Baahir ki larkiyan

Re: Baahir ki larkiyan

I did a double take when I finished reading exactly 90% of the last sentence.

This is a very odd statement. Why shouldn't it worry a woman? Can't a man get STD's? Get someone pregnant? Its more worrisome for the women because they can't tell where men have been.

Anyway,

Everyone I see that comes from Pakistan these days seems to be coming from a more Westernized society than even the West itself. And apparently, its something to be proud of.

There is pretty much nothing different when it comes to what desi girls and guys do here in America to what they do in Pakistan . Dating ... Yes ... Drinking ... Yes ... Smoking ... Yes ...

So bottom line is that if you are kinda person who likes to drink then you would do it even if you are sitting in a mosque .

Southieeeeeeeee!
I didn't think of it, until you pointed it out :D

Word. Ain’t got no time for baby mama drama :bummer:

[quote="“NaMaan, post:21, topic:271954"”]

There is pretty much nothing different when it comes to what desi girls and guys do here in America to what they do in Pakistan . Dating … Yes … Drinking … Yes … Smoking … Yes …

So bottom line is that if you are kinda person who likes to drink then you would do it even if you are sitting in a mosque .

I don’t know how desi’s live out there in the West. But I’m pretty sure the kind of freedom you can have as an adult living on his own in the West, can’t be had over here in Pakistan. You know what kind of freedom I’m talking about.

I have never heard of live in boyfriends or girlfriends here in Karachi, so I’m pretty sure it isn’t more “modernized” than the West.

I think upbringing pe bohut depend karta hai how you turn out as an adult. Most of us living in the West belong to middle or upper-middle class families in Pakistan, who faced many challenges after coming here. And growing up (as kids or teens) we have seen our parents struggle so much, so we have a deep appreciation of the finer things in life and we respect our freedom and boundaries very well. Compared to this, those of us who belong to upper class in Pakistan and always had things handed to us on a silver platter, when these kind come to the West they are very spoiled and used to getting their way.
So yeah, west main bhi there is a good mix of good and bad. Just like there is in Pakistan.
You can't say that just because someone lives in the West, they are more "modernized", or just because someone lives in Pakistan they are very pious and naik shareef.

In my social circle, I see all kinds of families...and this is coming from 12+ years of living in Toronto. No one I know had a live in boyfriend or girlfriend, no matter how westernized they are. That is not to say that it doesn't happen. I have seen a few single guys who come here as international students and live in a luxury apartment downtown / drive a BMW or Benz from day one / and date anyone and everyone from all skin colors. So, at times, I have also wondered if certain people in Pakistan are more westernized than majority of Pakistanis living in the west.

As an example, this summer I went to a wedding of a family friend's daughter, who grew up in Canada and sponsored her husband from Pakistan. The guy's parents and sister also attended the wedding here in Toronto. Out of the 15 or so girl friends of the bride, the nand (dulha's sis) was the most prominent, mainly because of her bold dresses, the way she was taking pics with dulhan's brothers and their guy friends (practically hugging them), and her dancing (munni badnam, sheila ki jawani and what not) that went late into the night. She was quite the talk of the town.
Mazay ki baat yeh ke she wants to stay in Canada so she enrolled in a college here (she has done masters from back home). Meanwhile, dulhan's ammi is actively trying to find her a Canadian desi boy. But after seeing her at the wedding events, no one in our circle thinks she is a good fit for families like us, so they are not having much luck.

The keyword is certain types.
And some people do lose it when they see all this freedom. They just go nuts. They let lose whatever was being repressed back home.

Its important to make a distinction b/w Casual sex/affairs/flings/hooking up etc on one hand and dating (bf-gf) committed relationships on the other. While the latter is quite common and the average Pakistani guy can be expected to have had 1 or 2 gf’s before he gets married, the former are not.

When people say something along the lines of “Pakistan youth bhi bohat agay nikal gayi hai” they usually refer to the prevalence of committed gf/bf relationships.

Regardless of social status, the opportunity to have casual sex, flings, affairs etc is only available to really good looking, attractive guys. Some rich guys might be able to leverage their lifestyle and attract women drawn to the same, for this purpose. Besides this the prevalence of such promiscuity is mostly blown out of proportions, and what we hear are the same urban legends of a handful

There are other worries for men, besides the STD concern, regarding women with a (rather promiscuous) sexual past.