How important these events are for a girl…i have a friend who is pregnant and she really wants somebody to throw her a baby shower but her inlaws are against these kind of rasmein cuz they think it brings bad luck to the baby and the mother…her own family lives far from her so they cant throw her one…i as a friend cant throw cuz i know how her inlaws feels about baby showers.
So how important is this day for you guys…will you care if nobody throws you a baby shower/gaud barhai…or you think its just waste of money and you wouldn’t care to have one???
I am not a fan of baby showers. I think it is a waste of money and time. This is how I look at it: it's my baby and I am responsible for buying everything for the baby. To me, a baby shower is "come give me gifts", in fact, any kind of "gift collecting" occasion is indirectly begging for presents. Yeah yeah yeah I know there are games and all too, but what's the big deal about the baby shower? And every family is different. Some families throw baby showers while some don't. You can't force your family norms on someone else. Obviously the family will be offended if the girl's friend throws her a shower.
I know which family you are talking about and knowing them, I don't think they will be happy if their DIL's friends throw her a baby shower because the family's reason to not throw a shower is NOT to save money, but rather the reason is that it's not a norm in their family. I don't think it brings bad luck or anything, but if they want to be on the safe side and not make a big deal about it, I see nothing wrong in that.
I think baby shower is a good Rasm .. it akcnolwedges woman's 9 month of labor that she is going through and make her feel special ..
What is wrong with that? Its very islamic in nature cause Prophet says that 'give gifts to each other , that increases love' .. its just another way of following that hadees ..
I think when Femme says its a drama .. she was refering to In laws stopping her from doing baby shower, and the reason they were giving ...
jo hadees apne kaam ki ho woh follow kerlo. yah hai ajj ke musalmanon ka islam [in general].
as for her inlaws stopping her, well she is part of their family and should follow their rasams and traditions. if they don’t have such stupid rasams then she should try not to be stupid and make a hathi out of a chooha jaya issue.
I agree with the gift giving idea and the prayers etc. that take place in the baby shower, but everything else is fazool, in my opinion. Yes they can have a good time, but guess what, their family is not throwing her one, so that should give the hint.
On a side note, they don't live with in-laws but even then, the people who should be throwing her a baby shower don't want to throw one (for whatever reason), why make a big deal out of it. Do your own if it's that necessary. Invite your friends and ask them to cook etc.
More appropriate will be… an excuse to get together and enjoy sometime out of their busy and hectic lives.
Rest, baby shower is not waste of money as you will eventually have to buy all that stuff for the baby anyway.
I guess its not something inherently part of the desi cutlture, hence the lack of enthusiasm from the in laws. Some other ppl who are a little more cautious about the whole "nazar" thing might be repulsed by the idea of a baby shower too... I mean mashAllah se there is a life to come into this world, some in the crowd of party might be jealous, some might be envious, and both are capable of nazarifying the mother or the baby-to-be.
i agree that giving gifts increases love, but MOST ppl would give gifts after the baby is born anyway, if not that, then the baby usually gets money from the parent's family and friends.
the first sentence…where is the acknowledgement for the men who planted the seed? When I read this kind of answer, I think that for women it is a burden to carry the child.
I don’t know how much pain women go through, but are they giving birth to a human being or a donkey?
Ohh, yes, marrad ki acknowledgement uska bachaa hai and orat ki baby shower…wonderful…
More appropriate will be.... an excuse to get together and enjoy sometime out of their busy and hectic lives.
Rest, baby shower is not waste of money as you will eventually have to buy all that stuff for the baby anyway.
bibi, so baby shower is the only get-away they can have ? if thats the case then they'll have to have a baby every year to get away from their so-called busy n hectic lives. i find it amazing the way women can come up with insane reasons to justify insane ideas. how about having a party AFTER the baby is born. that makes more sense.
merd to aween hi hai. sari mojain to aurton ki hoti hain. aur agar kuch keh do to tauba tauba…equality jati hai bhaar mein aur baqi *****-rona shuru ho jata hai.
bibi, so baby shower is the only get-away they can have ? if thats the case then they'll have to have a baby every year to get away from their so-called busy n hectic lives. i find it amazing the way women can come up with insane reasons to justify insane ideas. how about having a party AFTER the baby is born. that makes more sense.
Aray bhai, if you don't like something doesn't mean you can call insane.
If you want a party after the baby is born, have that. But calling something insane just because you don't approve is pure BS.
You guys won’t be making these statements if you had to carry the baby for 9 months. Man only plants the seed and the woman nurtures it..Big difference!
You guys won't be making these statements if you had to carry the baby for 9 months. Man only plants the seed and the woman nurtures it..Big difference!
n thats how the nature works. u have any complaints? write to god almighty and do ur rona-dhona there.
as for women carrying the baby for 9 months. well don't want to go through it then don't have the baby. simple as that. kahani khatam te the end.