and wife's first names only :D if its too short use the entire name

it was so much fun when we did it

Thanx Nia that was really helpful, well thanxfully her inlaws dont live here :D. Its just going to be our immediate relatives, friendly friends and some other close friends. So there are going to be some goras at the party too (so cant put much spice in the food or serve lussi). I think i will give them a list to chose from for the gifts :D. Ooo that game sounds exciting. I just got the most cutest invitation cards for the baby shower :)

Thanx Rukhsarbibi i tried few but they kinda confused me. I guess i will try again :)

Game idea:

Buy a dozen or so different flavors of Gerber baby food jars. Peel off all the labels. But before you do that mark them with numbers and make sure you know which number is what flavor. Now, get a few disposable spoons and pass around wach jar in the room and ask everyone to write down what flavor they think it is. At the end do a count and give the person with most corecct flavors dozen pull-up diapers. Ok i am kidding about the diapers. You can give them a nice gift.

I don't know why desi people have bridal shower or baby shower. Its better to arrange a Quran khwani instead for blessings and make dua for both mother and the child to be. The best wishes one can give to them. IMO.

sorry smooth some of us are not as pious as you ....

google baby shower and you will find amazing resources and ideas...I am a bridal shower semi-expert.

I've only ever thrown ONE baby shower.
Or tried to throw anyway...... my freakin' sis went and had the baby the night before it!!!

^ :omg:

This is so hilarious :smiley: mashallah.. .Muzna yaar planning to sahi karni thi-- I think its safe to do it atleast 1 month or 2 months in advance.

My current new fav thing to do at a shower:

Get a bunch of white onesies(bodysuits) and get fabric paints, have everyone decorate them..such cute things! some great sayings on them.

otherwise..it's a party, decide if it's co-ed or girls only, invite friends, good food, decorate as you wish...

:slight_smile: hilarious, friend of mine went into labor with her twins the day before hers! we ended up cutting the cake /decorating onesies at the hospital.

#1) what is there to say that you can not have a quran khawani and a baby shower together

#2) some schools fo thought actually think that a quran khawani is not the right thing to do and it should not be read in a few hours but should be spread out over few days to properly read quran and to show respect… those people may say " I dont know why desi people have qura khawanis"

Hello Mmuuuu :hug:

I have some cool ideas :smooth:

Have a wishing well for your sis…when u will be sending invitation for the baby showers do tell ur friends that u r also having a wishing well for ur sis..basically wishing well is used to have lil things which ur sis can use it in the beginning like q-tips, baby lotion, pacifier, powder…where as u can simply make a box covered and decorated beautifully…

U can also send index card to the guests and request them to write TIPS for new mom to be and dont forget to bring this with u..but ofcourse desis :cb: will forget so u should have extra when there will be a baby shower so they can write at that time and then at baby shower make a nice box saying a sign of TIPS which u can give it to ur sis,u can also play a game that ur sis can read the tip and then she have to guess that who write this tip :hula:

U can do decorations watever way u want to do but blue ballons will look nice..when I did baby shower for my sis in law I made napkins in form of diapers with safety pins on it…I think ur Mom can help u with that and evryone loved it…

As u r the one arranging shower for her so I woud suggest u to make a nice basket of fruits and nuts and u can also give her a baskets of onsies and bibs…

Crib and stroller is nice gift but again I will say u to ask ur sis that wat would she like to have for her baby bocs when u will go to baby store Oh my God there r so many different types of strollers and cribs and evryones choice is different…

u can also do baby registry for her…

We also played that game which funguy told u it was soooo much fun try to have vegetables not fruits bcos fruits r easy to guess and taste good but vegetables…* ven u will c there faces then u will know it* hehe sub keh rahay that bacha bechara kaisay kha laita haaai :cb:

u can have also have nice gifts for the guest whoever will win the game..u can simple find nice candless or decoration pieces for babay shower from dollar store which u can wrap in a nice paper with some chocolates in it…

phewwwwwwwww thuk gai cb..anyway I hope this will help u if u need more help lemme know…take care :hug:

^ wow Papa KM those are fab ideas!!! I like the wishing well idea - cute :)