Baba Bulleh Shah

Bulla shah asaan marna naahin, mar jaave koi hor.
Sadde val mukhara mor ve pyaareya, sadde val mukhara mor.

"This is the shair on the back cover of a book on this great man. Its meanings revealed to me my true identity which is never going to die.

I am not my body which will lie in the grave( Gor), I am a spirit which lives forever. This is a zarbe kaleem from the great Bulleh shah to wake us up to our true spiritual reality in a world so mesmerised by materialism.

I am a spirit on a journey back to Allah where I came from.

This truth was the source of his Masti and he celebrated it with great passion with his magical poetry". (Zafar Khan)

This zafar guy used to post translation and explaination of Bulleh Shah poetry on a bulleh shah forum, I started reading bulleh shah through his posts...

Anytime Spock!.............even though Saraiki is not my Mother tongue...........it is because of Bulla Shah's kalam got me interested..........plus some words are common with our Potohar region's Hindko!

Re: Baba Bulleh Shah

Bulleh Shah's poetry is much less Seraiki than other Sufi poet, rather he is classified as traditional Punajbi poet, remember he was from Kusoor, on the other hand Baba Farid poetry is real seraiki

Jey Rab milda nateyan toteyaan
tey rab milda dadwaaN machHiyaan nooN

Jey Rab milda jungle phiryaaN
tey rab milda gawaaN wachHiyaan nooN

Jey rab milda mander maseeti
tey rab milda cham chadikiyyan nooN

Bulleh Shah rab unhooN milda
ate dildiyaan sachiyaaN achHiyaaN nooN

thanks so much for translation, ..

Hi,
below are few kalams by baba bulhey shah.

this one is from sain zahoor one of my favourite, not sure but most probably is of Baba Bulhey shahs kalam.

sung by abida perveen

i wish i could have understood punjabi more..

Very nice rendition Iconoclast, but I am a bit confused about this last verse. Isn't he talking about rakht(as in رخت=سامان?Unless I am much mistaken. As I understand it, he is telling us to collect some 'baggage' (yaani, do some good deeds to take with us in the hereafter, otherwise the dogs are better than us).

Kindly help me out a bit on this one. Also what is weyhaaj? The hindi term biyaaj(interest)?Or some for of the Punjabi term daaj(jaheiz or trousseu)?

^well i don't think rakht here is the persian word Rakht used in urdu and frankly i am ot aware what does wehaaj means, its just my guess. Wil try to fidn out.

which forum is that

It was a bulleh Shah forum on orkut but this guy has a blog too...

its really hard for me to understand the poetry…but SindSagar…honestly the way you have explained so far, its marvelous. :k:

good one

Is this poetry by Baba Bulleh Shah and please could someone provide the full verse and translation...please???

Ilm o baas kare o yaar Ik alaf tare darkar

(Or something like that?)

Ilmon bass karin ohh yaar
Ikko “ALF tere darkaar
Ilm na aavay vich shmaar
Chaandi umr naieen aitbaar
Ilmon bass karin oh yaar

Parh parh likh likh laaviin dhaer
Dhaer kitabaan chaar chophair
Kar de chaanan vich anhaer
Pichho rah? Tey khabar na saar ilmon ilmon bass karin ohh yaar

Parh parh shaikh mshaaikh kahaavin
Ultey maslay gharon bataavin
Be ilmaan nu lut lut khaavin
Jhuthe sache karin iqraar
Ilmon bas karin ohh yaar

Parh parh nafl namazaan guzaarin
Uuschiyaan bangaan chhangaan maarin
Minbar te chard wa’az pukaarin
Keeta tainun ilm khwaar
Ilmon bas karin ohh yaar

Jad main sabq ishq da parhiya
Dariya daikh wahdat da vardiya
Ghuman ghairdhan de vich ardhiya
Shah Anayat layaa paar
Ilmon bas karin ohh yaar

Translation by Batoul Ali

Enough of learning my friend!
To it there is never an end
An alphabet shoul do for youit’s enough to help you frnd..

You’ve amassed much learning around
The Quran and it’s commentaries profound
Without the guide you remain unsound

Learning makes you a Shaikh or his minion
And thus you create problem trillion
You exploit others who know not what
Misleading them with wild opinion

You meditate and say your prayers
You go and shout at the top of the stairs
Your cry reaching the high skies
It’s your avarice which ever belies

The day I learned love’s lesson
I plunged in to the river of divine passion
An overwhelming gale, I was confounded and lost
When Shah Inayat cruised me across

Like You Zobi Ji quoted in another thread:

*"ALLAH (SWT) says
*"Aye Ibn-Adam,
ik meri chahat hai,
ik teri chatat hai,
hoga wohi
go meri chahat hai.

Pus(bus) ager superd ker diya tonay apnay app ko us kay jo meri chahat hai,
to bakash doon ga tugh ko wo bhi jo teri chahat hai."
tu es mein kia shaq hai!
:alhamd:

Bulleh Shah rab unhooN milda
ate dildiyaan sachiyaaN achHiyaaN nooN

We can all hope for that!

Silver Falcon of Kashmir: From one of my Farsi friends who noted that Rakht also means clothing........weyhaaj is travel.

so it can mean pack your bags like you stated above for "The Last Trip"

Iconoclast Ji..........good one..........thanks for posting!

^ Thanks a lot for the clarification Sindsagar..

I had been wondering about that for a while, and was of the opinion that it could very well be the samaan wala rakht. Especially, when I have seen this metaphor in some of the other Punjabi poets too. Where ordinary everyday acts are a metaphor of preparing for the hereafter.

Thank you again.