Baby feeding and Attitude queries

alhumdullillah my son just crossed the 6 month mark. All is going well regards weaning and all .. but got a few queries:

1 - Still puree’ing fruits and vegies .. give him two meals a day .. but healthcare lady said it should be three .. so need ideas on how to chart is three meals a day. normally breakfast if fruit and cereal. lunch , I dunoo .. Dinner is vegies and rice cereal .. help pls?

2- thinking of starting chicken stock and chicken recipes next month after his 7th month In Shaa Allah .. is that good? do you cook everyday for the baby? or can we freeze the chicken vegie puree , like we freeze the pureed fruits and vegies ?

3- he is an extremely hyper active kid and already is showing signs of a strong personality .. i am finding it hard to handle him at times .. like he wants to be in my lap all the time ! if i lay him down to get him to play with his toys he will wail and squeal .. similarly if he doesnt want to eat anything, he wants to get his way by putting up tantrums ! obviously he is still too young to be desciplined .. but how do i handle his tantrums? how can i train him to play on his own ?

all help appreciated ..

Re: Baby feeding and Attitude queries

When my son was 7 months, I just took chicken or lamb from our everyday Salan, mashed it with veggies ( carrots, potatoes, peas, broccoli, zucchini and sometimes cauliflower) I also puréed some spinach from the spinach Salan. I used to give him yellow daal. I never froze food for him, just gave him table food. He was a fabulous eater back then.

He will throw a little tantrum but then he will be okay. Children around 7 months start having separation anxiety so you just have to assure them you are near them and they are safe. Bring him to the floor, make him sit next to you and play with him, slowly increase the distance b/w you and him.

MashAllah 6 months hogaye… abhi kal ki si baat lgti hy when you were telling that you have almost completed your month 9… mashAllah again :hug:

As for the originial thread… moms would be wise enough to suggest you accordingly.

Best wishes for you and the baby :kiss:

Hey CB plz see my response in CAPS. I don’t know how to bold from this smartie pants device I m using.

I started him on solids at 4 months by 5 1/2 months I was giving him three meals and Mashallah he’s very easy going. I give him fruit and wheat cereal for breakfast, fruit for lunch and veggi for dinner give him milk before every meal and in between..he will have an oz or two in between meals. Also he has bad constipation so I give him organic prune juice mixed with water around 4 oz daily. Mashallah Mashallah he doesn’t give me hard time at all and eats whatever I give him. His ped said to start chicken at 7 months so inshallah I m going t o start that in few weeks. I don’t freeze his food I make it fresh every meal. I don’t mind making some foods in advance and storing for few days but my MIL is totally against it and I respect her wish. Waisay bhi. It doesn’t take that long to make his food just boil / steam and purée it using magic bullet..

excellent stuff Fatso, my son is starting to get constipated as well and I am seriously considering starting prune juice for him .. did Prune juice help you little ones case? I mean i am trying so many things at the moment but nothing seems to be helping him at the moment .. I have tried orange juice, apple juice, saunf pani etc etc ..

^prune juice works like a charm for my baby. he started getting constipated at 9 months. i got this apple + prune juice mix from walmart. it was like 75 cents. he’s been pooping regularly since i started him on it. i just give him 2 tea spoons and it does the trick mashallah.

Yes. I couldn’t find gerber prune juice so I bought organic prune juice and mixed it with water and gave it to him and it worked. If you can find gerber juice you don’t need to mix it with water.
I give him 4 oz thru out the day two oz juice two oz water and he’s regular now..alhamdullah

I also mix prune puree from heinze with the rest of the fresh fruits I make for him…no constipation since then…he only got constipated one day before I started this…ever since he has been pooping like 4 times a day!!! I also started giving the fruits for dinner…

For his lunch I give him red rice, yellow daal, veges : broccoli, carrots, snow peas, celery, and now I started adding a little pc of chicken or dried fish…the veges I don’t boil…just steam them…then make puree out of it all and give it to him…lots of veges help him too poop well too…

No need to stress over making fresh food all the time- my kiddo ate like a champ mA and it helped me immensely to have homemade frozen food stocked up in my freezer. He loved chicken and veggie purees- sometimes I’d add rice to the mix to make it even more filling. The main thing is to keep at it by offering the food every day but don’t let it stress you out. We ALL learn to eat eventually and have preferences so if he’s not feeling it, don’t force him.

as far as the tantrums go- I don’t think they’re tantrums really. I mean he’s only 6 months which is still very young! You are his world and the only person he wants so it may be separation anxiety as others have mentioned. Or he might just want to be held. It’s ok- I know it can be frustrating and even annoying sometimes but try to ease up on yourself and him. Ditch the housework and cuddle with your kiddo instead- these days fly by so fast! Lusi’s given great advice too. And remember- you CANNOT spoil a baby by holding him or loving him! That’s a weird desi mindset.

I don’t get why you guys are feeding your babies prune juice. My doctor said only to feed prune juice if they were severely constipated. If your baby taking his milk and/or eating solids along, there is no need for prune juice.

^ I agree. My son’s ped said the same…prune juice should be given in cases of severe constipation.

My son is constipated that’s why I am giving him prune juice per his pediatrician’s instructions. I believe aaliyahan and tranquil are giving prune juice for same reason I guess you missed the constipation part in the posts :slight_smile:

Did starting solids affect the milk intake of your babies? I mean, my daughter has this routine of 4 oz milk every two hours. I am still not giving her much to eat since she started off with acid reflux and I am always wary of trying new things on her because of her weaker stomach :frowning: I give her cerelac/ rice cereal a day. that is around 3 oz mixed in water. I usually (not regularly) give her half a banana in the noon and teeny weeny of mango and peach in the evening. But she doesnt seem to digest anything well. Would throw up anyway. Sooner or later. Tried boiled potato and carrots on her, same results. I have heard that at this age i.e. 6 months milk is their basic requirement and they get their essential nutrition from their milk. So how much should I give and how many times? I am making sure she is not short on milk. Solids are my secondary preference. Am I missing or lagging on anything?

Giving prune juice regularly is not the solution, find why he is constipated.

I have checked with his pediatrician and other moms around its the best solution. According to his pediatrician if constipation is an issue in family most likely baby will get it too.

I faced the same issue hen my son started solids. at 7 months he must take between 20-24 oz milk and i noticed that his milk intake decreased once we started solids. I make his cereal in breast milk also use breast milk to puree his veggies and give him bottle before every meal a d. In between meals.

QUOTE=mirage;9680529]Did starting solids affect the milk intake of your babies? I mean, my daughter has this routine of 4 oz milk every two hours. I am still not giving her much to eat since she started off with acid reflux and I am always wary of trying new things on her because of her weaker stomach :frowning: I give her cerelac/ rice cereal a day. that is around 3 oz mixed in water. I usually (not regularly) give her half a banana in the noon and teeny weeny of mango and peach in the evening. But she doesnt seem to digest anything well. Would throw up anyway. Sooner or later. Tried boiled potato and carrots on her, same results. I have heard that at this age i.e. 6 months milk is their basic requirement and they get their essential nutrition from their milk. So how much should I give and how many times? I am making sure she is not short on milk. Solids are my secondary preference. Am I missing or lagging on anything?

Sorry to say but if constipation is an issue in the family, then the family seriously needs to re-evaluate their diet/eating habits. Include more fibrous fruits and vegetables, whole grains, oats, brown/wild rice, etc. Reduce processed carbs, rice, potatoes, etc. Prolong constipation is not healthy.

If you are breastfeeding your baby, make sure you take lot of vegetables..carrots, peas, zucchini, spinach, turnips, celery, berries, apple, pear, etc. Drink good amount of water. Reduce banana for baby, feed baby more fibrous vegetables. Try oatmeal for cereal. Also if your baby doesn’t poop everyday, it is okay. As far as his/her poop is not hard like pebbles, you don’t have to worry. I remember my son’s doctor said “if he likes to save his poop for a day then it is okay. :)”

I would suggest you guys to reduce the amount of prune juice and 4oz is just way too much. Your children don’t need to poop 4 times a day.

It’s 4oz (2 oz juice and 2 oz water). And it runs in the family not due to the diet but cuz of the genes. I trust my doctor completely ( he’s our family ped for last 13 years). So I will take his advice over anyone else on random forms. Also, just cuz he’s getting 4 oz of juice doesn’t mean that he’s pooping 4 times a day. You are one of the blessed parent who doesnt have to deal with the issue of constipation. I don’t think its very polite of you to go around telling people to reevaluate their diets and what they should and should not give their babies. You probably didn’t mean it but u posts r not coming across very nice

This is the first time I am hearing constipation runs due to genes. I am making a general comment, it wasn’t really targeted to you. Finally, I thought this thread was about suggestions and that is what I gave. I am sorry if you find it offensive.